|
Databases index journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials. Databases may be searched
individually or in
categorized groups via
Metalib. If you are searching for a journal title, look it up in the
Online Catalog or the CitationLinker,
SFX. If we do not own, or have access to, a journal you need, you may request it from
Interlibrary Loan.
The most frequently used indexes and databases for Anthropology are:
Abstracts in Anthropology. 1970- (Ref. GN 1 A15)
This source includes abstracts to the literature in all areas of anthropology, including archaeology, ethnology, and linguistics.
Anthropological Index Online. 1970-
This online index of journals in the Museum of Mankind Library, incorporating the holdings of the former Royal Anthropological Institute,
provides subject and keyword searching capabilities. In addition, subjects and locations may be browsed.
Anthropology Plus. 19th Century-
This database contains abstracts on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious
studies. International coverage from the 19th century to the present is provided.
Humanities Full Text. 1984-
Long regarded as the ideal single reference for periodical information in the diverse subject area of the humanities. For earlier
coverage, see the print Humanities Index (Ref. AI 3 H85).
JSTOR
This full text database offers archival holdings of scholarly journals in many disciplines, including History, Anthropology, Multicultural
and Gender Studies, and Political Science.
Index to Bulletins 1-100 of the Bureau of American Ethnology: With Indexes to Contributions to North American Ethnology, Introductions, and Miscellaneous Publications.
1972-1993. (Ref. E51 U6 no. 178)
This index volume for Bulletins 1-100 is divided into five parts, the first of which contains a subject index. Part 2 includes an author/title
index, while Part 3 consists of an index to illustrations. Parts 4 & 5 serve as indexes to miscellaneous publications.
Project MUSE
Over 300 full text scholarly journals in the humanitites, arts, and social sciences are available in this database.
Social Sciences Full Text. 1983-
This multidisciplinary database provides access to journal articles in anthropology and the other social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts. 1963-
This database provides abstracts of articles from over 1,000 international sociology and social science journals, with a cumulative index
appearing annually. To most effectively use the index, consult the Thesaurus of Sociological Index Terms (Ref. HM 1 S672) to determine
the appropriate terminology. The printed version of this source, Sociological Abstracts (Ref. HM 1 S67), is available from 1953-1962.
Wiley Interscience. 1996-
This database contains full text coverage of 1,000 journals, major reference works, and online books. A selection of anthropology and archaeology journals
are represented.
|