Rainer, James
Photocopies of family
letters, tax records, and other materials on James Rainer of Butler County,
Alabama, 1862-1897.
45 items. Gift of Eva Rae Braswell.
West Florida
Collection No. 580.
Ramsey, Andrew
Boggs (1932- )
Records concerning the
history of the Florida Tribe of Eastern Creek Indians of Calhoun County,
Florida with emphasis on the Ramsey genealogy, the Apalachicola Indians, and
the Harjo-Boggs-Parrot Tribe. Materials
consist of bound books of photocopies of research materials including vital
records, newspaper clippings, book and journal articles, and other data. Other names include the Harjo, Parrot,
Boggs, Ramsey, Ward, and Stanley families.
9 items (.88
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Andrew Boggs Ramsey.
Accession M1991-06.
Randolph, Edward
Brett (d.1848)
Diary, 1818, with
account of experiences with the U.S. Army in the Apalachicola River region
during the First Seminole War.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Original owned by the University
of North Carolina Library.
Accession M1968-14/8.
Ray Hardware
Company, Pensacola
Business records,
correspondence and printed ephemera, 1909‑1929. Includes file of Dun's credit reports, 1909‑1914, on
various stores and proprietors in Florida, Alabama and Georgia; with Mr.
William A. Ray's reports as treasurer of the First Presbyterian Church of
Pensacola, 1911.
14,204 items (4.90
c.f.). Gift of Mr. Warren M. Briggs.
Accession M1974-09.
Reardon, Anna
Smith
Writer and Historian,
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Personal papers,
1962-1983, including research files, interview notes, photographs, and
newspaper articles about DeFuniak Springs and Walton County, Florida. Topics include biographies of settlers,
genealogical notes on families, and information about DeFuniak Springs and its
hotels, historic homes, library, schools, and churches. Additional files cover the Florida
Chautauqua, freemasonry, the turpentine industry, railroads, and Florida towns
such as Caryville, Choctawhatchee, Freeport, Grayton Beach, Lakewood, Mary
Esther, and Eucheeanna.
711 items (.9
c.f.). Gift of E. L. Hollingsworth.
Accession M1984-03.
Reedy, Agnes
Irene
School Teacher,
Pensacola, FL
Personal Papers,
1942-1982, consisting of poems, articles, and other published materials,
including histories of Myrtle Grove School, Escambia High School, and Five
Flags Christian Academy. Includes
newsletters of the Escambia Retired Teachers Association, edited by Miss Reedy.
76 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Miss Agnes Irene Reedy.
Accession M1983-17.
Reese, John Lewis
Personal papers
concerning the Reese and West families including genealogical notes on the
Pope, Orr, Reese, and West families of Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi;
biography of Judah P. Benjamin; diary of 1936 tour of American Southwest; Civil
War recollections of Mary R. West in western Tennessee and Mississippi, and
research records of Elizabeth H. West on the Panton Leslie and Company, 1931.
15 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of John Lewis Reese.
Accession M1983-31.
Reeves, James
Jerauld (b. 1938)
Legislative
correspondence, drafts of bills and general papers, 1966‑1972, relating
to the activities of Mr. Reeves in the Florida Legislature.
6.3 c.f. Gift of Mr. Reeves.
Accession M1975-18.
Reid, Robert
Raymond (1789-1841)
Diary, 1833,
1835. Typescript prepared by the
Historical Records Survey, 1939. Reid
was Judge of the Superior Court of Eastern Florida. In 1838/39 he became President of the Florida Constitutional
Convention held in St. Joseph, and in 1839‑1841 was Governor of the
Territory of Florida.
l item. Gift of the Florida State Library.
Accession M1968-11/36.
Reid, Roger
Delbert (b. 1905)
Emeritus Professor of
Biology, University of West Florida, and first American researcher of
Penicillin.
Personal papers,
1935-1978, including correspondence, reprints of scientific papers, and
notes. Includes papers relating to the
publication of his text, Microbiology (1st ed., 1975), correspondence
with Father Theodore Martin Hesburgh (President, Notre Dame) and work on the
advisory board of Lobund Laboratories of Biology, Notre Dame. Other subjects and correspondents include Thomas
H. Weller (Nobel Prize, 1975); Von A. Kasakow, Moscow; papers relating to Sir
Alexander Fleming (Discoverer of Penicillin); and the University of West
Florida Department of Biology.
100 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Robert Reid and Dr.
John Reihm.
Accession M1978-04.
Remington, Albert
O.
75th Regt., Co. H, New
York State Volunteers
Photocopy letters,
1861-1862, of a Union soldier describing his trip from Auburn, New York to
Pensacola, life at Fort Pickens, and conditions in Pensacola after the
Confederate evacuation.
1 folder. Originals at Tulane University.
Accession
M1968-13/111.
Resler, Walter H.
Personal papers,
1904-1964, of Walter H. Resler, Brooklyn, New York and Pensacola, Florida
including correspondence, photographs, clippings, imprints, glass negatives,
periodicals, and microfilm. Subjects
include the history of Brooklyn, Huntington, and Long Island, New York; Abraham
Lincoln; World War II, including mobilization, scrap metal drives, and the
American Legion of Huntington's Honor Roll of servicemen and women in World War
II. Correspondents include Bernard M.
Baruch and Thomas E. Dewey. Photographs
include the Brooks, Resler, and Sanders families; West Palm Beach, Florida;
Mexico and Mexico City, and related topics.
449 items (1.96
c.f.). Gift of Barbara Ann Resler
Weeks.
Accession M1990-01.
Retired Officers
Association, Pensacola Chapter
Records and papers,
1971-1985, including minutes, newsletters, correspondence and related
materials. Agencies and subjects
include the Escambia County Veterans Round Table, the Naval Aerospace and
Regional Medical Center (Pensacola), and military pay legislation with
correspondence from U.S. Senators Lawton Chiles, Ed Gurney, Peter H. Dominick,
Richard Schweiker, Sam Ervin, Lloyd Bentsen, and Representative Bob Sikes.
1,107 items (1.68
c.f.). Gift of LCOL. Phillip M.
Theinel.
Accession M1984-13.
Richardson, Creel
Photocopies of
research materials concerning Conecuh County, Alabama, 1814-1877, including
letters (1844-1860) of James Jones about life in Conecuh, the 1860 Presidential
election, cotton business, and activities in Pensacola. Other materials cover the Battle of
Horseshoe Bend and Fort Jackson (1814), Fort Pickens (1861), a biography of Dr.
George Columbus Reynolds, and a history of the Perote area, Pike County,
Alabama.
20 items. Gift of Creel Richardson.
Accession M1983-14 SC.
Richardson, Wade
H.
Microfilm of How I
Reached Union Lines by Wade H. Richardson, a Milwaukee, Wisconsin
teacher. Published in 1905, this volume
details Richardson's life in central Alabama, how he made his way to the Union
lines in West Florida and spent from 1863 to 1865 in Pensacola. Includes mention of the 1863 yellow fever
outbreak in Pensacola and the organization of the 1st Florida Cavalry, U.S.
Volunteers.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Original owned by Duke University
Library.
Accession M1987-07.
Rish, William J.
Correspondence and
general legislative papers of William J. Rish, who served from the 9th District
in the Florida House of Representatives from 1970 to 1978.
14.0 c.f.
Accession M1979-01.
Rivera, Joseph
Pedro de
Manuscript report
November 2, 1723, concerning conditions in Escambia Bay (St. Maria de Galve)
and St. Joseph Bay, describing the state of affairs with the Indians, and
suggesting the means of fortifying these positions for continued Spanish
colonization; mentions of Punta de Siquenza.
With typescript translations of this document and of Rivera's 1744
report.
27 items (.23
c.f.) Purchase.
Accession M1989-15.
Roark, George
James (1889-1962)
Pensacola City
Manager, 1931-1937; 1940-1947; Vice President, Florida League of
Municipalities, 1946.
Papers, 1931-1962,
including correspondence, newspaper clippings, drafts of city ordinances,
budget files, scrapbooks, and municipal records dealing with Pensacola city
government and administration. Subjects
include Ken Brown of the Pensacola Times and West Florida Labor News,
the Florida League of Municipalities, the International City Manager
Association, the Florida City Managers Association, radio speeches on WCOA by
Roark and Pensacola Mayor Wicke, Eglin Air Force base land purchases, the Santa
Rosa Island Authority, and the Fiesta of Five Flags.
586 items (1.36
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. George J. Roark,
Sr.
Accession M1978-15.
Robertson,
William D.
Attorney, Milton,
Florida.
Personal papers,
1933-1961, including correspondence, land abstracts, plat maps, and related
material of organizations that Mr. Robertson was active in, or for which he
performed legal services, primarily in Santa Rosa County. Correspondents include Lex Green, Bob Sikes,
Millard F. Caldwell, Claude Pepper, Charles Andrews; Florida Governors LeRoy
Collins, Spessard L. Holland, Fuller Warren; and John C. Malone, Ashley Pace,
and J. Edgar Hoover.
Organizations include
the Norman A. Garrett American Legion Post, the Florida Democratic Party
(1958), the First Baptist Church of Milton, Florida, the Florida Baptist
Convention, the Florida Childrens Commission, the Florida Prosecuting Attorneys
Association, the Milton Kiwanis Club, the Santa Rosa County Childrens
Committee, the Santa Rosa Tuberculosis Association, the Selective Service Board
(Milton), the State Democratic Executive Committee, and the University of
Florida Alumni Association.
Other subjects include
the Santa Rosa Beach Administration (leases and
development of Navarre Beach); the Santa Rosa County Commissioners
(roads, subdivisions, bond issues, water franchises; Eglin Air Force Base (road
and land condemnations); and the Santa Rosa County School Board (budgets, Gulf
Breeze School).
1,921 items (2.25
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Barbara Robertson.
Accession M1983-19.
Robinson, James
A.
President, University
of West Florida, 1974-1987
Honors and awards,
1972-1988, presented by organizations including the Republic of China, the
Board of Regents, and the Republic of Korea.
64 items (4.0
c.f.).
Accession M1987-14.
Robinson, James
A.
President, University
of West Florida, 1974-1987
Personal papers,
1970-1987, constituting correspondence files
as President of the University of West Florida, arranged
chronologically.
15,438 items (3.85
c.f.).
Accession M1992-16.
Rogers, David J.
Botanist; University
Professor.
Personal papers,
1959-1977, chiefly of published articles, essays and publications in the fields
of genetics, taxonomy, botany, and computer applications in these fields.
32 items.
Accession M1981-38 SC.
Rogers, John
Photocopy with
transcript; A.L.S., July 22, 1780, Kaskaskia, Illinois Territory, to George
Rogers Clark, with news of the Spanish occupation of Mobile and siege of
Pensacola.
1 piece. Original owned by the St. Louis Historical
Society.
Accession M1968-11/92.
Rolfs Family
Papers
Correspondence,
photographs, business records and general papers of Gerhard Rolfs (1870‑1964),
his wife Gila (Gonzalez) Rolfs (1875-1977), and other members of the Rolfs and
Gonzalez families. Includes papers
relating to their wedding and visit to Germany, 1905; family correspondence,
1906‑1918; and Mrs. Rolfs's diary of a trip to Germany, 1931.
Mr. Rolfs, an official
with the German‑American Lumber Company, was German Vice‑Consul in
Pensacola; included are miscellaneous papers on company affairs, 1914‑1923;
his letter book, 1914‑1918; and records of timber leases, 1915‑1916,
in Calhoun, Jackson, Washington and Bay counties. With copy of Pensacola Opera House program, 1917, featuring Sarah
Bernhardt, and papers relating to the celebration of Mrs. Rolfs's 100th
birthday, 1975.
938 items. Gift of Mrs. Gerhard Rolfs and Mrs. Jessie
Stille.
Accession M1977-06,
M1977-02.
Rosasco Family
Papers
Business records,
correspondence and general papers relating to the Rosasco family of Pensacola,
Milton and Bagdad, 1854‑1976. Originating in Genoa, Italy, the family
first settled in California, 1850‑1861, then resettled in Florida about
1885, where it conducted a large shipping and lumbering business. The papers relate chiefly to William
Sebastian Rosasco I (1855‑1931); his wife, Ada Bronnum Rosasco (1855‑1927);
their son, William S. Rosasco II (1895‑1944); daughter-in-law, Ethel
(Paderick) Rosasco Thomas (1899‑1974); and grandson, William S. Rosasco
III (b. 1929). The papers reflect the
commercial, social and civic activities of the family, with emphasis on the
Rosasco Brothers Company and its shipping activities; the development by Peter
(Pedro) Rosasco of the Bay Point Mill Company, in Santa Rosa County; and other
interests of the family.
Includes ledgers and
business papers of Rosasco Brothers, Pensacola, 1881‑1939; accounts of A.
T. Rosasco, of Genoa, Italy, and papers relating to barging and tugboating,
1941‑1958. With genealogical
notes on the Rosasco, Paderick and Bronnum families, 1842‑1927; papers of
Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Rosasco II, 1910‑1950, with correspondence, 1910‑1944,
relating to the Revellers of Ariola; papers relating to the Pensacola Port
Authority, 1943‑1945, the Aiken Towing Company and Santa Rosa Lumber
Company, 1944‑1961; and various family photographs.
With undated
autobiographical note by F. H. Cobb; papers relating to the Bagdad Land and
Lumber Company, the Robinson Point Lumber Company, and other firms, 1908‑1936;
notes on the lumber industry in the Bagdad area; correspondence, 1930‑1939,
between A. T. Rosasco, Genoa, Italy, and W. S. Rosasco I (and II), of
Pensacola; papers relating to the libeling of the bark "Launberga,"
1917; correspondence of Ethel Paderick Rosasco Thomas, including letters of
Sidney J. Catts, William Halsey, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Eleanor Roosevelt,
Chester Nimitz, Robert. L. F. Sikes, Fuller Warren, Adm. Forrest Sherman,
Charles 0. Andrews, and Claude Pepper; and documents relating to the
establishment of the Recreation Center for servicemen in Pensacola, 1941. With correspondence and papers of W. S. Rosasco
III, including records of his service in the Boy Scouts of America and of his
business and civic activities in Santa Rosa County.
83,500 items (4.6
c.f.) and 56 volumes. Gift of Mrs.
Ethel Paderick Rosasco Thomas and William S. Rosasco, III.
Accession M1968-4,
M1969-04, M1972-10, M1977-03.
Rosasco, William
S., III
Personal papers,
including genealogical materials, records of the Santa Rosa Lumber Company, the
Pensacola Brikcrete and Block Company, the Milton Exchange Hotel; Mr. Rosasco's
papers as a delegate to the 1984 Democratic National Convention, including the
John Glenn for President campaign in Florida, with videotape of CNN interviews
and coverage; the World Trade Council of Northwest Florida and its trade
mission to German; and Mr. Rosasco's campaign for the Florida Senate, 1986; and
other records reflecting personal and business activities in Northwest Florida,
Milton, and Santa Rosa County.
With additional
research materials on the Rosasco Family and lineage, 14th century to present,
including research on the Danish ancestry, the Monichen Family, the Bronnum
Family, and Bishop Sixtus Ademsen Aspach.
15.0 c.f. Gift of William S. Rosasco III.
Uncataloged.
Accession M1990-13,
M1980-12.
Rosasco, William
S., III. Federal Savings and Loan
Papers.
Personal papers,
1957-1960, of William S. Rosasco, III, concerning the planning and application
papers for a federal savings and loan association in Milton, Florida,
1957-1960. Records include biographical
statements of the Board of Directors, correspondence and chronological files,
newspaper clippings, and related information on the Savings and Loan industry
in 1959.
204 items (.26
c.f.). Gift of William S. Rosasco III.
Accession M1991-01.
Rosasco, William
S., III. First National Bank of Santa
Rosa Papers.
Personal papers, 1981-1985,
of William S. Rosasco, III, concerning the planning, establishment, and opening
of the First National Bank of Santa Rosa, Milton, Florida. Includes Board of Directors' records,
correspondence with federal regulators, newspaper clippings, and related
materials concerning bank operations and policies.
809 items (.70
c.f.). Gift of William S. Rosasco III.
Accession M1990-14.
Rosasco, Pietro
Luigi (1867-1947)
Historical notes on
the Bay Point Mill Company, 1904-1925, with other papers relating to Pietro
Rosasco and the firm.
4 items. Gift of Mr. Walter Rosasco.
Accession M1973-9/2.
Rosasco-Soule,
Adelia
Author; Poet Laureate
of West Florida, 1986-1988.
Personal papers
chiefly consisting of manuscript and typescript literary works including short
stories about her life and career, travel diaries, and other writings about the
Rosasco family, French customs and habits, Nepal, Italy, Yugoslavia,
Washington, D.C., and growing up in Bay Point, Milton, and Pensacola.
264 items (.88
c.f.). Gift of Adelia Rosasco-Soule.
Accession M1981-10.
Rucker, Brian R.
History of Santa Rosa
County, 1821-1860, Ph.D. thesis for Florida State University, 1990.
901 leaves (photocopy)
(.35 c.f.). Original manuscript owned
by writer. Accession M1990-09.
Rucker, Brian
Photocopy typescript
transcription of records of the U. S. Navy Meteorological Station at Pensacola,
Florida covering climate and temperatures at Pensacola, 1879-1940.
1 folder.
West Florida
Collection No. 413.
Runyan, William
B.
Family papers and
business records of the Runyan & Burgoyne Lumber Company, of Pensacola and
Manistee, Ala., 1899‑1911, and the Manistee & Repton Railroad
Company, 1907‑1911. With
correspondence of C. P. Gonzalez, a student at the University of Alabama, 1929‑1938.
400 items (.68
c.f.). Gift.
Accession M1971-07.