Caroline Thompson
Science Reference Librarian
John C. Pace Library
University of West Florida
(850) 474-2412
cthompson@uwf.edu
Updated 11/09
| Identifying Articles |
|
Databases index journal articles, books, conference proceedings,
reports, and other materials. These databases may be searched individually: Searching for Articles Across Databases may be accomplished by using categorized groups in Metalib: |
| Locating Articles |
|
Print and online journal titles are listed in the library catalog and in the SFX Citation Linker. Print journals are located on the second floor of the library and are shelved by call number. Use Interlibrary Loan Services to order articles that UWF does not own. |
| Circulating Books |
|
Most books on Microbiology are found in the book stacks under QR (microbiology) on the third floor. Electronic books are included in the library catalog or may be searched within the Netlibrary or Ebrary collections. Specific titles may be located using Instant Search in the library catalog: |
| Reference Books |
| Reference Guides Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide. (Ref. QH 303.6 D39 2002) This comprehensive annotated guide to the biological literature is arranged by broad subject chapters and includes historical sources as well as textbooks. Style Manuals Author's Handbook of Styles for Life Science Journals. (Ref. R 119 A85 1996) Presents the style requirements for 440 English-language life science journals Scientific Style and Format. (Ref. T 11 S386 1994) This guide to publishing style by the Council of Biology Editors is designed for application in all scientific disciplines.Additional information on CBE documentation may be found at http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocCBE.html. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Life Science Dictionary Encyclopedia of Microbiology.4 vols. 2000. (Ref. QR 9 E53 2000) Surveys the entire of field of microbiology with articles that include key references to the literature and black and white illustrations Handbooks Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. 2nd ed. 2001. (Ref. QR 81 B46 2001) This handbook contains peer-reviewed chapters designed to assist in the identification of bacteria and for determining the relationships between various kinds of bacteria. Includes bibliographical references. See also the earlier 4 vol. edition with similar title (Ref. QR 81 B46 1984). Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology. 1994. (Ref. QR 81 A5 1994) & FWB A guide to aid in the identification of unknown bacteria based on phenotypic information contained in Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology (Ref. QR 81 B46) The Handbook of Trace Elements. 1997. (Ref. S 587.5 T7 P34425 1997) Summarizes the 41 elements that are found in the environment in relatively low concentrations. Includes tables, graphs, references and a bibliography on the various trace elements World of Microbiology and Immunology. 2 vols. 2003. (Ref. QR 9 W675 2003) A collection of over 600 entries on the fundamental scientific concepts of microbiology and immunology. Includes biographical entries on the important pioneers in these fields of study. |
|
Biology Online http://www.biology-online.org |