Most reference books dealing with sociology are found in the book stacks
in the HM call number range on the first floor.
Reference Guides
Finding the Source in Sociology and Anthropology. 1987. (Ref. HM 51 B84)
Handbook of Research Methods: A Guide for Practitioners and Students in the Social Sciences. 2nd edition. 2002. (Ref. Q 180 .55 M4 S67 2002)
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. 2004. 3 volumes.
(Ref. H 62 S34 2004)
Social Research Methods http://www.socialresearchmethods.net/
Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. 1997. (Ref. HM 51 A2)
Bibliographies
Annual Review of Sociology. 1975- (Book Stacks HM 1 A763)
Current Sociology. 1952- (Book Stacks Z 7161 C8)
International Bibliography of Sociology. 1951- (Ref. Z 7161 I 594)
MOST Clearinghouse http://www.unesco.org/most/welcome.htm
Sociology, Anthropology, and Development. 1994. (Ref. HM 41 .C45)
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology. 2000. (Ref. HM 425 J64 2000)
Dictionary of Demography. 1985. (Ref. HB 847 .2 P7413)
Encyclopedia of American Social History. 4 volumes. 1993. (Ref. HN 57 E58)
Encyclopedia of Marriage, Divorce, and the Family. 1989. (Ref. HQ 9 D38)
Encyclopedia of Modern American Extremists and Extremist Groups. 2002. (Ref. HN 90 .R3 A75)
Encyclopedia of Modern American Social Issues. 1997. (Ref. HN 57 .K73)
Encyclopedia of Social Issues. 4 volumes. 1997. (Ref. HN 57 .E59)
Encyclopedia of Sociology. 4 volumes. 1991. (Ref. HM 17 E5)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Sociology. 1991. (Ref HM 17 E529)
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS). 2001. (Ref. H 41 I58 2001 & available online)
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. 18 volumes. 1968. (Ref H 40 A2 I5)
Handbooks
Gallup Poll: Public Opinion. 1972- (Ref. HN 90 PB G3). and http://www.gallup.com See also http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu/ and An American Profile: Opinions and Behavior, 1972-1989 (Ref. HM 261 A75).
Handbook of Clinical Sociology. 1991. (Ref. HM 73 H3515)
Handbook of American Popular Culture. 1978- (Ref. E 169 .1 H2643)
Police Misconduct in America: A Reference Handbook. 2001. (Ref. HV 8141 C44)
Survey of Social Science: Sociology Series. 5 volumes. 1994. (Ref. HM 17 .S86)
Biographies & Directories
American Social Leaders. 1993. (Ref. HN 65 M38)
American Sociological Association: Directory of Members. 2001/2002 Biographical Edition. (Ref. HM 9 A725)
Black Americans Information Directory. 1990-91. (Ref. E 185 .5 B557)
Guide to Graduate Departments of Sociology. 2002. (Ref. HM 47 U6 G84)
Sociologists http://www.pscw.uva.nl/sociosite/TOPICS/Sociologists.html
Statistic
Bureau of the Census Catalog. 1946- (U.S. Doc. C3.163/3:)and online at http://www.census.gov/
County and City Data Book. 1949- (U.S. Doc. & Ref Desk. C3.134/2:C83/2/ and http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html)
Current Population Reports. 1985- (U.S. Doc. C3.186:)
See also the Population Studies Center site at http://www.census.gov/main/www/cprs.html.
Demographic Yearbook. Annual. (Ref. JX 1977 A2 St Stoa)
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research
Statistical Abstract of the United States. 1878- (Ref. & Ref. Desk HA 202 U58)
See also Fedstats, available online at http://www.fedstats.gov/.
Statistical Abstract of the World. 1997. (Ref. Desk HA 154 .S68)
Statistical Sources on the Web
Vital Statistics of the United States. 1937- (U.S. DOC. HE 20.6210:year/vols.)
Vital statistics and other public health-related statistics may also be found at the National Center
for Health Statistics website at http://www.cdc.gov/nchswww/default.htm
World-System Archives http://wsarch.ucr.edu/
See also the ISSP (International Social Science Programme) data and archives at http://www.issp.org/data.htm.
Yale Social Science Data Archive
See also Social Sciences Data Collection maintained by the University of California at San Diego, available online at http://ssdc.ucsd.edu/.
|