Pace Family
Papers
Family papers, deeds
and business records of Hardy Pace (1784-1836), Twiggs County, Georgia, his
son, Thomas B. Pace (1813‑1890), and their descendants in Escambia and
Santa Rosa counties, 1835‑1967.
Includes a variety of documents, 1890‑1920, relating to the lumber
and naval stores industries owned by James G. Pace (1867‑1948), and
genealogical notes of the Pace family in Georgia and Florida. Includes business records of the Escambia
Land & Manufacturing Company, 1910‑1919; Pace Farms, Inc., 1937‑1943;
the Avant‑Pace Company, 1920‑1939; and other family enterprises.
510 items (1.31
c.f.). Gift of Thomas M. and Ashley D.
Pace, Jr.
Accession M1968-21.
Panama Canal
Collection
Papers, 1967-1973,
concerning the issue of return of the Panama Canal to Panamanian control in
1973, including reprints of Congressional reports, statements of Congressmen,
copies of letters and other materials primarily concerning Representative
Daniel Flood, 1967-1973.
33 items. Gift of Rear Admiral (Ret.) F. Virden.
Accession M1983-12 SC.
Panton Family
Papers
Papers and records of
the Panton Family, 1785-1896, including correspondence, abstracts, deeds,
publications, and maps, concerning William Panton, James Innerarity, and John
Leslie. Emphasis is on letters between
family members, although the bulk of content is the Panton, Leslie and Company,
and attempts by the family to recover the Panton estate and payment for lands
seized by the United States government.
572 items (2.0 c.f.,
est.). Purchase. Partly cataloged.
Accession M1993-27.
Panton Leslie
& Company Collection
Editorial and research
files of Dr. William S. Coker, Editor, The Papers of Panton, Leslie and
Company. Includes an extensive body of
correspondence, business papers, court records, and other documents relating to
the British firm and its successors, John Leslie and Company, and John Forbes
and Company, 1739‑1847. The
company, under a monopoly granted by the Spanish government, engaged in an
extensive Indian trade throughout the Old Southwest, and continued under
British and American governance. The
documents in the editorial files, photocopied from depositories throughout the
world, were selectively published on microfilm (see Papers of Panton, Leslie
& Company, this Guide).
The papers touch
virtually every aspect of frontier life in Spanish and British Florida and
adjacent states. In addition to records
of the company, the collection includes exhaustive documentation from other
sources, historical publications, and writings (1900-1987) about the company,
its massive trading empire in the Southeast United States, and company trading
posts throughout present-day Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, and operations in
Tennessee, South Carolina, Cuba, the Bahamas, and London. Headquarters of
the Company was Pensacola, Florida.
The emphasis of the
collection is on Spanish‑American relations with the Upper and Lower
Creeks, Seminole, Choctaw, Chickasaw and Cherokee tribes; the correspondence of
members of the firm, including William Alexander (d. 1799), John Forbes (1769?‑1823),
Thomas Forbes (d. 1808), John
Forrester, James Innerarity (1770?‑1847), John Innerarity (1783‑1854),
John Leslie (1749?‑1803), Robert Leslie (1758?‑1798), Alexander
McGillivray (1750‑1793), William Panton (1742?‑1801), and William
Simpson (d. 1813); papers of related companies, such as Forbes, Munroe
(Nassau), E. & J. Gairdner (Charleston), MacKenzie & Glennie (London),
and Mather & Strother (Mobile); and U.S. officials such as Richard K. Call,
Henry Dearborn, Benjamin Hawkins, Andrew Jackson, Joseph M. White, and James
Wilkinson.
Includes
correspondence of British (and Spanish) East Florida officials including
Patrick Tonyn, Thomas Brown, Vicente Manuel de Zespedes, Juan Nepomuceno Quesada,
Enrique White, Juan de Estrada, Sebastian Kindelan and Jose Coppinger; and
Spanish West Florida and Louisiana, including Arturo O'Neill, Vicente Folch y
Juan, Francisco de St. Maxent, Matheo Gonzalez Manrique, Jose Masot, Jose Maria
Callava, Esteban Miro, Baron de Carondelet, Manuel Gayoso de Lemos, and Marques
de Casa Calvo.
With papers relating
to William Augustus Bowles, Louis Milfort, Chief Perryman, Peter McQueen,
Edward Nicolls, George Woodbine, Robert C. Ambrister, Alexander Arbuthnot,
Colin Mitchell, Edmund Doyle, and William Hambly.
A portion of the
collected papers were microfilmed (see Papers of Panton, Leslie & Company,
this Guide). In addition to the
papers and research files, the microfilm research collection numbers 525
reels. Where possible, these have been
described elsewhere in this Guide; nearly 100 reels are of Spanish
archival records from archives in Seville, Madrid, and Simancas, Spain.
31 c.f. and 525
microfilm reels. Gift of Dr. William
S. Coker.
Accession M1986-10.
Papers of Panton,
Leslie & Company
Microfilm set of the
records of the company, 1783-1847, compiled by Dr. William S. Coker, with
accompanying guide which lists the materials chronologically with notes on
writer, receiver, date, place, and content.
Microfilm No.
946. Sets are available in both the
main library and in Special Collections.
Parker, Jeanie
Bell
Records concerning the
history of Allie Yniestra school and its Parent-Teacher Association, 1931-1966,
including newspaper clippings, World War II Scrapbook, and other materials.
31 items. Gift of Jeanie Bell Parker
Accession M1976-10 SC.
Parker Family
Papers
Microfilm of 144
research materials concerning the Parker and allied families of Bay,
Washington, Jackson, Escambia and Dade Counties, Florida. Includes photocopies, typescripts,
genealogical forms and charts, census forms, family papers, and other items
researched or collected by Linda Pazics Kleback, for the Parker Family Reunion
in 1990.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Gift of Linda Pazics Kleback.
Accession M1992-07.
Parkin, Thomas
Bound scrapbook of
notes, writings, newspaper clippings, maps, and other materials concerning
Peru, Panama, Colombia, and South America, 1874-1905. Manuscript narrative may document Parkin's 1907 trip to Peru, however
it is written in the third person and is possibly taken from published sources.
1 volume (.18
c.f.).
Accession M1989-16.
Parramore Family
Records including
notations, clippings, and related material of the Parramore Family of North
Carolina, Georgia, and Pensacola, Florida, collected by Mrs. Henry
Parramore. Includes family Bible (1828)
with several pages of genealogical data.
23 items (.35
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Ruth T. Rogers.
Accession M1992-05.
Paterson, Daniel
(1738-1825)
[Maps] Cantonment of
His Majesty's forces in N. America... New York, 29 March 1766; with October 11,
1765 edition also. Shows British
military bases and troop strengths including West Florida.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Original in the British Museum,
Add. 11,287.
Panton, Leslie &
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 25.
Patterson,
Russell G.
Papers, 1935-1943,
consisting of a travel log or chronicle of the "Pagan Moon," a
37-foot schooner on a cruise from Pensacola to Havana, Cuba, and return, 1935;
a travel log of a trip, New York to Asmara, East Africa, 1942; and photograph
albums on trips to Africa and Arabia.
These include scenes of Aden, Eritrea, Kenya, Uganda, Abyssinia, Egypt,
and elsewhere in Africa. A second group
of photographs cover the Casablanca Conference and other World War II battle
scenes. Subjects include Generals
Montgomery, Eisenhower, B. O. David (only Black American General), Franklin
Delano Roosevelt, Algiers, New Guinea, King George VI, Dunkirk, Eleanor
Roosevelt, Guadacanal, and the Pensacola Bay Bridge.
168 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. R. G. Patterson.
Accession M1968-20.
Pearce, George
UWF Emeritus Professor
of History
Personal papers
chiefly of research files and materials collected on the history of the United
States Navy in Pensacola, 1826-1911, including publications, articles,
microfilm, archival records, and similar items.
2.0 c.f., est. Gift of Dr. George Pearce.
Uncataloged.
Accession M1992-04.
Peck, John
(Capt.)
Letter, March 20,
1770, from N. B(rown). and Co., Providence, Rhode Island, instructing Captain
Peck on the sale of cargo and the sloop Cumberland or Three Friends at
Pensacola.
1 item. Original owned by the John Carter Brown
Library.
Accession M1968-11/62.
Pensacola
A collection of single
items and files pertaining to Pensacola including publications, photocopies,
correspondence and other materials.
Major items in the collection have been described elsewhere in this Guide,
however users should look at the annotated collection inventory for additional
materials.
Accession M1968-11,
M1968-13.
Pensacola. City of Pensacola.
Small group of various
ledgers; includes paving installments, 1937-1941, 1951-1952; state and county
redemptions, 1939-1957; sanitary sewer bond book, 1921; lists of lands sold for
nonpayment of taxes, 1916-1940.
9 ledgers. Gift.
Accession M1988-07.
Pensacola and
Georgia Railroad Company
Minutes of proceedings
of stockholders, with report of the president and directors at their meeting
held in Tallahassee, December 3, 1856.
Microfilm, 1 reel. Original held at University of
Florida Library.
Special Collections
Microfilm No. 1174.
Pensacola Altrusa
Club
Records and papers,
1953-1983, of the Pensacola Altrusa Club, also known as the Altrusa Club of
Pensacola, including correspondence, publications, minutes, newsletters, a history of the Club by Maude Hollowell,
and records concerning the clubs in Districts 3 and 4, and Altrusa
International.
4,608 items (3.85
c.f.). Gift of Mary Wesley.
Accession M1982-30.
Pensacola Art
Center
Records, 1919-1982,
consisting of publicity files and newspaper clippings of events and exhibits,
brochures, photographs, scrapbooks, guest books, and related materials
concerning the history of the Center, the Pensacola Art Association, the
Pensacola Art Club, and the Pensacola Museum of Art. Includes scrapbook of photographs of actor Charlton Heston and
family touring Peniscola, Spain, 1961, during filming of El Cid.
1,112 items (1.33
c.f.). Gift of Mary Takach.
Accession M1983-10.
Pensacola Arts
Council
Papers, 1975-1979,
including correspondence, publicity, newspaper clippings, programs, and other
materials.
134 items (.63 c.f.).
Accession M1979-05.
Pensacola Board
of Realtors
Records pertaining to
the development of the Multiple Listing Service, 1952-1962, including minutes,
listing applications, listing newsletters, and related items with descriptions
of Pensacola homes and real estate.
150 Items.
Accession M1983-11 SC.
Pensacola Dairy
Company
Business records and
history, 1911-1975, including customer ledgers, newspaper clippings, and other
materials on the company and its successor, The Dairy Bar, operated by the
brothers Nathan and Bennie Bear. With
additional materials about Ida Dean Grae, a sister, and skilled weaver and
dyer.
Nathan and Bennie Bear
arrived in Pensacola in 1910 from Warsaw, Poland via New York. The Company was located at 131 East Gregory
Street.
18 items. Gift of Pearl Eskin.
Accession M1975-08.
Pensacola Equal
Suffrage League
Records, 1914-1918,
including correspondence, membership lists, telegrams, and newspaper clippings,
as well as reports and letters from the Florida Equal Suffrage Association, the
Men's Equal Suffrage League of Orlando, the Southern States Woman Suffrage
Conference, and the National American Woman Suffrage Association.
See also photocopy of
letter of Elizabeth Stoner, Washington, D.C., January 31, 1915 addressed to
"Pensacola Suffragists" on actions in the U.S. House of
Representatives in Accession M1968-13, No. 133.
200 items. (Folder 38 of the Murphy Papers)
Accession M1968-02.
Pensacola-Escambia
Development Commission Records
Records, 1980-1982, of
the Pensacola-Escambia Development Commission, including minutes, reports,
correspondence, and other materials concerning the development of Ellyson
Field, creation and appointment of first Executive Director, and related work
of the Commission in promoting industrial development in Pensacola. Subjects include Panhandle League of Cities,
taxation, annexation, fire protection and government services, Human Relations
Commission, revenue studies, and United Way of Escambia County. Key individuals include C. E. Teasely, Larry
N. Walker, Vince Whibbs, and Donald L. Whitman.
138 items (1.79
c.f.).
Accession M1992-01.
Pensacola Junior
College Collection
Records and
publications, 1963- , including
student handbooks, directories, newsletters, Preview, and related
materials.
240 items (1.4
c.f.).
Accession M1983-21.
Pensacola Letters
Small group of photocopy
letters written from Pensacola between 1825 and 1852. Subjects and correspondents include Henry Marie Brackenridge, Lt.
Richard H. Morris, W. L. Campbell, J. G. Williams, the Marines in the Pensacola
Navy Yard, the U.S.S. Raritan, and John Hutchinson.
7 items. Gift of Charles L. Booher.
Accession M1990-06 SC.
Pensacola Lions
Club
Records, 1928- , including minutes, correspondence,
membership records, and related materials about the club's history and
activities in Pensacola, Florida.
Includes publication files of the weekly Bulletin and the Florida
Lion. Subjects include services for
the blind, the Naval Air Training Bases (1945-1946), and the Salvation Army of
Pensacola.
3,542 items (2.4
c.f.). Gift of Pensacola Lions Club.
Accession M1987-17.
Pensacola Little
Theatre
Scrapbooks, programs,
photographs and miscellaneous papers, 1938‑1970. Includes file of its program, the Call
Board, 1946‑1970; chronological files of past performances, 1938‑1970;
and publications of the Music Study Club, Pensacola, 1927‑1970.
2,881 items and 9
scrapbooks (3.75 c.f.). Gift of Mrs.
Vera Lawbaugh and Gerald Quina.
Accession M1970-03.
Pensacola Lost Neighborhoods Collection.
Records, 1999- , consisting of newspaper clippings, correspondence, and supporting materials. The Pensacola Lost Neighborhoods Collection consists of a series of newspaper columns and supporting materials from the Pensacola News Journal in February and March, 1999 highlighting the areas of the Tanyard, West Hill or Belmont-Devilliers, and Hawkshaw, primarily African-American neighborhoods of Pensacola, Florida, with emphasis on their history and social life, 1900 through the 1950s. Includes letters and reminiscences of Jean Badgett Burgess, Ida Y. Coleman, Victoria Gaines Grasty, Neil Graham Hibbert, Diane Gaines Jackson, Rita E. Jones, Callie (Nix) Martin, Brenda Davis Ricks, Helen Smith, and Theresa Taylor. Series writers and editors included Elizabeth Trevor Buchinger and Michael Ryan.
35 pieces. Oversize folder. Gift of Pensacola News Journal, 1999.
Accession M1999-01.
Pensacola
Maternity Home
Scrapbook, 1941-1949,
for the Pensacola Maternity Home, also known as the Pensacola Maternity
Hospital including newspaper clippings, photographs, and news of its staff and
women auxiliaries.
1 scrapbook. Gift of Mrs. Gertrude Johnson Scott.
Accession M1984-14.
Pensacola
Mountains
Photocopies of
research materials by Marion Viccars on the history of the naming of the
Pensacola Mountains in Antarctica.
1 folder (9 leaves).
West Florida
Collection No. 392.
Pensacola Music
Association
Records, 1947-1964,
including event programs and photographs.
The Association presented musical artists including opera singers,
quartets, chamber and philharmonic orchestras and other musical events in
Pensacola. Select artists include Duke
Ellington, Marcel Marceau, Max Rudolf, and Beverly Sills.
141 items (.36
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Nathan S. Rubin.
Accession M1990-11.
Pensacola Navy
League Records
Records, 1946-1983,
including minutes, reports, correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings,
and files concerning the history and activities of the organization. Subjects and correspondents include carrier
cruises, the foreign flight student program, golf tournaments, the Naval Sea
Cadet Corps, Navy Day, NJROTC Field Days, Ellyson Field, Saufley Field, Whiting
Field, the Pensacola Naval Air Station, and the U.S.S. Monterey, Antietam,
Independence, and Tweedy; a large biographical file contains information on
prominent Naval personnel on the national and local levels, and correspondents
include Spessard L. Holland, George Smathers, Bob Sikes, Raymond C. Dyson, Dave
Johnson, Hugh J. Leitch, Stockton B. Colt, James M. Sheffer, John B. Connally,
and Eddie Rickenbacker.
9,826 items (5.04
c.f.). Gift of Warren M. Briggs.
Accession M1983-03.
Pensacola Navy
Yard
Manuscript journal,
1876-1879, of C. A. Higgins, Chief Engineer, covering labor costs, stores, and
other information for the Engineering Department and its Machine Shop, Pattern
Shop, Boiler Shop, Foundry, and Copper Shop.
Detailed entries cover
costs of labor, loans of equipment, receipts of tools and stores, hours and pay
for specific jobs, coal used, inventories of tools and items drawn from stores,
and expenses for and boiler drawings for the U. S. Tug Rose.
1 item. Gift of Robert Booher, Jr.
Accession M1981-16 SC.
Pensacola Opera
House
A collection of
photocopies of programs, broadsides and general papers of the Pensacola Opera
House, 1898‑1930, collected by Mrs. D. B. Smith with some programs from
New Orleans and from the Saenger Theater of Pensacola. With additional research and history of the
Opera House by Marion Viccars.
Arranged in 3 volumes
(.90 c.f.).
Accession M1969-10.
Pensacola
Philatelic Society
Records, 1957-1974,
including minutes, correspondence and other papers.
125 items (.34 c.f.).
Accession M1975-01.
Pensacola Police
Department
Monthly crime reports
and statistics, 1973-1987.
.7 c.f.
Accession M1968-13/43.
Pensacola Police
Department
Police Call books and
a Warrant book, 1909//1928, with arrests listing the name, location, and City
Code number under which each arrest was made; with notes of fire alarms telephoned
in from call boxes.
5 volumes. Gift of James C. Davis.
Accession M1979-06.
Pensacola
Printing Company
Correspondence and
imprints, 1950‑1964; political broadsides; issues of the Pensacola
Standard, 1941-1960. With
correspondence of M. E. B. Jones relating to State elections of 1950, and the
Presidential election of 1960, including correspondence of Fuller Warren,
George Smathers, and others; notes on the history of Whitfield Memorial Baptist
Church, 1905‑1960; and papers relating to the strike of the Pensacola
Typographical Union, 1964.
366 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of the Company.
Accession M1970-07.
Pensacola Quilter’s Guild
Records, 1987- , including minutes, membership records, newsletters, scrapbooks, videotapes and photographs concerning the organization as well as its sponsorship of quilt shows and the Florida Heritage Quilt Project. Includes materials of related regional sewing craft organizations including the Emerald Coast Fiber Arts Guild, the Gulf Coast Stitchery Guild, the Gulf Coast Weavers Guild, and the Gulf Coast Quilting Association. Subjects include American fabric arts, arts and crafts, and American stitchery, both contemporary and historical.
Includes photographs and records of Panhandle Florida quilts recorded as part of the Florida Quilt Heritage Project to document quilts, 1800-present held in private hands.
1,329 items. 6.85 c.f. Gift of Pensacola Quilters Guild Board, 1998.
Accession M1998-08.
Pensacola-Related
Imprints
Microfilm of five
Pensacola imprints including statements of Stephen Russell Mallory (1851,
1855); constitution of the Hope Hook and Ladder Fire Company (1873); bylaws of
the Damon Lodge No. 13, Knights of Pythias (1887); and constitution of
Pensacola Lodge, No. 4, International Order of Odd Fellows.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Originals at P. K. Yonge Library
of Florida History, Gainesville.
Accession M1985-11 MF.
Pensacola Rotary
Club
Records of the
Pensacola Rotary Club, 1915- ,
including minutes, correspondence, newsletters, membership files, audiotapes,
scrapbooks and related materials.
Includes audiotapes of speakers and programs; see the collection
inventory for a full list of topics and individuals.
5,035 items (3.15
c.f.). Gift of the Pensacola Rotary
Club.
Accession M1974-05.
Pensacola
Shipbuilding Company
Papers, 1917-1921,
including photographs, maps, and other information. This company, located on Bayou Chico, built ships for the U. S.
Merchant Marine during World War I.
82 items (.45
c.f.). Gift of Dr. William Miller.
Accession M1976-01.
Pensacola Sources
Research, 1822-1842,
on Pensacola and West Florida compiled from issues of the Niles National
Register and the Army and Navy Chronicle. Includes photocopies of excerpts about annexation of West Florida
by Alabama; the territorial legislature; naval news, including the arrival of
ships, crews, obituaries of naval personnel; commerce; the arrival of Andrew
Jackson in 1818; and yellow fever.
33 items.
West Florida
Collection Nos. 356 and 357.
Pensacola
Symphony Orchestra
Records, 1954-1978,
including correspondence, minutes, financial records, newspaper clippings, and
publications.
83 items and 20
folders (2.00 c.f.).
Accession M1974-19.
Pensacola-Tallahassee
Diocesan Council of Catholic Women
Records, 1939- , including newspaper clippings,
scrapbooks, photographs, and other records of the organization. Records cover history of the Council
including Diocese changes and organizational changes of the Council as a part
of the Mobile Diocese (to 1954), the Mobile-Birmingham Diocese (1955-1968), the
St. Augustine Diocese (1969-1975), and the creation of the
Pensacola-Tallahassee Diocese in 1976.
Subjects include the
National Council of Catholic Women, the Florida Council of Catholic Women, the
International Year of the Woman (1976) and related DCCWs in other West Florida
towns.
Many of the materials
also cover the history of various Catholic churches and parishes, their
priests, and activities in the community.
Includes materials about Maria Von Trapp's appearance at the 1961
Mobile-Birmingham annual meeting, and a photograph of Mother Teresa taken at
the 1976 meeting. Subjects include
abortion and the Equal Rights Amendment.
351 items and 11
scrapbooks (.68 c.f.). Gift of the
Diocesan Council, Mrs. John Geist and Mrs. Elaine S. Sheppard.
Accession M1988-09.
Pensacola Yacht Club
Records, 1934-1976,
including programs, newspaper clippings, photographs, and other materials
concerning club activities, regattas, the Gulf Yachting Association, and the Jib
Sheet newsletter; includes materials and memorabilia of Henry and Virginia Hilton-Green
and the St. Petersburg/Havana yacht races of 1935, 1936, 1941, and 1948.
51 items (1.31
c.f.). Gift of Earl Lanneau.
Accession M1982-12.
Penton, Frank
Personal papers,
notes, and photographs concerning the history of Santa Rosa County. Includes material on Floridatown, Pace,
Mulatto, Avalon Beach, and various lumber mills and industries.
25 items. Gift of Mr. Frank Penton.
Accession M1981-33 SC.
Peruvian
Collection
Publications,
imprints, illustrations, maps, slides, artifacts, and other materials relating
to Peruvian history and life assembled from a variety of sources by Ronald M.
J. Gordon. The library of Mr. Gordon
about Peru was cataloged into the UWF library collections; a listing of the
library is available in this collection.
With typescript manuscripts "The other side of the mountain; or the
air conquest of the Peruvian Amazon" (1947) and "Intimate glimpses of
Peru under Leguia and the Revolution of August 22, 1930: by Captain H. B. Grow,
Inspector General of Aviation in Peru".
245 items (1.20
c.f.). Gift of Capt. Harold B. Grow.
Accession M1968-07.
Pfeiffer Family
Papers, 1891-1963,
includes newspaper clippings, school records, and other materials of Edgar W.
Pfeiffer (1926-1943), Gertrude Pfeiffer Jorden (1919-1954), Mary Elizabeth
Briggs Council Pfeiffer (1927-1963), and related materials of the Joseph C.
Pfeiffer, Sr. family of Pensacola.
Includes school records for Sacred Heart Academy and Pensacola High
School; dance and social invitations to area clubs, 1926 1930; information on
Pfeiffer's Bakery; and papers of related Jorden and Wigand families.
126 items (.45
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Ann Kell Hurd.
Accession M1983-23.
Pfeiffer, Herman
J. M. (b.1900)
Historical notes of
the Pfeiffer family of Pensacola, ca. 1869‑1960. Includes papers relating to the Immanuel
Lutheran Church, Rev. J. F. W. Reinhardt, and genealogical and biographical
studies of prominent members of the Pfeiffer family.
60 items. Gift of Mr. Pfeiffer.
Accession M1968-13/41.
Pfeiffer Printing
Company
Business records, 1940‑1968;
customer sample book, ca. 1962; miscellaneous printed works, 1961‑1971. Includes examples of printed ephemera,
letterheads, broadsides, and serial publications; papers relating to local
political activities, including campaign posters of Reubin Askew; and a wide
variety of printed works by civic and cultural organizations.
3,645 items (6.00
c.f.). Gift of the Pfeiffer Printing
Company.
Accession M1976-09.
Phillips Family
Papers
Photocopies of
materials concerning Dr. Lawrence C. Phillips including newspaper clippings,
recipes, obituary notices with additional materials concerning Ian Phillips,
Occie Clubbs, and historic homes of Pensacola.
29 items. Originals in the possession of Miss Portia
Phillips.
Accession M1982-02 SC.
Photograph
Collections
Photographs, drawings,
engravings and slides of West Florida scenes and subjects, ca. 1750‑present,
throughout the ten county region, with emphasis on Pensacola and environs, 1890‑present. Includes portraits of West Florida
residents, public buildings, street scenes, homes, business establishments,
churches, and views of the waterfront. Files are arranged by county, city, and
subject. However researchers should
realize that many of the manuscript collections include photographs and visual
works in addition to other photograph collections such as the glass plate
negative collection and University of West Florida photographs.
Altogether the
Department has nearly 30,000 photographs in various
collections. Researchers should
begin with the central "user file" of photographs, and proceed to
consult collections and books for other visual works.
Pierpont, J.
Harris (1864-1943)
Pensacola physician;
son of "Jingle Bells" composer.
Papers, 1893-1940,
including commissions as vice-consul for Argentina at Pensacola, 1893, 1902,
1906, and 1940, signed by U. S. Presidents Grover Cleveland, Theodore Roosevelt
and F. D. Roosevelt; sketchbooks of bacteria, 1899; and a physicians day-book,
with names of patients, dates visited, and treatment, 1886-1889.
10 items. Gift of Mrs. M. M. Marple.
Accession M1974-14.
Pine Level
Baptist Church, Jay, Florida
Minutes and financial
records, 1927‑1945.
1 volume
(photocopy). Original owned by Pine
Level Baptist Church.
Accession M1975-7/15.
Pintado Papers
Typescript copy of
translations of originals in East Baton Rouge Parish Courthouse, 1768‑1862,
containing information on British, French and Spanish land grants in West
Florida. Done by the Federal Writers
Project, the papers consist of seventeen books, four memo booklets, and
eighteen bundles of papers, reduced to eleven volumes in the WPA translation.
See also the entry for
the Archives of the Spanish Government of West Florida in this Guide for
additional information.
Microfilm, 5
reels. Originals owned by Louisiana
State University Library.
Microfilm No. 226.
Pintado Papers
Papers, 1781-1842, of
Vincente Sebastian Pintado (1774-1829), alcalde, commandant, and surveyor general of Spanish West Florida from
1799 to 1817. The bulk of materials
relates to land surveys, land purchases, and deed covering the period 1800 to
1817. Correspondence includes copies of
his outgoing letters as well as letters from Carlos de Grand-Pre, Captain
Francisco Rivas, Ira C. Kneeland, Christoval de Armas, Manuel Gayoso de Lemos,
Carlos Trudeau, Christopher Bolling, Vincent Folch, Manuel Lopez, Antonio
Cruzat, and Juan Morales. Includes
information on the Nicolls raid in the Apalachicola River area and the Kemper
brothers' raids in Louisiana in 1804-5.
With sixty-two maps
and plat maps of the coastal area from West Florida to the Mississippi River,
with special attention to the Baton Rouge, Feliciana, Mobile, and Pensacola
districts. Among the papers is a list
of vegetation found near Perdido Bay (ca. 1815), a Spanish/Talapuche Indian
vocabulary, and a detailed 1813 map of Pensacola.
A detailed inventory
appears on the first reel of the microfilm.
Special Collections also has an inventory done by Dr. William S. Coker
(West Florida Collection No. 221).
Microfilm, 6
reels. Originals owned by the Library
of Congress.
Special Collections
Microfilm No. 900.
Placebo Press
Publications of the
Placebo Press, 1976-1982, including newsletters and booklets of poetry,
biographies, and other published items issued by this private press in
Pensacola, Florida. Writers include
Terri Catledge, Ann Collins, Rebecca Craig, Cecil Curtis, Mary Curtis, Julie
Weeks Dickerson, William L. Dike, Angel Falker, Naomi Dodge Haney, Amanda
Stegenga, and Pamme Stegenga. Subjects
include Easter, recipes, walking sticks or canes, poetry, reminiscences, and
short stories.
37 items (.35
c.f.). Gift of the Placebo Press.
Accession M1978-08.
Pleas, Charles
Earl (1867?-1954)
Nurseryman and
Botanist; Photographer.
Correspondence,
1935-1948, and photographs, 1895-1905, with newspaper clippings and
publications concerning his work in the development of the Kudzu vine in West
Florida. Includes glass plate negatives
of scenes in and near Chipley, Florida, including nature and plant life..
195 items and 189
negatives (1.36 c.f.). Gift of E. W.
Carswell.
Accession M1970-04.
Polk, James K.
Notes and research
files of James K. Polk used for writing his master's thesis, Pensacola
Commerce and Industry, 1821-1860.
Topics include railroads, slavery, brickmaking, sawmills, shipping, John
Innerarity, Joseph Forsyth, Arcadia Mill, descriptions of Pensacola in the
1800s, and notes on businesses and trades in Pensacola, 1820-1860, and excerpts
from the Pensacola Gazette.
1,064 items (.63
c.f.). Gift of James K. Polk.
Accession M1985-12.
Polk, James K.
One album leaf with 17
photographs of Dachau Concentration Camp (Dachau, Germany) after capture by
American forces, 1945; with typescript description of camp conditions and
information on prisoners.
5 items. Gift of James K. Polk.
Accession M1968-11/22.
Pollock, Oliver
(1737?-1823)
Letter, New Orleans,
to Bernardo de Galvez, July 7, 1781, with a four‑line verse in praise of
Galvez's capture of British Pensacola.
l item
(photocopy). Original owned by the
Missouri Historical Society.
Accession M1968-11/93.
Popham, William
Lee
Transcript of Popham
vs. U. S., No. 4698, U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, 1925. Popham was charged with fraud in the
operation of investment companies in the Apalachicola, Florida area, 1919-1924.
1 item (1,153 pp.).
West Florida
Collection No.123 (oversize).
Preston, David
Robinson (1803-1850)
Photocopies of a
journal of a Presbyterian missionary to Pensacola and to St. Charles, Missouri,
1828‑1829. Includes notes of
conditions in Pensacola and its religious activities; brief mention of his
visitations to the Escambia settlements, especially the Simpson family estate,
Woodbine; and mention of his activities in the smaller communities in southern
Alabama.
3 items. Originals owned by the University of West
Virginia Library.
Accession M1977-17 SC.
Price, Elsie
Goldsby
Personal papers and
photographs concerning the Boyett, Goldsby, Helton, McNair, and Adams families
of Myrtle Grove, Florida (now Pensacola).
Includes Pensacola High School memorabilia of 1933, and a photograph of
a water baptism by the Union Hill Baptist Church of myrtle Grove.
11 items and 25
photographs. Gift of Elsie Goldsby
Price.
Accession M1981-17 SC.
Professional
Secretaries International, Pensacola
Records, 1958- , including minutes, publications,
officer files, scrapbooks, and materials concerning its activities in
education, the annual Pensacola Secretary of the Year and Boss of the Year
events, and early years when the organization was known as National Secretaries
Association..
8 c.f. (est.).
Partly uncataloged.
Accession M1993-32.