|
Equal Access to Software and Information
http://people.rit.edu/easi/
EASI serves as a resource to the education community by providing information and guidance for the integration of technology into the special education classroom. This Web site provides a consulting service and an adaptive technology online training that includes a registration fee. EASI also has captioning and transcription services, Webcast interviews, and links to libraries, distance learning, disability legislation, EASI publications, and Internet networking.
Family Village
http://www.familyvillage.wisc.edu/index.htmlx
A global community, maintained by the Waisman center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, that integrates information, resources, and communication opportunities on the Internet for persons with mental retardation and other disabilities. This easy-to-navigate site features informational resources that are grouped by topics such as specific diagnoses, communication connections, adaptive products and technology, adaptive recreational activities, education, worship, health issues, and disability-related media and literature.
Internet Special Education Resources
http://www.iser.com/
ISER is a nationwide directory of professionals who serve the learning disabilities and special education communities. This list is directed toward parents of special education students and offers help with learning disabilities, attention deficit disorder assessment, therapy, advocacy, and other special needs. There are also reputable resource links available for professionals in these areas, as well as products available to enhance teaching methods.
National Center to Improve Practice in Special Education Through Technology, Media and Matierals (NCIP)
http://www2.edc.org/NCIP/
NCIP promotes the effective use of technology to enhance educational outcomes for students with sensory, cognitive, physical and social/emotional disabilities. Resources available at this site include many WWW sites that provide information, resources, and links relating to technology and special education, as well as sites relating to general disabilities, specific impairments and/or disabilities, special education, educational technology, parent and family support, literacy, and accessibility.
National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities (NICHCY)
http://www.nichcy.org/
The National Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities provides information on disabilities and focuses on children and youth (birth to age 22) for families, educators, and other professionals. Also available in Spanish, this award-winning site offers information and links to areas related to specific disabilities, early intervention, special education and related services, individualized education programs, family issues, disability organizations, professional associations, education rights, and transition to adult life. A special feature of this site is its State Resource Sheet, which assists in locating organizations and agencies within each state that address disability-related issues.
Schwab Foundation for Learning
http://www.schwablearning.org
This Web site presents links to five online publications on disabilities in education, an information desk feature providing answers to questions regarding learning disabilities, bulletin boards for parents and educators, and various other resources for both parents and educators.
Wrightslaw Special Ed Advocate
http://www.wrightslaw.com/index.htm
This Web site is an essential reference base for parents, advocates, educators, and attorneys, which may be used for accurate, up-to-date information about effective advocacy for children with disabilities. You will find hundreds of useful articles, cases, newsletters, and other information about special education law and advocacy.
Awesome Library K-12 Special
http://www.awesomelibrary.org/Library/Special_Education/Special_Education.html
he Awesome Library organizes over 18,000 carefully reviewed resources, including the top 5 percent in education, and categorizes by specific disabilities. Resources available through this site include listservs, discussion groups, periodicals, published papers, multimedia materials, and lesson plan links.
Marc Sheehan's Special Education Page
http://www.halcyon.com/marcs/sped.html
This extensive list of special education related links contains many national and international sites as well as many educational institution sites. Mr. Sheehan has researched well and put together a superior compilation of resources.
Special Education Exchange
http://www.spedex.com/
This site, which is updated weekly, provides resources, such as reliable links to every aspect of special education, online documents, listings of professionals, job vacancy listings, school and university listings, conference announcements, a discussion area, and poster sessions in easy-to-use formats.
Special Educator's Web Page by Kay Davis, Ed.D.
http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Styx/7315/
Teachers can find lesson plans and information on every aspect of special education including laws, IEPs, Behavior Management resources, Inclusion, and research. Resources on this site would benefit anyone involved in the field of special education.
Emotional Handicaps
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
http://www.aacap.org/<
The AACAP is a professional medical organization comprised of child and adolescent psychiatrists trained to promote healthy development and to evaluate, diagnose, and treat children and adolescents who are affected by disorders of feeling, thinking and behavior. This searchable Web site provides information for understanding these disorders. Included are links to research and journals, training, information on child and adolescent psychiatry, fact sheets for parents and caregivers, and current research.
Autism Resources
http://stevecory.net/autism-info/autism-info.html
This site contains links to organizations and services located nationally and internationally for persons having autism. Locate articles, books and biographies, special education links, behavior modification information, and medical research links.
Behavior Home Page
http://www.state.ky.us/agencies/behave/homepage.html
Maintained by the Kentucky Department of Education and the Department of Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling at UK, this page is offered to school personnel, parents, and other professionals to gain access to information, to share effective practices, and to receive ongoing consultation and technical assistance concerning the full range of behavior problems and challenges.
Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP)
http://cecp.air.org/
The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice's mission is to support and to promote a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development, achievement, and adjustment of children with, or at risk of developing, a serious emotional disturbance. CECP's site offers an extensive collection of links related to emotional and behavioral problems in such areas as education, families, mental health, juvenile justice, child welfare, early intervention, school safety, and legislation. Also available at this site are on-line discussions, listservs, and full-text articles.
Learning Disabilities
Children and Adults with Attention Deficit Disorder (CH.A.D.D.)
http://www.chadd.org/
This national, non-profit organization representing children and adults with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) works to improve lives through education, advocacy, and support. CHADD's award-winning site offers resources such as research studies, legislative action, school discipline, ethical principals, ADHD information, CHADD's ADHD magazine Attention!, and informative links in the areas of ADHD research, diagnosis, and treatment.
LD Online
http://www.ldonline.org/
This interactive guide to learning disabilities is useful for parents, teachers, and children. Resources include new information in the field of learning disabilities, as well as a comprehensive listing of national and state organizations and professionals. Special Education teachers can find information on teaching strategies for a variety of subject areas, learn about assessment issues, inclusion, ADHD, technology, and interacting with parents. Teachers may also locate LD books and resources, print out games and activities, read articles, get math help for a student, do research, find answers in the abc's of LD, and learn more about specific problems. The KidZone link offers special help just for the LD student.
National Center for Learning Disabilities, Inc.
http://ncld.org/
The National Center for Learning Disabilities, Inc.'s Web site offers links to professional organizations, information guides on specific disabilities, and resources relating to assessment, testing issues, and placement of students with learning disabilities. Learn about LD, study research and find helpful resources regarding policy, legislation, and advocacy.
Mental Handicaps
American Association on Mental Retardation (AAMR)
http://www.aamr.org/
The American Association on Mental Retardation's Web site offers information on legislation, policies, upcoming events, and advocacy for individuals with mental retardation. Also locate media coverage of disability issues and full-text journal articles from their three publications.
J. P. Das Developmental Disabilities Centre
http://www.ualberta.ca/~jpdasddc/INDEX.html
This page is part of the Web site that is published by the University of Alberta in Canada. Access links to the Developmental Disabilities Bulletin, information from the International coalition on Abuse and Disability, information on inclusion, human ethics, and other Web sites related to developmental disabilities.
Inclusion / Lesson Plans / Classroom Management
Inclusive Education Web Site
http://www.uni.edu/coe/inclusion/
Produced by the Renaissance Group, which is working to reform teacher education, this site offers a how to of inclusive education. Topics discussed at this site cover many FAQs regarding inclusion, as well as teaching strategies, financial considerations, and legal requirements. This site also provides links to other resources, both in print and on the Internet.
Kodak Special Education Lesson Plans
http://www.kodak.com/global/en/consumer/education/lessonPlans/
indices/specialEducation.shtml
This site includes special education lesson plans that use photography as a learning resource and enhancer. There are also links to a Digital Learning Center that serves as a handbook for technology use in the classroom. The handbook is full of fun and useful ideas that would enhance any special education classroom.
Teachers Helping Teachers
http://www.pacificnet.net/~mandel/SpecialEducation.html
This is a free, non-profit service. It costs nothing to access the information and no money is made from teachers who contribute. Materials are updated weekly during the school year. Information includes carefully selected educational links and teacher contributed lesson plans in all major subject areas.
Tests & Testing
TestLink
http://www.ets.org/portal/site/ets/menuitem.1488512ecfd5b8849a77b13bc3921509/
?vgnextoid=ed462d3631df4010VgnVCM10000022f95190RCRD&vgnextchannel=
85af197a484f4010VgnVCM10000022f95190RCRD
The Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection database contains descriptions of over 10,000 tests and research instruments. The Test Collection encompasses virtually all fields of vocational interest inventories for adults to instruments that measure shyness or predict recidivism in released criminal offenders, to assessment of managerial style, as well as education-related achievement and aptitude tests.
|