A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Napoleon

            Prints, 1813-1815, from the Pellerin workshop, Epinal, France, consisting of hand-colored woodcut prints of 'Napoleon a Montereau,' 'Napoleon au Camp de Boulogne,' and 'Napoleon Blesse a Ratisbonne.'

            3 items.            Gift of Dr. Gordon Callendar, Jr.

            West Florida Collection No. 385 (oversize).

 

 

Nash, Joseph

            Letter of appeal, 1774, to Governor Peter Chester of West Florida from a British merchant ship captain imprisoned at New Orleans by the Spanish; includes details of seizure of ship, cargo, details of prison.   Photostats with typescripts.

            2 items.  Originals owned by John Carter Brown Library, Providence, RI.

            Accession M1968-11/63.

 

 

Natchez District, Province of West Florida

            Natchez court records, 1781‑1798.  This microfilm set covers 40 volumes of Natchez chancery court records, under Spanish administration.  In 1817-1818, David Harper translated these records and others in seven volumes, lettered A through G, and these are included on the microfilm.  These records cover Spanish West Florida, Louisiana, and the Gulf Coast region, and include Spanish, French, and English documents.  Some of the original volumes have disappeared since the microfilming in 1953-1954.

            Microfilm, 24 reels.

            Microfilm No. 223.

 

 

Newcomb, Col. Warren Putnam

            Photocopy diary, 1905-1909, with brief notes of activities at Fort Monroe, Virginia; Sheridan, Illinois; Sill, Oklahoma; Governors Island, New York; and at Fort Barrancas, Florida, 1909.

            155 leaves.  Gift of Historic Pensacola Preservation Board.

            West Florida Collection No. 378.

 

 

Newspaper Collections

            Special Collections is committed to owning a copy of every issue of any newspaper published in the West Florida region, 1821-present, whether these be originals, bound volumes, microfilm, or photocopies.  At present, the collection is one of the most extensive holdings in the Southeast, with many papers which have never been placed on microfilm and regular additions of missing issues of early newspapers, as well as current growth through ongoing subscriptions.

            A sample representation of areas covered include Bay County ‑ Lynn Haven, Panama City, St. Andrews; Calhoun County ‑‑ Blountstown; Escambia County -- Century, Corry Field, Ellyson Field, Fort Pickens, Molino, Naval Air Station, Pensacola, Pensacola Beach, Saufley Field, Warrington; Gulf County ‑‑

Port St. Joe, St. Joseph; Holmes County ‑‑ Bonifay; Jackson County -- Cottondale, Graceville, Malone, Marianna; Okaloosa County ‑‑ Crestview, Destin, Eglin Air Force Base, Fort Walton Beach, Hurlburt Field, Laurel Hill, Milligan; Santa Rosa County ‑‑ Gulf Breeze, Jay, Milton, Whiting Field; Walton County ‑‑ DeFuniak Springs; Washington County ‑‑ Chipley.

            Nearly 300 titles are represented.  Catalogs of holdings are maintained in the Department, with bibliographic history maintained in the Bibliography of West Florida.

            576 linear feet.  Presented by various donors.

 

 

Newport Company Collection

            Records of the Newport Company, 1930-1931, and its subsidiaries in Pensacola, Florida including copies of articles of incorporation, stock issuances, correspondence, and related papers concerning the organization of the Newport Company, the Newport Chemical Corporation, and the E. I. DuPont de Nemours Company.  In August 1973, the name was changed to the Newport Division of Reichhold Chemicals, Inc. and the Division name was changed to Resins and Binders Division in early 1983.

            5 volumes.  Gift of Ruby M. Rogers.

            Accession M1984-15.

 

 

New Providence Missionary Baptist Church, Bagdad, Florida

            Photocopy records including history of the church and donation of its building to the Bagdad Historic Preservation Association, minutes of the congregation (1938-1941) and Sunday School records (1918-1953).  Congregation minutes report activities of the church, membership, financial reports, and policies; Sunday School records show attendance, teachers, and lessons used.

            618 items (.45 c.f.). 

            Accession M1990-02.

 

 

New York (Colony) Court of Vice Admiralty

            Records, 1701-1774, of the Vice Admiralty Court.  Includes cases and correspondence concerning the British colony of West Florida and ships and shipping of the Panton, Leslie and Company.

            Microfilm, 1 reel.   From Record Group 21, U. S. National Archives.

            Microfilm No. 153.

 

 

New York Times Mid-Week Pictorial Newspaper, 1914-1915

            Select run of the New York Times Mid-Week Pictorial War Extra, November 12, 1914 through August 19, 1915, covering World War I through photographs, maps and pictures of events around the world.

            41 items (.45 c.f.). 

            Accession M1990-10.

 

 

Nichols, William Newton

            Unpublished literary manuscripts of William Newton Nichols including two bound typescript volumes (The Saga of the Clan, Footprints on the Sands of time), one photocopy typescript (Rambling Notes on the Ancient City of Panzacola), one untitled typescript, and a group of short stories, all fictional with some set in West Florida, undated.

            5 items (.35 c.f.).   Gift of Pensacola Public Library.

            Accession M1983-24.

 

 

North Hill Preservation Society, Pensacola

            Plans, photographs and general papers relating to the Society, 1976‑1977.  Includes surveys of houses in the North Hill district, notes of restoration and zoning activities, and general correspondence.

            50 items (.9 c.f.).

            Accession M1978-09.