Taitt, David
Four letters and
reports, March to August 1779, concerning use of Creek Indians on Georgia and
Florida frontier in British actions against American forces.
4 items (photocopies).
West Florida
Collection No. 503.
Taylor, Francis
William (b. 1901)
Personal papers,
1880-1944, including correspondent, autobiographical sketches, business
records, and other materials; includes letters of J. F. and Clara Taylor,
1919-1923, writing to their son Francis while he is a student at Marion
Institute, Lawrenceville School, and the University of Virginia, and letters of
Emily Hulse Taylor, of Pensacola; letters between Francis and his fiance and
wife, Mae Van Wagenen, 1925-1944, while she is at Mary Baldwin Seminary and
while Francis is employed at his father's firm, the Warren Fish Company,
Pensacola.
With additional
records and letters of Francis while employed at the Pensacola Naval Air
Station, and during World War II service at Guantanamo and in the
Mediterranean. With business records of
the Bohemia Shingle Mill Company, 1892-1895.
1,972 items (1.36
c.f.). Gift of Francis W. Taylor.
Accession M1972-14.
Taylor, Silas
Wats
Army, Confederate
States of America.
Letters, 1862, of
Silas Wats Taylor, of Lumsden Light Artillery, Co. F, Fort Gaines, Alabama to
his wife, Mary E. Taylor, in New Lexington and Tuscaloosa, Alabama. Camp life is described in five letters from
Fort Gaines while two letters from Corinth, Mississippi describe military
engagements along the Mississippi.
7 items, photocopies.
West Florida
Collection No. 585.
Tempest, Ruth
(Jacquot)
Author; Writer,
University of West Florida.
Papers, 1942-1964,
including correspondence with publishers and literary agents, typescripts,
proofs, and copies of published short stories and articles in a variety of
publications, including Saturday Evening Post, Ladies Home Journal,
and Redbook.
92 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Ruth Tempest.
Accession M1975-11.
Tennessee-Tombigbee
Waterway Study Collection
Materials concerning
the history and economic impact of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway in the
southern United States, including federal, state, and local government
documents and other related papers, 1975-1976.
6 items (.35
c.f.). Gift of Donald M. Clause.
Accession M1988-12.
Thomas, Robert T.
(1874-1968)
Scrapbook of
correspondence, 1961-1971, including letters to the Pensacola News-Journal
on matters of interest to the African-American community of Pensacola, Florida;
with copy of 1904 annual of the Florida Sentinel (42 p.), and Colored
Citizen (Aug. 29, 1952) and photographs of members of the Thomas and James
families.
51 items
(photocopies). Originals in possession
of the family.
Accession M1975-05.
Thomas, Verlie
(Robinson) (1901‑1978)
Teacher and Librarian,
Milton High School
Correspondence, school
papers, photographs and miscellaneous imprints, 1904‑1977. Includes papers relating to her husband,
Jesse Thomas; her sister, Ruby Robinson; her brother, Felix Robinson, and her
grandfather, I. E. Allen, with emphasis on Mrs. Thomas's career as a teacher,
1920‑1970. Other subjects include
the First Baptist Church of Milton, the Milton Presbyterian Church, the Milton
Shakespeare Club (1928-1941), the Santa Rosa Education Association, Milton High
School Alumni Association, Delta Kappa Gamma Society, schools in Escambia and
Santa Rosa Counties, the Square Deal Land and Development Company, and its
Miami Avocado and Citrus Growers, Inc. of Miami, Florida (1922-1933), and
materials on the Stephens family of Miami.
Also includes general
ledger of grocer C. J. Stephens, Pensacola, 1899-1906, with accounts of I. E.
Allen, The Union Society (an African-American Society), and store inventory,
August 1899.
2,097 items (3.06
c.f.). Gift of Miss Alice Hall.
Accession M1978-10.
Thompson, Grace
Playwright, writer
Personal papers
consisting of photocopies of correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings,
and other materials concerning the writing and production of "The March
Sisters of Concord" musical play about Louisa May Alcott and its
productions in New Jersey, New York, and England in 1978-1979; materials
concerning the development of Andrew Jackson Day in Florida, and a stage play
concerning Jackson's life, with transcript, director's notes, and music with lyrics;
and research materials concerning President Theodore Roosevelt and the
Roosevelt family.
175 items. Gift of Mrs. Grace Thompson.
Accession M1981-32 SC.
Thornton, Barbara
Mitchell
Collection including
correspondence, 1846-1854, of W. H. DeForest written from New Orleans
(1846-1849) and San Juan de Nicaragua [Grey Town or San Juan del Norte,
Nicaragua] (1851) with descriptions of area, life, and business plans, and a
diary (1860), writer unknown, mostly concerning Mobile, Alabama.
14 items. Gift of Mrs. Barbara Mitchell Thornton.
Accession M1982-26 SC.
Thurston, Charles
B.
Photocopy letters,
1862, by a Union soldier to parents and brother describing life in Pensacola,
especially the New York and Maine regiments, General Dow, and other Federal
activities.
1 folder.
Accession
M1968-13/122.
Tibbetts, Melvan
Civil War letters,
1862-1864, of a Union soldier from Maine, stationed in Pensacola, Florida. The letters tell of daily camp life,
routines of chores, picket duty, and incidents in and around Pensacola
including Oakfield, Woolsey, Camp Arnold, and Barrancas Hill. Includes research materials about Tibbetts
provided by Elizabeth D. Vickers.
50 items (.23 c.f.).
Purchase and gift of Elizabeth D. Vickers.
Accession M1986-16.
Tittle, George.
Letter, April 1, 1861 written aboard U.S.S. Brooklyn off Santa Rosa Island and Fort Pickens, Pensacola, noting Brooklyn’s return from Key West, and placement of troops aboard the U.S.S. Sabine. At this point in time, Fort Pickens is not being reinforced as a “truce” condition in Pensacola. On April 12 th, Fort Sumter
was reinforced and bombarded, and within several days, new troops arrived off Fort Pickens and were disembarked to Pickens.
Tittle enlisted January 11, 1859 and was discharged in October 1861 as a surgeon’s steward; re-enlisted December 3, 1861, served aboard the U.S.S. Kearsarge, and was discharged December 2, 1864 as a surgeon’s steward.
1 item. Purchase, Alva Malone Penton Fund, 2005.
West Florida Collection, No. 641.
Tobiassen, Tom
Legislator, Florida
House of Representatives and Florida Senate.
Records reflecting his
work as a legislator from the Escambia and West Florida region with materials
concerning issues in the Panhandle, constituent letters, and related materials.
Select topics include Santa Rosa Island
and higher education.
Partly cataloged.
19.45 c.f. Gift of Tom Tobiassen.
Accession M1981-39.
Todd, Calvin
Papers, 1946-1969,
including correspondence, reports, publications, programs, minutes of
directors, publicity materials and newspaper clippings of organizations in
which Mr. Todd, was a director.
Organizations include the Fiesta of Five Flags (1952-1958), the
Pensacola Port Authority (1957-1969), the State Chamber of Commerce
(1955-1959), and the Pensacola Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA)
(1946-1976).
706 item (2.05
c.f.). Gift of Calvin Todd.
Accession M1979-02.
T. T. Todd
Company, Pensacola, FL
Records, 1937-1943,
consisting of invoices and correspondence concerning wholesale food purchases.
319 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Lucius Ellsworth.
Accession M1985-05.
Tone Theatre
Records, 1947-1955, of
a movie house in Cantonment, Florida, including correspondence, film booking
records, financial and personnel files and other operating papers. Tone Theatre was part of the Fred T.
McLendon Theatres operated in partnership with Heywood Hanna, Jr.
709 items (.53
c.f.). Gift of Robert L. Bryans.
Accession M1982-04.
Towers, John
Henry (1885-1955)
Photocopy, aviation
log, Curtiss Hydroaeroplane, Navy No. A-1.
July 1, 1911 to October 16, 1912.
Includes missions flown, pilots and passengers, mechanics reports, and
other data.
1 item (69
leaves). Original owned by Mrs.
Marjorie Towers Totureau.
Accession M1968-11/82.
Township Surveys
Photocopies of survey
field notes of townships in West Florida, 1825‑1929. Includes references to land forms, place
names and flora and fauna in Townships 1 and 2 (North and South), Ranges 28‑30
West, Escambia and Santa Rosa counties; with resurvey notes of 1917, 1928,
1938, and 1950.
10 bundles (.68
c.f.). Originals owned by Florida
Internal Improvement Fund, Tallahassee.
Accession M1976-03.
Turner-Lee-Day
Elementary School, Warrington, FL
Minutes, 1940-1966, of
the Parent-Teacher Association; includes scrapbook and other papers relating to
the school.
13 items. Gift of Miss Lucile Cotton.
Accession M1978-02.