|
Databases index journal articles, books, conference proceedings,
reports, and other materials. These databases may be searched individually:
America History and Life. 1964+ (ABC-CLIO)
An online index to over 2,000 journals published worldwide that deal with the
history of the United States and Canada. Entries include extensive abstracts.
Book and media reviews from over one hundred journals are included.
Anthropology Plus. 1900+ (Eureka)
This database is a combination of Anthropological Literature from
Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological
Institute. It provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries,
edited works, and obituaries in the fields of anthropology and archaeology.
Biological Abstracts . 1969- (Ebsco)
Biological Abstracts is produced by BIOSIS, and is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database provides users with access to the latest information in virtually every life science discipline. Biological Abstracts contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
BioOne.
A database of 155 bioscience research journals. Some full text articles are available.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management. 1967+
(Cambridge)
This database provides indexing to the principle multidisciplinary journals
from the environmental sciences. An excellent source for references to the
underwater environment, shipwrecks, and govenment policy.
Expanded Academic Index. 1980+ (Gale)
A general interest index to nearly 1,000 multi-disciplinary journals. A
surprisingly good source for recent articles on topics related to maritime studies.
Some full-text articles are available through this database.
Historical Abstracts. 1450+ (ABC-CLIO)
An online index to scholarly journals, books, and dissertations on world
history (excluding the U.S. and Canada). The U.S. and Canada are covered in the
America History and Life database.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (Lexis-Nexis)
A comprehensive database that contains full-text coverage of Federal and state
laws, cases, and regulations. It also provides access to full-text legal periodicals
and newspapers.
Oceanic Abstracts. 1981+ (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
This database provides access to the worldwide technical literature on the
marine and brackish-water environment. Coverage of living and non-living resources,
including shipwrecks, is comprehensive.
OmniFile Full Text Mega. 1994+ (Wilson)
A multidisciplinary database consisting of full-text articles from over
1,600 popular and scholarly journals. An excellent source for initiating a search
on contemporary as well as historical topics.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
1975+ (Cambridge)
This valuable database provides citations, abstracts, and selected
full-text articles of the international periodical literature in political
science and related fields, including international relations, law, public
administration, and public policy.
Searching for Articles Across Databases may be accomplished by using categorized groups in Metalib:
|