Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Business Cycles and Depressions. 1997. (Ref. HB 3711 B936)
Alphabetically arranged essays provide in-depth discussions of economists,
terms, processes, etc. in the fields relating to business cycle theories
Dictionary of Economics. 1997. (Ref. HB 61 B554)
Written by John Black, this dictionary defines terms in the broad areas
of economics. See also Dictionary of Economics (Ref. HB 61 R92 1992) and Economic Glossary http://www.amosweb.com/gls.
Encyclopedia of American Economic History. 1980.
(Ref. HC 103 E52)
Subtitled "studies of the principal movements and ideas," this three volume set
presents essays on a number of aspects of the American economic experience.
Encyclopedia of Political Economy. 1999.
(Ref. HB 61 E554) & Emerald Coast Library
A two volume set that tries to bridge differences within the discipline
of economics by covering many areas of economics using clear understandable entries.
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History. 1999.
(Ref. HC 102 G35)
Two volumes of alphabetically arranged articles offer definitions,
biographies, economic terms, economic historical events, and company and industry histories.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law. 2008.
(Ref. HB 61 .N49)
This multi volume set dealing with theoretical and applied aspects of
economics includes biographical information on more than 700 economists. There are
multiple entries, under similar titles to insure a variety of views.
Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy. Vol. 1, A-F.
2001. (netLibrary)
Handbooks
American Forecaster Almanac. 1997. (Ref. E 838 A 52)
Discusses in non-technical language the predicted trends in consumer buying.
See also Statistical Forecasts of the United States (Ref. HC 106.8 S7357 1993) & Emerald Coast Library, U.S. Market Trends and Forecasts (Ref. Desk HF 5415.1 U7 2001), and U.S. Market Forecasts (Ref. HB 3730 U6 1997) & Emerald Coast Library.
Economist Desk Companion. 1998. (Ref. HF 5712 E27)
Subtitled: "How to Measure, Convert, Calculate and Define Everything"
Economic Indicators Handbook. 2002. (Ref. HC 101 E385)
& Emerald Coast Library
Provides historical charts on major economic indicators and cycles in the
United States. Some data are presented at the MSA level.
Handbook of Key Economic Indicators. 1998. (Ref. HC 103 R64) & Emerald Coast Library
An in-depth explanation of measures of economic activity such as gross national
product, balance of payments, and inflation. See also Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators (Ref. HC 106.8 O47 2000) & Emerald Coast Library and Economic Indicators Handbook (Ref. HC 101 E385 2000) & Emerald Coast Library.
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators.
2000. (Ref. HC 106.8 O47) & Emerald Coast Library
Describes the derivation, use, and publication data about economic
indicators such as Dow Jones average, etc. Appendix describes "Unofficial"
indicators such as the Hemline Index and Super Bowl Index.
Irwin Guide to Using the Wall Street Journal. 2000. (HB 3743 L44 2000)
An overview of the economy, historical and current, which describes business,
investment and economic concepts and terms and shows how to relate them to current
information and news.
Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States
1860-1999. 1999. (Ref. HB 235 U6 V35) & Emerald Coast Library
Presents the history of incomes and prices in five year segments of time.
World Index of Economic Forecasts. 1995. (Ref. HB 3730 W66) & Emerald Coast Library. Identifies various forecasting agencies in each country and describes the types of
forecasting done by each.
Biographical Sources
Biography Resource Center
Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale
Group sources with full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Includes entries from the Complete Marquis
Who's Who(R).
Who's Who in Economics, 1700-1986. (Ref. HB 76 W47)
This work provides biographical information on over 1,000 living and deceased
economists and a list of each economist's publications.
|