Odd Fellows,
Independent Order of. Pensacola,
Florida
Lithographed
broadsides of the Oddfellows Friendly Society, Pensacola, 1883, 1898, and 1923.
3 items. Purchase.
Accession M1968-13/90.
Okaloosa County
Papers
A collection of single
items and folders of materials pertaining to Okaloosa County, including
imprints, publications, correspondence, photocopies, reports, and other
papers. Subjects and people include
Okaloosa Walton Junior College, the Bob Sikes Airport, environmental impact and
planning statements pertaining to Choctawhatchee River, Choctawhatchee Bay, and
the East Pass; materials on the cities of Laurel Hill, Milligan, Fort Walton
Beach, Valparaiso, and Crestview; photographs (1956-1969); Rabbit Eye
Blueberries, Weeden Island and Fort Walton ceramics and publications of William
C. Lazarus and the Fort Walton Temple Mound Museum; correspondence of W. H.
Mapoles (1929); the Fort Walton Beach Rotary Club; and correspondence of Thomas
H. Edney, 1894‑1951, with papers relating to real estate in Crestview. Detailed inventory available.
124 items (1.70
c.f.). Gifts of various donors.
Accession M1973-10.
Okaloosa-Walton
Junior College Collection
Records and papers
concerning the history and development of Okaloosa-Walton Junior College, Niceville,
Florida, 1965 to present, including catalogs, yearbooks, and other
publications.
69 items (.88
c.f.).
Accession M1983-02.
O'Neal, Fannie J.
(d. 1994)
Personal papers,
1942-1987, concerning her work as Housing Manager, NAS Whiting Field and at NAS
Pensacola. Includes correspondence,
certificates, biographical information, newspaper clippings and photographs of
housing projects and buildings at NAS Whiting Field and NAS Pensacola. Also includes some records of the
Professional Housing Management Association, 1976-1987, and the Milton Garden
Club.
343 items (.7
c.f.). Gift of Fannie J. O'Neal.
Accession M1989-04.
Oral History
Collections
Special Collections
maintains oral history collections consisting of audiotape interviews with
individuals in the West Florida region on a variety of subjects. Research collections which contain oral
histories are described individually in this Guide and indexed under
"Oral history." This group,
however, encompasses individual oral history tapes which have been
donated to the University, along with collateral materials and transcripts.
A number of oral
histories discuss the Pensacola police department and crime in Pensacola,
1912-1915; narrators include Moses Penton (Pensacola Police Chief, 1923; Escambia
County Sheriff, 1924-1934); Daisy McAllaster on
the role of women in police work; Francis W. Taylor; and Thomas Bowen,
who also discusses the fire department.
Another group covers
the Pensacola Naval Air Station, 1914-1919; these include Lelia Abercrombie, T.
T. Wentworth, Harry Carlson, Julian O. Olsen, and
A. F. Forster.
Other narrators
include W. F. Hill, C. E. Abbott, W. N. Olson, N. O. Anderson, E. Anderson, T.
S. Kennedy, Randolph Reedy, Sidney Powell, Ernest L. Madsen, and Blanch
McMillan Smith of Chipley, Florida.
.68 c.f.
Accession M1981-01.
Overman Family
"Tales Our Mother
Told." A series of family sketches
about the Overman Family of North Carolina written by a "granddaughter of
Eliza Wilson Overman."
47 leaves
(photocopies). Gift of Ernest Dibble.
Accession M1968-11/54.
Overton, Samuel
R.
Photocopies of a
letter to his uncle, John Overton, 1823, with a description of affairs in
Pensacola, with typescript transcripts.
2 items. Originals owned by the Tennessee Historical
Society.
Accession M1968-11/34