Sacred Heart
Hospital
Historical notes, 1915‑1972,
with a list of administrators.
1 piece
(photocopy). Original owned by Mrs.
Joselyn Warner.
Accession M1968-13/31.
Sacred Heart Hospital Archives.
Records, 1915- of Sacred Heart Hospital, Pensacola, Florida including photographs, scrapbooks, publications, annual reports, biographical files, newspaper clippings, and other materials documenting the history of Sacred Heart Hospital, its founding, growth, programs, and activities. The hospital opened as Pensacola Hospital in 1915 by the Daughters of Charity and was renamed Sacred Heart Hospital in 1948. Includes materials on the School of Nursing as well as Elizabeth Ann Seton.
1,492 pieces. 5.56 c.f. Gift of Sacred Heart Hospital, 1996.
Accession M1996-06.
Saenger Theatre
Collection
Publications,
programs, brochures, and records concerning the history of the Saenger Theatre
in pensacola, Florida from its building in 1924 through restoration in 1981 and
history since. Includes research notes,
photocopies, newspaper clippings, photographs, and memorabilia.
Gifts of various
donors including Judy DeBolt and Diane Mack.
436 items (in two
legal-size document cases) (.9 c.f.)
[cr 21 Dec 1981; lstrv
09 Nov 1999]
Accession M1981-37.
St. Andrews Bay,
Florida
Scrapbook, 1892-1896,
with newspaper clippings (primarily from the St. Andrews Buoy Newspaper),
illustrations, and other clipped matter concerning the St. Andrews and
Cromanton area of Florida (now Panama City) and Perote, Alabama. Includes social notes, travel accounts,
poetry, wedding invitations, a description of the 22 homes along the Bay in
1885 and other area news.
1 scrapbook. Gift of Mr. and Mrs. James A. Servies.
Accession M1983-18 SC.
St. Augustine
Historical Society
Calendar of Spanish
documents, 1512-1790. Begun as a
project to calendar all Spanish documents relating to the first Spanish period
in North America (1512-1763), the calendar covers 78,223 manuscripts described
by William B. Griffen under the direction of Albert Manucy, Librarian, St. Augustine
Historical Society. This includes
photostat Spanish documents from the Stetson Collection (University of
Florida), the North Carolina Spanish Records (North Carolina Department of
Archives and History), the Florida manuscripts in the Woodbury Lowery
collection (Library of Congress), the letters of Governor Manuel de Montiano
from the East Florida Papers (Library of Congress), and Pensacola materials
from the Newberry Library (Chicago).
Includes Appendix I
which is an annotated descriptive list of maps pertaining to Florida and
especially St. Augustine, 1500s-1940; Appendix II which has notes on the
Robertson Index to the Stetson Collection with legajo and card correlation
numbers; and Appendix III, notes which describe the North Carolina Spanish records
which are photostats from the General Archives of the Indies (Seville), the
National Historical Archives (Madrid), and the Archives at Simancas, Spain.
Calendar entries are
typed cards in English, annotating and describing each document, its date, contents,
source, and writer/receiver.
Microfilm, 3 reels.
Panton, Leslie &
Company Research Collection, Microfilm Nos. 65, 64, 67; also John C. Pace
Library, Microfilm No. 271.
St. John's
Cemetery Company, Pensacola
Records, 1892-1985,
including correspondence, annual reports, certificate of ownership books,
perpetual care records, minute books, payroll files, burial registers, and plat
maps showing names of individuals in St. John's Cemetery, and other records
pertaining to the history of St. John's Cemetery and Escambia Lodge No. 15 of
Free and Accepted Masons.
5,217 items (6.78 c.f.
and 9 ledgers).
Accession M1985-07.
St. Joseph's
Catholic Church, Pensacola, Florida
Burial Records, Book
1, December 16, 1892 - May 15, 1904; Book II, July 13, 1904-July 27, 1951. Shows in alphabetical order the names of
persons, their age, date of burial, and cemetery. Cemeteries include St. Michael's, St. Joseph's, St. John's and a
few other Pensacola sites.
27 photocopies. Gift of the Pensacola Historical Museum.
West Florida
Collection No. 6 and No. 29.
St. Mary's
Episcopal Church, Milton, Florida
Materials concerning
the history of St. Mary's Episcopal Church, Milton, Florida, including
photocopies of correspondence of Bishop Frank A. Juhan, research records about
early church activities, ministers, the church building, baptisms, marriage,
burials, and confirmations (1867-1916), sermons of Rev. S. Albert Kennington
(1977-1982); and related records pertaining to the McDougall, Golson, Creary,
and Keeling families, the Ladies Aid Society of Milton, and Milton history.
682 items (.45
c.f.). Originals loaned by the Church.
Accession M1982-25.
St. Michael's
Catholic Church, Pensacola, Florida
Oldest Catholic Church
in Pensacola.
Microfilm set of the records
of the Church and Parish, 1811‑1956, includes interments and funerals,
1841-1956; baptisms, 1817-1953, including African-Americans; marriages,
1811-1937; and confirmations, 1881-1931.
Many of the early records are in Spanish.
With additional materials
and records on the history of the Church, St. Michael's Cemetery, and the St.
Michael's Cemetery Foundation; with a transcription of the interments and of
the marriages, with an index correlating cemetery headstones, church burials,
and County civil records. With a group
of marriage contracts, 1878-1929 and other materials.
Users should also
consult Lola Lee Bruington's published cemetery index to St. Michael's Cemetery
which has appendices with additional indices and articles on the church and
cemetery.
.68 c.f. and 4
microfilm reels. Originals owned by the
Church; sponsored by Rev. Frank Giri.
Accession M1993-28.
St. Michael's
Creole Benevolent Association
Records, 1878-1961,
including correspondence, annual reports of officers, bylaws, and related
materials. Also known as the St.
Michael's Benevolent Club or St. Michael's Benevolent Social Club.
10 ledgers (.68 c.f.).
Accession M1993-30.
Saltmarsh Family
Papers
Papers and
photocopies, 1909‑1964, including school papers by Thomas William (1888‑1962)
and Ernest 0. Saltmarsh, students of H. C. Armstrong at the Pensacola Classical
School, 1909; programs of concerts; notes of Pensacola Little Theatre
presentations, 1949‑1964; undated tribute to James C. Watson; records
derived from the Saltmarsh family Bible, and other printed materials.
32 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Thomas W. Saltmarsh.
Accession M1974-20.
Salvation Army,
Pensacola, Florida
Research materials on
the history of the Salvation Army in Pensacola, Florida, with lists of commanders,
and related research by Suzanne Borges.
Gift of Salvation Army
office, Pensacola, Florida.
West Florida
Collection No. 569.
Sanborn, Henry W.
Geologist and Realtor
Papers, 1918-1965,
concerning real estate activities and notes of oil exploration in Escambia
County and vicinity. Includes a report
of a geophysical survey of oil fields in the Ensley area, 1918; maps of
Floridatown, Pensacola, and elsewhere; and a plat of timber lands along the
Escambia River in Alabama and Florida, ca. 1950, owned by Ed L. McMillan, of
Brewton, Alabama.
66 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. H. W. Sanborn.
Accession M1974-04.
Sanborn Fire
Insurance Company
Microfilm of the
Sanborn Fire Insurance maps in the Library of Congress for West Florida. These maps show streets, buildings, and
details such as water lines, type of building construction, house numbers,
railroads, and other details for each city.
Cities and dates covered include Bonifay (1926), Chipley (1913-1926),
Crestview (1939), DeFuniak Springs (1912-1929), Graceville (1922-1929),
Marianna (1884-1937), Milton (1895-1932), Panama City (1917-1950), Pensacola
(1884-1945), and Port St. Joe (1940-1945).
With microfilm of a
Sanborn Fire Insurance Company book for Pensacola, Florida, 1907, that includes
an index for 1953 and 1956, from a volume at the Pensacola Historical Society.
Microfilm, 2
reels. Purchased from the Library of
Congress and the Pensacola Historical Society.
Accession M1983-13 MF.
Santa Rosa
County, Florida
A collection of single
items pertaining to Santa Rosa County including correspondence, histories,
photographs, imprints, maps and plats, photocopies, and other papers,
especially of the communities of Bagdad, Gulf Breeze, Jay, and Milton, Florida. Select subjects include the Shakespeare
Club, Milton; the Jay oil fields; soil and water studies of the Blackwater
region; the Rolling Greens Country Club; the Nowling Family; Mt. Carmel Church;
John Gay; Chumuckla Springs; the Hanshaw family; Santa Rosa Island; Pensacola
Shores; Sabine Island; and the Santa Rosa Education Association.
Additional series in
this collection are described throughout this Guide and listed in the
index. A descriptive inventory of the
entire collection is available in the Department.
179 items (.68 c.f.). Gifts of various donors.
Accession M1973-9.
Santa Rosa
County, Florida. Land Records
A group of land
records, 1856-1935, including mortgages, land grants, promissory notes, and
other materials for lands in Santa Rosa County. Includes such firms as Balentine and Whitley, Milton, Florida; S.
J. Stewart & Bro., Milton, Florida; and Presidential land grants signed in
proxy by Franklin Pierce, and William McKinley. An annotated calendar of names and land descriptions is available
in the collection inventory.
33 items. Gift of Peggy Walker.
Accession M1983-27 SC.
Santa Rosa
County, Florida. Supervisor of
Elections.
Voter Registration
Books, 1914-1950 of primary and general elections, and poll tax registers,
1928-1936, for Santa Rosa County, Florida.
Registration books are arranged by precinct, show name of voter, age,
occupation, city or place of residence, and election, with occasional notes of
place moved to, married name, or reason for deletion from the rolls (death,
etc.). Poll tax registers show name of
voter and receipt number for that year.
Each ledger is indexed by initial letter of surname.
316 ledgers.
Accession M1985-17.
Santa Rosa
County, Florida. Tax Assessor.
Delinquent tax ledger,
circa 1928, for Santa Rosa County, consisting of names and addresses of owners
of real estate in Santa Rosa County who have failed to pay taxes on
property. Arranged alphabetically by
name of delinquent taxpayer or corporation.
1 volume. Gift of Judge Woodrow M. Melvin.
Accession M1988-21.
Santa Rosa County
Extension Homemakers
Scrapbook, 1964-1976
including programs and Mother of the Year books.
3 items. Gift of Mrs. J. B. Hartley.
Accession M1987-05.
Satterfield,
Frances Gibson
Personal papers
1976-1986, concerning research on Octavia Walton Le Vert (1810-1877) and
publication of Satterfield's biographical book, Madame Le Vert: A biography
of Octavia Walton Le Vert (1987).
The papers include correspondence with family descendants, archivists,
researchers, publishers, and agents;
photocopies of research materials including primary (letters and
diaries) and secondary sources (journal articles and book excerpts), and final
manuscript. Subjects include the Le
Vert, Walton, and Reab families, Henry Clay, the Marquis de LaFayette, Henry Wadsworth
Longfellow, General P. G. T. Beauregard, the Mount Vernon Ladies Association
and Le Vert's 19th century locales of Mobile, Alabama; Pensacola, Florida; Washington, D.C.; St. Louis, Missouri;
Saratoga Springs, New York; and New Orleans, Louisiana.
933 items (.70 cubic
feet). Gift of Mrs. Frances G.
Satterfield.
Accession M1990-07.
Schenk, Clarence
(1900-1978)
Sheet music, ca. 1925‑1970,
and original compositions by Mr. Schenk, popular dance band leader and pianist,
Pensacola. With photographs of Mr.
Schenk and his band. Includes fox trots
and full orchestrations.
300 items (4.0
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Clarence Schenk.
Accession M1978-14.
Schmidt, Lewis G.
Photocopies of
research files on the relocation in 1927 of military and civilian burials from
Key West, Florida to Fort Barrancas Military Cemetery, Pensacola; includes
newspaper clippings, declassified military records, correspondence, and a
survey of Fort Barrancas National Cemetery.
60 leaves. Gift of Lewis G. Schmidt.
West Florida
Collection No. 412.
Sheet Music
Collection
Miscellaneous bound
and unbound musical scores of classical and popular music, ca. 1830-1950;
representative examples of music owned by various West Florida families; piano
compositions written by West Floridians or relating to Pensacola and the Gulf
Coast.
1,500 items. Gifts of various donors.
Accession M1968-10.
Shriners
Collection
Publications of the
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Hadji Temple (Shriners) of
Pensacola, Florida, including programs for sponsored conventions, ceremonials,
softball leagues, and related events.
17 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of the Pfeiffer Printing
Company.
Accession M1982-27.
Sikes, Robert Lee
Fulton (b.1906)
Papers, 1969, 1974‑1977,
including newspaper clippings on the House Standards of Conduct review, and a
report of National Seashore Committee to the Greater Pensacola Chamber of
Commerce (1969).
The Robert L. F. Sikes
Papers, formerly on deposit with the University of West Florida, were transferred
to the R. L. F. Sikes Library, Crestview, in 1978. Additional materials concerning Bob Sikes are available in the
Escambia County and Biography Collections.
50 items (.34
c.f.).
Accession M1978-06.
Simmons Family
Papers
Personal papers, 1947-1980,
including family photographs and photocopies of birth certificates, wills, and
other materials about an African-American family in Pensacola.
42 items
(photocopies). Gift of Mrs. Georgia
Simmons.
Accession M1981-21 SC.
Simpson Papers
Selected papers, 1834-1865, taken from the
Simpson Family papers, 1797-1883.
Primarily letters written to the Simpson sisters in Pensacola, Florida
from 1834 to 1865; letters touch on social and family life, the railroad at
Pensacola (1853), and the war (1863). A
detailed index and description is available with these papers [105 items in 5
folders].
Microfilm, 1
reel. Originals owned by the University
of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
Accession M1968-11/45.
Slemmer, Adam J.
(1824-1868)
Lieutenant, U. S. Army;
Commander, Company G, U. S. Artillery at Fort Barrancas and Fort Pickens,
1861-1864.
Letterbook kept at
Fort Pickens, 1861‑1864, with correspondence of Lt. Slemmer and Captain
H. A. Allen, in charge of Union forces.
1 volume
(photocopy). Original owned by Virginia
Historical Society.
Accession M1968-11/88.
Smith, Buckingham
(1810-1871)
Member, American
Legation in Madrid; Florida Historian.
The Buckingham Smith
Papers comprise thousands of transcripts (copies) of Spanish documents from the
Lenox Library, New York; from Mexico City, and from Madrid, especially the
Archivo General de Simancas, copied by Buckingham Smith between 1852 and
1868. Most of his materials relate to
Spanish West Florida, with added materials covering St. Augustine and the South.
He gathered together
his transcripts, drawings, and notes into volumes; these include 'Vida de
Menendez,' 'Florida Manuscripts, 1526-1743,' 'North America Transcripts' for
1500-1560, 1561-1593, and 1607-1786; 'Copies of early maps of Florida with descriptive
keys,' 'Miscellaneous transcripts from Archivo General de Simancas,' and
'Original Spanish documents in the Timuguan and Apalache languages of
Florida.'
Microfilm, 3
reels. Originals owned by the New York
Historical Society.
Accession M1973-07/24.
Smith, Fanny
Rooming house
register, 710 West Jackson Street, New Warrington, April 30, 1930-January 1933;
gives names of roomers, rooms occupied, and amount paid. With a second register of various notes,
1933-1938.
2 ledgers. Gift of Mr. James A. Servies.
Accession M1968-11/81.
Smith, Mary
Catherine (White) (1912-1972)
Photocopies of
typescripts of collected notes, photographs and printed ephemera primarily
relating to the history of Pensacola and Escambia County, especially of
historic sites and buildings.
6 folders (.18
c.f.). Originals owned by Mrs. Daniel
Smith, Millview.
Accession M1974-08.
Snodgrass Family
Papers, 1871-1985,
pertaining to the Snodgrass family of Bagdad, Florida including deeds and
purchases of land, descriptions and drawing of home, visits of Florida
Governors to the town, and related materials.
11 items. Gift of Miss Dena E. Snodgrass.
Accession M1985-04 SC.
Spain. Servicio Historico Militar
Documents and maps of
18th century Spanish Pensacola, selected from the Servicio Historico Militar by
Dr. A. B. Thomas for the Historic Pensacola Preservation Board.
Microfilm, 1 reel.
Microfilm No. 227.
Sphere Magazine
Records and papers of Sphere
magazine, a science fiction fan magazine published in Cantonment, Florida. Includes issues of the magazine, 1956-1959,
and correspondence files with writers, subscribers and science fiction fans,
1958, 1960, 1966. Includes letters of
Brian W. Aldiss and Leslyn MacDonald Macabee concerning their writing and
comments on John W. Campbell, Robert A. Heinlein, Ray Bradbury, and others.
111 items (.18
c.f.). Gift.
Accession M1984-11.
Spilman, Robert
B.
Personal papers,
1937-1971, concerning his military career (1937-1971) and as Commandant of the
United States Army Management School (1968-1971), including biographical
materials, copies of the Howitzer, correspondence and vita pertaining to
guest speakers at the U. S. War College, and materials on the history and
disestablishment of the U. S. Army Management School in 1971. Correspondents include Paul Seabury, Clinton
Rossiter, Max Lerner, W. C. Westmoreland, Henry Kissinger, and Thomas J.
Watson, Jr.
419 items (.8
c.f.). Gift of Col. Bob Spilman.
Accession M1989-02.
Starling, Lewis
Letter, July 2, 1862
from Pensacola, to his father telling of conditions in Pensacola after capture
by the Federal troops, the devaluation of Confederate currency, and continued
fighting in the area.
4 leaves, photocopies.
Accession M1968-11/66.
Stearns, Silas
(1859?-1888)
Papers, 1878-1888,
including original and photocopy correspondence, notebooks, photographs, and
other papers. Includes notebooks,
illustrations and drafts relating to the U.S. Fish Commission census of 1880,
data concerning fish and sponge vessels, correspondence with ichthyologists at
the Smithsonian, and papers relating to vessels and equipment employed in the
Pensacola fishing industry.
Mr. Stearns, a native
of Bath, Maine, came to Pensacola about 1878, and joined the Warren Fish
Company. He was active in collecting
specimens of fish for the Smithsonian Institution, and collaborated with Dr.
David Starr Jordan in the publication of scientific papers.
460 items (.83
c.f.). Gift of the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency, Mrs. M. M. Marple, Francis Taylor, and the Smithsonian
Institution.
Accession M1973-01.
Stiggins, George
(1788-1845)
"A historical
narration of the genealogy, traditions and downfall of the Ispocaga or Creek
tribe of Indians, written (ca. 1831‑1844) by one of the
tribe'." An unpublished manuscript
by George Stiggins, Indian agent to the Creek nation in the early 1830s, and a
brother-in-law to William Weatherford.
Stiggins' reminiscent narrative about the Creek Indians was unfinished
at the time of his death in 1845, and was obtained by Lyman Copeland Draper
from the author's son in 1874.
Microfilmed as part of
the Draper Papers of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, this reel also
contains a small collection of Draper's correspondence, 1851-1878, on several
Georgia and Alabama families, as well as notes and letters concerning William
Candler, Elijah and John Clarke, Benjamin Few, Richard McGriff, Micajah
Williamson, Alexander McGillivray, and William Weatherford. With South Carolina papers, 1786-1790, of
Alexander Moultrie and Richard Winn pertaining to the South Carolina Yazoo
Company; and papers of Elijah Clarke, 1782-1794, on land, legislative, and
militia business in Georgia.
Microfilm, 1
reel. "Georgia, Alabama, and South
Carolina Papers" microfilm reel of the Draper Manuscripts in the State
Historical Society of Wisconsin.
Accession
M1968-11/103.
Stowe, Harriet
Elizabeth (Beecher) (1811-1896)
A.L.S., January 10,
1865. Addressed to Mr. Fields (probably
Mr. James T. Fields of Boston, of her publisher Ticknor and Fields) concerning
finances to settle Boston accounts.
Discussed books and weather.
A.L.S., November 13,
1886. Addressed to Mr. James Houghton
of Houghton, Mifflin and Company, requesting that her letter be placed in a
copy of Uncle Tom's Cabin and forwarded to requestor.
2 items.
Accession M1968-11/4
and M1968-11/10.
Student Research
Papers
The Special
Collections Department actively solicits research reports and papers written by
University of West Florida students and others which cover any aspect of West
Florida, including history, science, health fields, botany, and other
subjects. Each paper received is
cataloged with name and subject tracings and can be located through indices
maintained in the Department.
Student research
papers may be used, but except for bibliographies, cannot be reproduced or
photocopied for users.
500 items (4.0
c.f.). Gifts of various donors.
Accession M1980-10.
Sullivan, J. J.,
and Son, Pensacola
Legal papers,
correspondence and deeds, 1885‑1929, relating to Jeremiah J. Sullivan and
Jeremiah J. Sullivan, Jr., and the firm's legal practice in Escambia and Santa
Rosa counties.
With copies of deeds
and abstracts, 1794‑1878, letters of Mrs. Emily Hulse Taylor regarding
her Pensacola property, correspondence relating to the Bay Point Lumber
Company, Bagdad Sash Factory, Gulf Real Estate Company, the City of Pensacola,
Louisville and Nashville Railroad, Memphis and Pensacola Railroad, Keyser‑Muldon
Company, and the Dietzen Company. With
draft of the will of Rev. William Lane, 1891, and letters of Pensacola Mayor C.
H. Bliss.
4,000 items (3.27
c.f.). Gift of Mike Thomas.
Accession M1973-18,
M1976-06.
Sully, George
Washington (1816-1870)
Artist and Cotton
Broker
Sketches in pencil and
watercolor of scenes in Pensacola and elsewhere in West Florida and the
Caribbean, 1833‑1839. Sully, a
nephew of American painter Thomas Sully, had been employed by William H. Chase
during the construction of Fort Pickens.
Includes views of the site of Fort McRea, scenes of the Apalachicola
River and St. Marks, paintings from life of Lower Creek Indians and Hix Chijo,
sketches of various homes in Pensacola, and other paintings.
The original gift of
Mrs. Ralph Estes has been enhanced by additional purchases and additions of
research materials, including the Antiques magazine
article on Sully, March 1983.
Sully's paintings are the earliest known paintings of any part of
Florida during the Territorial Period (1821-1845).
187 items (.68
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Ralph Estes and
purchases.
Accession M1978-16.
Surface Water
Improvement and Management Collection, Pensacola Bay System
Research files and
records pertaining to the study of the Pensacola Bay System, including
publications, journal articles, manuscripts, and other materials, collected by
Dr. Sneed B. Collard, about Pensacola Bay, the Escambia River, Escambia Bay,
and their biology, botany, fish, ecology, and environment.
A partial bibliography
and citations appear in The Pensacola Bay System: Biological Trends and
Current Status by Sneed B. Collard (Havana, FL: North-west Florida Water Management District, 1991).
7.0 c.f. Gift of Dr. Sneed B. Collard.
Uncataloged.
Accession M1990-05.
Sutton, Leora M.
Papers and research
files, 1960-1975, including typescripts, photographs, research notes, drafts of
publications, and other papers chiefly on history of Pensacola, its buildings
and families. Subjects and
organizations include the Pensacola Historic Preservation Society, the Dorothy
Walton House Foundation, the Seville Square Settlers, the Pensacola Historic
Restoration and Preservation Commission (later the Pensacola Historic
Preservation Board), the Downtown Improvement Board, the Dorothy Walton House
Museum, the Quina House Museum, the Barkley House, the Tivoli House, Julee
Cottage, and William F. Steel.
Families and name
files include the Bell, Bobe, Bonifay, Brent, Commyns, Dauphine, De La Rua,
Gonzalez, Horsler, Langley, Lavalle, LeVert, LeBarron, McVoy, Moreno, Pfeiffer,
Perry, Quina, Sierra, Thiesen, Touart, Walton, Willings, and Yniestra families.
With abstracts and
notes on properties and archaeology of areas of
Seville Square. Publications of
Mrs. Sutton are included in the Bibliography of West Florida files.
1,968 items (2.45
c.f.). Gift of Leora M. Sutton.
Accession M1986-01.