United Daughters
of the Confederacy, Pensacola, Florida
Records, 1898- , including minutes, correspondence,
publications, yearbooks, as well as publications of the national UDC
organization and the Florida Division of UDC.
2,640 items (4.73
c.f.).
Accession M1984-08.
United Daughters
of 1812, National Society
Records, 1968-1972, of
the Three Notch chapter of Pensacola, Florida, including yearbooks of Florida
and national divisions, newsletters, and genea-logical notes. Includes transcripts from family Bibles
collected in the West Florida region for the Avery, Billingsley, Buckles, Caldwell,
Campbell, Capron, Cranston, Crutchfield, Darby, Fisher, Mallory, Oerting,
Parramore, Rice, Runyan, Sharp, Sneed, Speed, Stanford, and Watford families.
27 items (.23
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Shannon Hobgood,
1972.
Accession M1972-11.
U. S. Adjutant
General
General James
Wilkinson's order book: December 31, 1796 - March 8, 1808. General Wilkinson
commanded American forces which moved into the Southeastern United States and
into New Orleans after the Louisiana Purchase of 1803. Of importance are his ongoing communications
with Spanish West Florida and Spanish authorities over American intentions and
incursions of United States citizens into the Spanish territory.
Microfilm, 3
reels. Part of Record Group 94,
National Archives.
Microfilm No. 118.
U. S. Adjutant
General
Selected portions of
Record Group 94 consisting of materials documenting desertions in the
Mexican-American War, especially of John Riley or John O'Reilly, an
Irish-Catholic leader of the San Patricio Battalion, a Mexican Army unit of
deserters from the American forces.
Includes general correspondence, 1890-1917, an 1847 report of hanging of
deserters, general orders issued in 1847 by the American Army in Mexico, and
other papers of the Army of Occupation, Mexico, 1846-1848.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Originals in the National
Archives, Washington.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 84.
U. S. Bureau of
Indian Affairs
Census of Creek
Indians taken by Benjamin S. Parsons and Thomas J. Abbott, 1832. When the Creek Indians ceded all land east
of the Mississippi to the United States on March 24, 1832, heads of households
were entitled to tracts of land. This
census, arranged by town, gives names of chiefs, heads of families and number
of males, females, and slaves. Most all
are Creek Indian names; very few English surnames.
Microfilm, 1
reel. National Archives Microfilm
Publications T275,
Microfilm No. 727.
U. S. Bureau of
Indian Affairs
Documents relating to
the negotiation of ratified treaties with various tribes of Indians, 1806-1869;
includes ratified Indian treaties, 1801-1869,
and unratified treaties, 1821-1869.
See especially treaties with the Creek
Indians and Seminole tribes of West Florida, just prior to the Creek
Wars in 1814 and in 1841.
Microfilm, 10
reels. National Archives.
Microfilm No. 269.
U. S. Bureau of
Indian Affairs
Letterbook of the
Creek Trading House, 1795-1816, with letters sent by the agent. Established to buy goods from the Creek
Indians, it was also called the Georgia Factory, and was the longest operating
such trading house.
Microfilm, 1
reel. National Archives Microcopy No. 4
(M4), 1941.
Microfilm No. 726.
U. S. Bureau of
Indian Affairs
Letters received,
1824-1881, on Indian lands, emigration, claims, trade, and other subjects. Reels are numbered #219-227 (Creek Agency,
1824-1847); #237-248 (Creek Agency Emigration, 1826-1849); Creek Agency
Reserves, 1832-1850); #249 (Crow Creek Agency, 1871-1876; Crow Wing Agency,
1835-1840); #286-291 (Florida Superintendency, 1824-1853); #800-807 (Seminole
Agency, 1824-1876).
Microfilm, 36
reels. National Archives Microfilm
Publication, M234.
Microfilm No. 752.
U. S. Bureau of
Indian Affairs
Records of the
Cherokee Indian Agency in Tennessee, 1801-1835, including correspondence and
records, 1800-1814, of the Cherokee Agency as financial and procurement agent
for the U. S. War Department in Tennessee (microfilm reels #1-10), and records,
1817-1821 of Joseph McMimm, Special Agent for the removal of the Cherokees
under the Treaty of July 8, 1817 (reel #14).
Microfilm, 11 reels. Originals in National Archives,
Washington.
Microfilm No. 910.
U. S. Bureau of
Indian Affairs
Records of the Choctaw
Trading House under the office of Indian Trade, 1803-1824. This trading house operated at St. Stephens
(West Florida; Alabama Territory; and finally, Mississippi Territory/State).
Microfilm, 6
reels. National Archives Microcopy
T-900 (1960).
Microfilm No. 960.
U. S. Bureau of
Indian Affairs
Records relating to
the enrollment of the Eastern Cherokees by Guion Miller, 1908-1910. Applications and related data to determine
eligibility for funds of 1835-36 and 1845 Treaties, with miscellaneous
testimony of applicants. A general
index to first two volumes (of ten volumes of applications and ten volumes of
testimony) appear on reel one. Earlier
censuses of 1850, 1854, and 1884 are on reel 12.
Microfilm, 12
reels. National Archives Microfilm
Publication M685.
Microfilm No. 728.
U. S.
Congress. Senate.
Territorial papers of
the United States Senate, 1789-1873.
Records and papers of the United States Senate concerning territories,
their administration, governance, and movement toward statehood. Documents dated earlier or later than the
period of existence of a particular territory are frequently included. Some of these materials have been published
in Clarence Carter's The Territorial
Papers of the United States...
The Florida papers
(reels 9-11) are arranged by Congress in rough chronological order, 1806-1845
with materials concerning Territory of Florida, its congressional delegate,
Joseph M. White, private bills, petitions of West Florida citizens, and related
papers.
See also materials
relating to Mississippi, 1799-1818 (reel 3); the Orleans Territory, 1803-1813
(reel 5); Louisiana and Missouri, 1804-1822 (reel 7), and Alabama, 1818-1836
(reel 8).
Microfilm, 20
reels. National Archives.
Microfilm No. 97.
U. S. Department
of State
Copybooks of George
Washington's correspondence with Secretaries of State, 1789-1796. These include copies of letters sent by
Washington on various matters including Indian negotiations with the Creeks,
and relations with Spanish West Florida among other domestic and foreign
relations issues.
Microfilm, 1 reel.
Microfilm No. 128.
U. S. Department
of State
Diplomatic and
consular instructions, 1791-1801; 1801-1834.
These are
messages and dispatches to consuls.
Of special importance are those between Spain, England, and the United
States during the invasion of Spanish West Florida in 1814 by American forces,
and the treaty arrangements for the transfer of Gulf Coast regions (Florida,
Alabama, Mississippi) to the United States.
Microfilm, 12
reels. U. S. National Archives.
Microfilm No. 120 and
125.
U. S. Department
of State
Foreign letters of the
Continental Congress and the Department of State, January 14, 1785 to December
23, 1790. Includes the period of
relations between the Spanish Empire in America (Louisiana, West Florida) and
the Creek Indians in the Southeastern United States.
Microfilm, 1
reel. National Archives
Microfilm No. 129.
U. S. Department
of State
Lists of diplomatic
and consular officers, 1789-1939. These
will record diplomatic officers and consulates during the period of negotiation
for the cessation of Spanish West Florida as well as the numerous foreign
consulates established in Pensacola from 1821-1900. Microfilm No. 114 (3 reels) covers diplomatic officers; Microfilm
No. 115 (21 reels) covers U. S. consular officers.
Microfilm, 24
reels. Part of Record Group 59,
National Archives.
Microfilm No. 114 and
No. 115.
U. S. Department
of State
Records of special
agents for securing the Florida Archives, 1799-1836, including correspondence,
documents, journals and inventories primarily in English and Spanish with some
French. Includes report of Counsel
General Nicholas P. Trist to Secretary of State John Forsyth, 1835;
correspondents include Andrew Jackson, William Wirt, and Richard Keith Call;
includes Spanish documents copied at Havana, and the Pintado Report of 1822 of
land sold in Florida, 1801-1818.
Microfilm, 6
reels. Originals in National
Archives, Washington.
Microfilm No. 753.
U. S. Department
of State
Territorial papers:
Florida, 1777‑1824. Microfilm of
manuscripts concerning the Territory of Florida including petitions from
citizens, letters, appointments of judges, and other activities affecting the
creation of Florida, especially the Pensacola region, and its administration
until establishment of formal American government. Some of these materials have also been reproduced in Clarence E.
Carter's Territorial Papers of the United
States (Microfilm 103) and part of the
materials have been transcribed and
printed in Carter's Territorial Papers of Florida (5 volumes),
although this
latter set covers from 1821 through 1845.
Microfilm, 11
reels. Record Group 59, National
Archives, Washington.
Microfilm No. 160.
U. S. Department
of War
Letters received by
the office of the Secretary of War, 1800-1823, relating to Indian Affairs. Includes Indian affairs in the Southeast and
West Florida with letters from Benjamin Hawkins and William Augustus Bowles,
and others on Creek Indians and other tribes.
See the companion series listed in this Guide as "Letters
sent by ..." under U. S. Department of War.
Microfilm, 4 reels. National Archives Microcopy No. 271
(1959).
Microfilm No. 959.
U. S. Department
of War
Letters sent by the
Secretary of War (relating to) Indian Affairs, November 17, 1800 to April 26,
1824, including correspondence of the Secretary and assistants with a name
index. These are the earliest records
of the U. S. concerning Indians; earlier records (1789-1800) were destroyed by
fire. Until creation of the Department
of the Interior in 1849, the Secretary of War directly supervised Indian
Affairs. These records cover the
Southeast United States and West Florida region, especially during the Jackson
invasion in 1813/1814 and the Creek Indian Wars.
Microfilm, 6 reels. National Archives Microcopy No. M-15
(1942).
Microfilm No. 957.
U. S. Department
of War
Letters sent to the
President by the Secretary of War, 1800-1863, including such subjects as
operations of the Army, administration of the War Department, appropriations,
miliary commissions, military posts and establishments, general courts-martial,
and annual report of the Secretary of War.
Of special note are the movements of the Army under General Wilkinson in
Louisiana and Spanish West Florida, and operations of the military command of
the Territory of Florida, as well as Civil War operations in West Florida.
Microfilm, 6
reels. Record Group 107, National
Archives.
Microfilm No. 119.
U. S. Department
of War
The Negro in the
military service of the United States, 1639-1886. From records of the Adjutant General's office, includes extensive
material on African-Americans in military service during the Civil War,
including Florida regiments.
Microfilm, 5
reels. Record group 94, National
Archives.
Microfilm No. 158.
U. S. Department
of War
Reports to Congress,
1803-1870. Includes reports of actions
and service in Spanish West Florida, Florida Territory, and West Florida
region.
Microfilm, 5
reels. Record Group 107, National
Archives.
Microfilm No. 121.
U. S. District
Court, Northern District of Florida
Selected court records
and case files concerning the Apalachicola Land Company, Forbes and Company,
Colin Mitchell vs. U. S., and related court cases involving the Panton, Leslie,
and Company, 1822-1859.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Microfilmed from holdings of the
National Archives Branch, East Point, Georgia.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 75.
U. S. General
Land Office
British West Florida
papers. Microfilm of private land
claims in Record Group 49, National Archives.
Includes alphabetical abstract of British land grants in West Florida,
1765-1770 and British West Florida land records, 1770-1779, with numerous loose
notes, surveyors certificates, plats, petitions, and other materials on British
grants, 1760-1780. With abstracts of
Spanish records and archives in West Florida, 1828-1829, and a report of the U.
S. Commissioners for Ascertaining Claims and Titles, 1824.
Microfilm, 3
reels. Record Group 49, National
Archives.
Microfilm No. 98.
U. S. Library of
Congress
Records of the states
of the United States: Florida, 1764-1877, 1912. Prepared by the Library of Congress in association with the
University of North Carolina; collected and edited under the direction of
William Sumner Jenkins, 1949.
Includes minutes of
the British West Florida Council, Assembly, and other governmental agencies,
1765‑1781; British East Florida papers, 1764-1783; papers relating to the
Independent State of West Florida, Natchez, 1810; Florida Legislative Council
journals, 1822‑1837; Territorial session laws, and State ordinances, 1821‑1877;
journals of the Florida House and Senate, 1839‑1869, 1912; miscellaneous
printed works, 1775‑1862; and papers relating to Florida governors and
executive agencies, 1827‑1865.
Of special note are
the first American laws or ordinances issued by Andrew Jackson (1821) and first
laws and compilations of acts for Florida on reel 23. Reel 34 (Miscellany) includes a number of publications and
materials including a few copies of the East Florida Gazette (St. Augustine)
and the Pensacola Gazette; six ordinances by Andrew Jackson; a circular on the
Army of Pensacola (1862); an eulogy by Henry Brackenridge on the death of John
Adams and Thomas Jefferson (1826); and other Florida materials.
Microfilm, 34
reels. Library of Congress.
Microfilm No. 105.
United States
Naval Hospital, Pensacola
Records, 1826-1911,
includes appointment certificate as Surgeon for Isaac Hulse (1826); daily watch
journal for the Naval Hospital, 1910-1911; and correspondence log, 1864-1865,
covering hospital operations, patients, employees, nurses, and deaths of
Federal naval servicemen at the hospital.
Correspondents include M. S. Geist, William Seaman, Samuel L. Southard,
and John Quincy Adams.
3 items (.45
c.f.).
Accession M1990-03.
U. S. Navy Yard
and Naval Air Station (Pensacola) Papers
Records and papers
relating to the U. S. Navy Yard (1823-1914) and the U. S. Naval Air Station
(1914-present) at Pensacola, Florida; includes manuscripts, letters,
correspondence, reports, publications, and other materials concerning the
history of the Navy Yard and of naval aviation, correspondence of Commandants
of the Navy Yard, and information on the towns of Woolsey and Warrington.
274 items (.80
c.f.). Gift of the National Archives,
UWF Professors Ernest W. Dibble and George Pearce, Florida State Library
Archives, Mr. and Mrs. William Chamberlain.
Accession M1973-06.
U.S.S. Pensacola
Ledgers of Paymaster
J. F. Jenkins, U.S.S. "Pensacola," 1904‑1905.
6 volumes (.34
c.f.). Purchase.
Accession M1975-17.
University of
West Florida
The Special
Collections Department is also the University Archives for the University. Records and papers of academic offices,
officers, faculty, students, organizations, governing boards, committees, and
publications are retained which document the history of the University, and the
development and implementation of policy.
Emphasis is also placed on the contributions of faculty, staff,
students, and administrators to the University, the community, and to knowledge
by acquiring materials documenting such contributions.
University Archives
may include papers and records, audiotapes, videotapes, slides, photographs,
drawings, paintings, electronic media, and other forms of documentation without
regard to format.
While researchers may
find some publications of the University in the library book collections, more
complete sets will be located in the Special Collections Department. These will include master's theses, the
Voyager (campus newspaper), the Fountain (campus newsletter) and the University
Catalog.
This Guide
lists some of the major series of university archives collections, but
researchers should be sure to check with the Special Collections Department on
any University-related topic.
University of
West Florida. Academic Affairs.
Records, 1967-1991,
including correspondence, reports, publications, and other materials concerning
faculty, curriculum, departments, academic policies, governance, and related
academic subjects.
55 c.f.
Partly cataloged.
Accession M1991-04.
University of
West Florida. Academic Affairs. Annual Reports.
Annual reports for
academic departments and divisions which report to the Vice President,
1970-1986.
377 items (1.7 c.f.).
Accession M1992-08.
University of
West Florida. Academic Council.
Minutes, reports, and
other materials, 1971-1988, including such topics as academic policies,
undergraduate and graduate programs, enrollments, grade point averages and
related academic subjects. The Academic
Council was merged with the Faculty Senate, June 1988.
751 items (1.23 c.f.).
Accession M1983-30.
University of
West Florida. Aeronautical Systems.
Records (1968-1973)
including correspondence, materials on the UWF
Corpus Christi Center, student theses, commencement programs, and
related materials. Select thesis
subjects cover airports in Atlanta, Pensacola, and NAS Pensacola, the port of
Corpus Christi, satellite development and deployment, the usage of airships in
transportation, and emergency rescue missions in space.
204 items (1.7 c.f.).
Accession M1989-06.
University of
West Florida. Alumni Office.
Records, 1968-1979,
including correspondence, photographs, publications, and materials concerning
alumni chapters, fund raising, athletics, commencement, Christmas, workshops,
and alumni special events such as Springcoming, the inauguration of President
Robinson (1975), tours, mascots, alma mater song contests, and award programs.
1,243 items (1.05
c.f.).
Accession M1985-06.
University of
West Florida. Brick Kiln.
Archaeological site
identification file, 1990, for the nineteenth century brick kiln on University
property. Includes field notes, copies
of survey sheets, and research work (1982) of Gary Hacking.
11 items.
West Florida
Collection No. 566.
University of
West Florida. Cannon.
Records, 1970-1972,
concerning the discovery, restoration, and history of the Spanish Cannon (also
known as Annin's Cannon) on display in front of the John C. Pace Library. Includes materials on the history of cannons,
the various types used in Spanish and British West Florida, restoration
reports, x-rays of armament, and work of UWF staff including Brom Nichols to
display the cannon at the University.
1 folder.
West Florida
Collection No. 402.
University of
West Florida. Budgets.
Budget records,
1965- , including legislative budget
requests, operating budgets, capital budgets, and related materials.
35 items (2.25
c.f.).
Accession M1985-08.
University of
West Florida. Career Services
Council.
Records, 1974- , including minutes, reports, bylaws,
surveys, correspondence, and committee files.
Topics include awards, annual events (Halloween and Christmas parties),
personnel policies, flextime, working conditions, and related issues.
1,795 items (1.58
c.f.).
Accession M1987-12.
University of
West Florida. College of Arts and
Sciences.
Records, 1978- , including correspondence, annual
reports, minutes of Chairperson's Meetings, and the College of Arts and Science
Council, the forum series, and related records.
4,826 items (5 c.f.).
Accession M1988-06.
University of
West Florida. Computer Services Department, 1977-1995.
Records, 1977-1993,
including correspondence, reports, audits, and related research materials
including publications of the Department.
Files include runs of Netword and Profille; records of the Academic
Computer Services Committee; the dedication of Building 79 (Computer Center) in
1986; information on William Craig Nystul; and the overal history of computing
and information technology at UWF.
Key correspondents and administrators include Russell Lee, Lisa
Whitmire, Donna Gache, and Karen Brotherton Rasmussen.
833 items. 1.87 c.f.
[ cr10Dec1996;
rv10/14/1999; bib11/05/1999]
Accession
M1996-10.
University of
West Florida. Development Office.
Records, 1967-1979,
including foundation files and scholarship files. These files cover those organizations which made direct grants or
gifts to the University and include correspondence, financial documents, newspaper
clippings, and other materials pertaining to the gifts. Key organizations include the Edward Ball
Wildlife Foundation for the nature trail, the Alfred I. DuPont Foundation on
the endowment of the Mary Ball Washington Chair, the Ford Foundation for the
Venture Fund grant, and the Gannett Foundation.
2,610 items (2.9 c.
f.).
Accession M1983-16.
University of
West Florida. Elementary &
Secondary Education.
Records comprising the
Action Research Projects produced by students in the Master's Program.
13.0 c.f.
Accession M1993-01.
University of
West Florida. English and Foreign
Languages.
Records, 1967-1975,
including correspondence and files concerning the history and development of
the Department, and related materials.
1,179 items (1.05
c.f.).
Accession M1983-07.
University of
West Florida. Facilities Planning.
Records and papers,
1967- , concerning development of
the campus, construction, buildings, physical facilities, roads, and the
environment. Includes records of Robert
Turner, John Jarvis, and others.
4.0 c.f.
Uncataloged.
Accession M1991-10.
University of
West Florida. Facilities Planning
Committee.
Records of the
Facilities Planning Committee, 1974-
, including minutes, agendas, reports, and related working papers. This Committee reports to the Vice President
for Administrative Affairs on matters concerning campus buildings,
construction, and physical environment.
199 items (.53 c.f.).
Accession M1989-12.
University of
West Florida. Faculty Senate.
Records, 1979- , and its predecessor, the Faculty
Council, 1973-1979, including agendas, minutes, reports, and other working
papers.
629 items (1.4
c.f.).
Accession M1989-11.
University of
West Florida. Information Services.
Newspaper clipping
files of the Office of Information Services, 1969- , concerning the University of West Florida. Arranged by subject, department, and
organizations.
7,907 items (3.0
c.f.).
Accession M1986-19.
University of
West Florida. Libraries.
Records of the John C.
Pace Library, 1971- , including
publications, newsletters, departmental files, administrative memoranda, and
other papers concerning library activities, functions, administration,
policies, history, and building programs.
1,505 items (1.23
c.f.).
Accession M1993-10.
University of
West Florida. Libraries. Director of Libraries.
Administrative
records, 1966-1985 and Correspondence files, 1965- of the office of Director of Libraries including correspondence
and subject files pertaining to the development and administration of the John
C. Pace Library. Includes files of the
first Director (1965-1986), James A. Servies, including materials when he was
at the College of William and Mary.
Subjects and correspondents include development of Special Collections,
correspondence with researchers and donors, the library building and expansion,
policy development, and relations with Lois Maxon, Odell Griffith, Reubin
Askew, and others.
10,813 items (8.05
c.f.).
Accession M1988-15 and
M1987-03.
University of
West Florida. Libraries. Library Staff Association.
Records, 1968- ,
of the Library Staff Association, an organization within the John C.
Pace Library, created to sponsor staff activities, socials, student
appreciation events, and employee services.
Records include bylaws, correspondence, membership files, committee
records, and photographs.
454 items (.18
c.f.).
Accession M1993-11.
University of
West Florida. Libraries. Special Collections Department.
Records, 1967- , including annual reports, correspondence,
and other materials concerning donations, history of the department, the
Friends of the Library and related materials.
6,308 (2.98 c.f.).
Accession M1988-04.
University of
West Florida. Management
Department.
Student research
projects and group consultative studies of various businesses and organizations
in the West Florida region, including information on business operations,
personnel, finances, and related data.
29 items (.7
c.f.).
Accession M1982-17.
University of
West Florida. Music Department.
Records, 1970-1981,
consisting of materials pertaining to visiting artists, musical groups, and
symphony orchestras in the Music Hall Artists Series and the West Florida Music
Festivals. Includes clipping files for
Music Department activities, 1968-1970, and Florida League of the Arts files,
1970-1972.
839 items (.88
c.f.).
Accession M1983-15.
University of
West Florida. Oral Histories.
Audiotapes of an Oral
History Project conducted by UWF faculty member Dr. Thomas Gilliam on the early
formation and creation of the University of West Florida. Narrators include Phillip D. Beall, Warren
Briggs, Harold Crosby, Jack Fiveash, Elizabeth Hawes, J. B. Hopkins, and Gordon
Wells.
8 audiocassettes. Gift of Dr. Thomas Gilliam.
Accession M1987-06.
University of
West Florida. Panama City Center.
Correspondence,
reports, newspaper clippings, and other materials pertaining to the
development, history, and planning of the Panama City Center of the University
of West Florida, 1965-1983. Includes
planning of the master campus, land acquisition, statistics, and records of the
lobbying efforts of citizens and groups both for and against the transfer of
the branch campus to Florida State University in 1982.
1,228 items (1.93
c.f.).
Accession M1985-03.
University of
West Florida. Photograph
Collections.
Photographs, negative
files, documentation such as notes or information on the photographs, and
related materials.
18 c.f.
Accession M1991-05.
University of
West Florida. President. Board of Regents.
Records, 1964- , including minutes, agendas, reports
budgets, and other working papers of the Board and its state universities. Subjects concern educational budgets, policies,
governance, academic policies and planning, and related educational concerns.
11,094 items (13 c.f.)
Accession M1984-06.
University of
West Florida. President. Council of Presidents.
Minutes, reports,
agendas, and other working papers of the Council of Presidents of the Board of
Regents, State of Florida, 1964-
. Subjects include budgets,
capital funds and buildings, academic policies, and other university
administrative concerns.
3,299 items (7.00
c.f.).
Accession M1984-07.
University of
West Florida Publications
Publications produced
by the University of West Florida, Pensacola, arranged by title, subjects, and
departments including booklets, pamphlets, brochures, newsletters, programs,
and other publications of the University and its offices.
Special Collections
also maintains continuing runs of regular campus publications such as the
Nautilog, the Fountain, and the campus newspaper, the
Voyager, in addition to course schedules, catalogs, commencement
programs, and other serials.
20.25 c.f.
Accession M1981-43.
University of
West Florida. Publications. Faculty Publications.
Publications authored
by the faculty of the University of West Florida including books, articles,
reprints, texts, pamphlets, and other printed materials. These are arranged alphabetically by author
and a complete inventory is available in the department.
11.25 c.f. and 7 l.f.
Accession M1981-42.
University of
West Florida. Publications. Panhandler.
Collection of the Panhandler,
a literary magazine published by the UWF English Department, 1976- .
70 items (.7 c.f.).
Accession M1984-02.
University of West Florida. Research Foundation
Records, 1995-2008, of the University of West Florida Research Foundation, including articles of incorporation, bylaws, compact disks, correspondence, electronic records, financial papers, minutes and other materials pertaining to the Foundation from its creation in 1995 through its dissolution in February 2008. The Foundation managed income received from royalties, patents, and intellectual properties by making grants and appropriations to University faculty and departments. Subjects include the Bayesian Network Lens Project and the Electric Power Research Institute. Also known as the Research Foundation of the University of West Florida, Inc., Richard Podemski, Executive Director.
917 items (1.4 c.f.).
Accession M2008-01.
University of
West Florida. Self-Study (1985).
Records prepared for
the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Includes self-study reports of each academic and administrative
department and college, with the visiting committee's final report and
University responses.
128 items (2.1 c.f.).
Accession M1985-18.
University of
West Florida. Small Business
Development Center.
Reports and
evaluations of area businesses in Pensacola, Milton, Fort Walton Beach, Destin,
and DeFuniak Springs, Florida by UWF Management students as part of the
services of UWF Small Business Development Center.
68 items (1.23 c.f.).
Accession M1987-02.
University of
West Florida. Student Affairs.
Papers and records,
1969-1981, of the office of Student Affairs, 1976-1981 and its predecessor, the
Dean of Students Office, 1973-1976, including correspondence, reports,
memoranda and other records concerning student life at UWF. Subjects covered include student activities,
athletics, black students and minority services, the child care center, the
health center, housing, student orientation, student publications, Springcoming
and related topics. Other materials
concern the Committee on International Education, the inauguration of President
Robinson, the Non-Academic Administration Committee, Omega College
Reorganization Committee, the Panama City Campus Planning Committee, and the
Women's Awareness Task force Committee.
4,395 items (3.15
c.f.).
Accession M1983-06.
University of
West Florida. Student Affairs. Recreation and Sports.
Records, 1972-1987, of
the Office of Recreation and Sports, including correspondence, publications,
and committee files. Includes materials
on the history of the department and development of recreation and sports
programs and facilities, the Natatorium, the Pensacola Seafood Festival,
Springcoming, and the participation of the University in local sports events
and organizations. Committee files
cover freshmen, enrollment, food services, and the Santa Rosa Island Property.
393 items (.53 c.f.).
Accession M1990-08.
University of
West Florida. Students. Fraternities and Sororities.
Records of the Phi
Alpha Social Welfare Honorary Society, Omicron Chapter of the University of
West Florida including financial records (1971-1972) and minutes (1971-1972).
3 items.
Accession M1981-41 SC.
University of
West Florida. University Press.
Records of the
University of West Florida Press, 1973-
, part of the University Presses of Florida, including board minutes,
reports, financial statements, correspondence, and related materials. Includes files of manuscripts in process
including correspondence, editing drafts and comments, copies of reviews and
publicity materials, and records of UWF Editorial Committee.
626 items (.88 c.f.).
Accession M1988-01.
University of
West Florida. WUWF-FM Radio.
Records, 1972- , including financial statements, history,
special promotions, and related materials.
335 items (.35
c.f.).
Accession M1992-03.
University of
West Florida. Whitman Center.
Records and working
papers of the Donald L. Whitman Center for
State and Local Government, 1977-
, including reports, publications, correspondence, and research files. The Center performs research for panhandle
city and county governments, especially the City of Pensacola and Escambia
County on a variety of fiscal, tax, and planning matters. Includes the records of the Revenue Study
Committee (the Collier Commission), 1985-1986, which examined revenue sources
for the City of Pensacola; the Local Government Study Commission (Charter
Government Commission), 1985-1988, which examined charter government for
Escambia County; and records of the earlier 1978-1988 Escambia County charter
study committee.
Subjects and topics
are too numerous to enumerate but are covered in the collection inventory and
in extensive name/subject descriptors in the Special Collections card catalog.
1,204 items (2.23
c.f.).
Accession M1992-02.
Upton, Jeduthun
"Log of Jeduthun
Upton" 1812-1813. Upton was
captain of the privateer "Polly," captured by the British in 1812 and
confined to prison until 1813. Transcript of the original log, produced by the
U. S. Works Progress Administration. 27
leaves.
1 item. Gift of the Florida State Library.
Accession M1968-11/41.