|
Databases index journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials. Databases may be searched
individually or in
categorized groups via
Metalib. If you are searching for a journal title, look it up in the
Online Catalog or the CitationLinker,
SFX. If we do not own, or have access to, a journal you need, you may request it from
Interlibrary Loan.
The most frequently used databases for Public History are:
America: History and Life. 1964-
Bibliographic database covering the scholarly historical literature in the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Articles are abstracted from more than 2,100 journals, including journals of state and local historical societies, the social sciences, and
humanities, and leading journals in related fields of knowledge. The companion database for world history is Historical Abstracts.
ComAbstracts
This database indexes over 42 primary professional journals in the fields of communication and the media. Provides good coverage of media
influence/impact. See also the print Communication Abstracts [Ref. P87 .C6].
Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1830-1974.
[Ref. D 1 C73] Selective indexing of about 1,000 journals in history, political science, and sociology under keyword or subject categories. See also
Recently Published Articles, 1976-1990 [Ref. D 1 R4].
Historical Abstracts. 1954-
Premiere source for scholarly articles, books, and many dissertations on all aspects of world history except the U.S. and Canada.
Humanities Full Text. 1984-
Long regarded as the ideal single reference for periodical information in the diverse subject area of the humanities. For earlier
coverage, see the print Humanities Index [Ref. AI 3 H85].
JSTOR
This full text database offers archival holdings of scholarly journals in many disciplines, including History, Anthropology, Multicultural
and Gender Studies, and Political Science.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
This comprehensive database offers users full text access to information in the fields of law, business, medicine, general news and reference.
Indexes trade journals and periodicals from around the world, as well as transcripts, newswires and company profiles and financial data.
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text. 1980-
International coverage of library and information science journals and books.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
Access to over 500,000 records via the Research Libraries Information Network bibliographic database, for archival and manuscript collections
in research libraries, museums, state archives and historical societies located throughout North America. Use the NUCMC Z39.50 Gateway to the
RLIN AMC option. See also the print National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (Ref.Z6620 .U5 N3).
PAIS International. 1972-
This database covers the public and social policy literature of business, law, international relations, public administration, government, and
political science. Emphasis is placed on issues that may become legislation. Indexes over 2100 journals as well as books, conference proceedings,
government documents and statistical directories.
Project MUSE
Over 300 full text scholarly journals in the humanitites, arts, and social sciences are available in this database.
State Library of Florida and State Archives - Catalog
Partial holdings of the Florida State Archives can be searched via the Web.
|