McClanahan,
Robert C.
Observations on the
bird life of Santa Rosa Island, 1931‑1940, as reported to the Biological
Survey of the National Park Service.
1 item
(photocopy). From the Smithsonian
Institution archives.
Accession M1968-11/90.
McCown, Alberta
Lee Davis
Pensacola author;
teacher.
Personal papers and
photographs (1913-1965) covering her education at Pensacola High School
(1913-1917) and at Duke University (1937), her activities in Campfire Girls,
and as a missionary in Argentina for the Southern Baptist Convention (1922-1926),
and literary manuscripts of her work as a poet. Other materials include Pensacola High School memorabilia
(1920-1922) of Mary Louise Davis, and records of her father Charles T. Davis
and his patent medicine business (Davis Remedy manufactured in Pensacola), as
well as numerous family photographs.
578 items (.7
c.f.). Gift of Alberta Lee Davis.
Accession M1981-09.
McCrellen, Jean
Scrapbooks, 1968-1987,
of Jean McCrellen, Pensacola, Florida including newspapers clippings primarily
concerning genealogy and family history in Pensacola and West Florida. Topics include cemetery research, families,
family reunions, surnames, and the Family Quest columns of Dot Brown from the Pensacola
News Journal. Key names and
subjects include Austen Nolf, Pat Enfinger, F. Wilbur Helmbold, G. Norman
Simons, the Quina family, Irish genealogy, Gladys Daw, Dicy Bowman, Dean
DeBolt, and West Florida Genealogical Society.
11 Scrapbooks (1
c.f.). Gift of Richard McCrellen.
Accession M1987-20.
McCrory, Mary
(1871-1941)
"History of
Jefferson County, Florida," typescript, undated. Includes reminiscences of Mrs. Helen Edwards within text.
33 leaves (ca. 1938).
Accession M1968-11/37.
McCutchin, Louisa
Eugene (b.1911)
"Beginning of the
University of West Florida." Bound
scrapbook of
newspaper clippings, pamphlets, etc., relating to the origin and
development of the University, March, 1961-April, 1965.
1 scrapbook. Gift of Mr. and Mrs. L. E. McCutchin.
Accession M1967-07.
McGill, Etta
Diaries, 1899-1908, of
Etta McGill, Selma, Alabama describing her work with YMCA, local Sunday
Schools, and activities in Selma as well as trips to University, Alabama and
New York.
6 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Dean DeBolt, 1982.
Accession M1985-09.
McGill Family
Papers of the McGill
and Suarez families of Pensacola, Florida, 1836-1962, including letters, land
deeds, promissory notes, indentures, tax receipts and other materials dealing
with Joseph Suarez and his heirs, 1836-1905, and Gerald Byrne McGill and his
family, 1905-1962. Subjects and writers
include Isaac Hulse, Stephen T. Mallory II, the Navy Yard at Pensacola; St.
John's Cemetery; Camp Ward No. 10 of the United Confederate Veterans; Spanish
Fort, Alabama and Josiah Blakely; the Louisville and Nashville Railroad and the
Nixson family.
145 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Captain H. L. McGill.
Accession M1982-21.
McKenney and
Hall's Indian Tribes of North America
Elephant folio set of
the twenty parts of Thomas L. McKenney and James Hall's History of the
Indian Tribes of North America as issued to subscribers, 1838-1843. This set was issued to William Bagley
(1789-1871) of Covington, Louisiana and Pensacola, Florida; his name and
facsimile signature appear in the list of subscribers, folio no. 20
(1843). This set has been restored by
the R. R. Donnelly Company.
Possibly the most
important work on American Indians ever published, the set contains
hand-colored engraved portraits with text on history, customs, and other
details. The engravings were taken from
oil paintings including a set of life portraits by Charles Bird King. However the original paintings were
destroyed in the 1865 Smithsonian fire.
A number of important
Southeastern tribes and chiefs are included, including important Creeks and
Seminoles. Special Collections has
additional reader copies of later editions of the work available for users in
the Rare Book Room.
Gift of Mrs. Austin K.
Doyle in memory of her great-grandfather, William Bagley.
Accession M1980-14.
McKenzie Oerting
& Company, Pensacola
Business records, 1911‑1931,
of the marine agents and suppliers owned by various members of the Oerting
family. With documents relating to the
estate of Peter J. Oerting (1815‑1912).
8 volumes.
Accession M1974-02.
McLaughlin Family
Papers
Business records,
correspondence and family papers of Elwood McLaughlin (d. 1952) and his
grandson, Henry E. McLaughlin (1918‑1965), of Pensacola. Includes extensive files of records relating
to the several railroad lines owned by the family, 1868‑1962, the most
important of which were the Pensacola & Perdido (1874), the Pensacola,
Alabama & Tennessee (1897) formerly the Pensacola-Northern Railroad, and
the Pensacola, Mobile and New Orleans (1911).
With survey profile of the line between Millview and Muscogee; papers
relating to the Gulf Ports Terminal Railway Company, 1917‑1928; and
correspondence with the Interstate Commerce Commission.
Includes speeches,
correspondence and other papers of Theodore Welch (d. 1894), general agent of
the Louisville and Nashville Railroad, ca. 1874‑1894; scrapbook of
clippings relating to the excursion, 1874, of Northern newspaper editors
through the Southern states; and Mrs. Welch's diary of a visit to DeFuniak
Springs, 1885.
2,917 items (4.20
c.f.). Gift of the family of Henry E.
McLaughlin.
Accession M1966-05.
McMeness, Patrick
Indenture providing
for the lease of 1,000 acres of land on River Amit, West Florida (Louisiana) to
Alexander Dickson for period of one year, Sept. 27, 1776. Signed and sealed on parchment, countersigned
by Thomas Livingston, Secretary, Register's Office of West Florida.
1 item.
Accession M1968-11/2.
McMillan v.
Escambia County Case File
Partial exhibit files
offered by plaintiff in the United States District Court suit, McMillan versus
Escambia County, 1977, seeking to establish single member district elections
for Escambia County Commissioners.
These files are mostly photocopies of records and reports, 1955-1977, of
both the City of Pensacola and Escambia county showing breakdowns by race in
such areas as school board members and teachers, elected officials,
appointments to committees and public boards, election poll workers, local
government employment, and allocation of road paving projects and recreational
facilities. Other materials include
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity reports, U. S. Housing and Urban Development
applications for community block development funds, affirmative action plans,
annual budget and audit reports, and federal revenue sharing applications. Additional files cover the 1959
establishment of at-large voting; campaign disclosure files for Louis L. Brown,
Peter Gindl, Charles E. Deese, Kenneth J. Kelson, Jack Kenney, Marvin Beck,
Zearl Lancaster; and the proposed charter for Escambia County.
148 items (1.53 c.f.). Gift of Larry T. Menefee.
Accession M1985-16.
McMillan School,
Pensacola, Florida
Scrapbook, 1959‑1965,
of activities of the "Teachers of Tomorrow," with miscellaneous
correspondence, photographs and imprints.
1 item. Gift of Mrs. Martha B. Lyle.
Accession M1978-07.
McMurran, Hugh L.
U. S. Army Air Forces,
Staff Sergeant.
Photocopy notebooks of
an American serviceman while being held as a prisoner of war, Stalag Luft 1,
Barth, Germany, 1944-1945; includes notes on food, camp recipes, Red Cross care
parcels, and list of his "Kriege" fellow prisoners.
1 folder.
Accession
M1968-13/114.
McNair, John
Gilbert (1889-1971)
Typescript
reminiscences of Myrtle Grove, ca. 1900‑1930; with undated notes on the
history of postal service in the community, by Randolph N. Reedy. 2
items. Gift of Hines D. McNair.
Accession
M1968-13/100.
McReynolds
(Agnes) School
Photocopies of
scrapbooks for Agnes McReynolds School, Pensacola, Florida, 1929-1948, dealing
with Parent-Teacher Association activities, school programs, the Junior Red
Cross, World War II collection drives, and related school history.
9 folders. Gift.
Accession M1983-20.
Madison, James
(1751-1836)
Papers, 1723-1859, of
U. S. President James Madison. During
his tenure in office (1809-1817), Andrew Jackson invaded Spanish West Florida
as part of the United States Army pursuit of Creeks. The Madison Papers include a number of papers on Florida and
Pensacola relations during this period before acquisition by the United States.
Microfilm, 28
reels. Originals owned by the Library
of Congress.
Microfilm No. 207.
Mallory, Cora
(1881-1973)
Correspondence and
photographs, 1861-1957, relating primarily to Stephen R. Mallory (1812‑1873),
and family. Includes newspaper
clippings about Mallory, photocopies of letters to his wife, 1862-1865 with
draft of a letter to President Andrew Johnson seeking a pardon for
Mallory. Other correspondents include
F. H. Farrar, Horace Greeley, and Charles Mallory.
63 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of the estate of Miss
Mallory.
Accession M1974-07.
Manucy, Albert
"A constructional
history of Fort Jefferson, 1846‑1874," a report prepared for
National Park Service, Region one, 1961. With notes on brick manufacturing in
Pensacola by the Bacon and Abercrombie company. Typescript.
1 item
(photocopy). Original in the National
Archives.
Accession M1968-11/30.
Map Collections
Special Collections
maintains a comprehensive map collection with emphasis on the West Florida
region, from earliest discovery to the present time. These maps include manuscripts, land surveys, topographical maps,
railroad and highway maps, city maps, gazetteers and atlases, and similar
drawings of the West Florida region, its cities and states, and the Southeast
United States.
These include
original, facsimile and photocopies of representative European maps of the Gulf
Coast and present‑day Southeastern states before 1800; maps of
communities, roads, railroads and shipping centers of North Florida and
southern Georgia and Alabama, dating from the early 19th century; plans of
Spanish and British fortifications near Pensacola; and local and regional maps
of West Florida with emphasis on Pensacola and Escambia County.
The map collections
are broken into four parts: (1)
original maps, arranged chronologically (1700s-present); (2)
photocopy/photograph copies of maps from other libraries and museums around the
world, arranged topically (1400s-present); (3) the Marion Viccars Collection
(1700s-1980) which is broken down by continent, country, and individual states
of the United States; and (4) maps (1970-present) composed chiefly of United
States Geological Survey, NASA satellite images, and official State of Florida
highway and county maps. All groups except
(4) are located in Special Collections Department.
4,000 maps.
Marston, Frank
Rutherford (d. 1918)
Correspondence,
newspaper clippings, photographs, and other materials, 1914-1931, concerning
Lieutenant Frank Rutherford Marston of Pensacola who was killed in action with
the Allied Expeditionary Forces in France, July 1918. Correspondents include Lois Mayes, Frank Allen Pattillo, and
Duncan Fletcher. Also includes papers
concerning naming of American Legion post in Pensacola after Marston and on
Mrs. Marston's trip to France to the American cemeteries in 1931. Additional items include materials on the
death of Pensacola merchant Frank Marston, and glass lantern slides of Peru,
Bolivia, Venezuela, Paraguay, and the Danish West Indies.
91 items (.7
c.f.). Gift of the estate of Frank R.
Marston.
Accession M1966-02.
Mason, Charles
Perry (1891-1971)
Naval Aviator and
Pensacola Mayor
Personal papers,
1917-1965, including materials as Naval Aviator No. 52 and as mayor of
Pensacola, 1947-1957. Includes several
personal photographs and a photograph of Franklin Delano Roosevelt in 1918.
16 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. C. P. Mason.
Accession M1972-09.
Mason, Ernest E.
(1904-1983)
Judge of the Circuit
Court and of the Court of Record.
Personal papers,
1934-1980, including correspondence, case files, circuit court opinions,
biographical information, committee files, and other papers concerning his
activities on the Florida Bar, as a circuit judge, and as a senior judge of the
Court of Record, Escambia County, Florida.
Key subjects and topics include Edward Ball, the Circuit Judges
Conference (1971-1976), the Escambia County Law Library, the First Presbyterian
Church, the National Tuberculosis and Health Association (1952-1973), and the
Okaloosa County Circuit Court (1965-1977).
Other subjects and
individuals covered include Crystal Ice Company, the Florida Democratic Party,
George Erb, the Florida League of Municipalities, Gulf Breeze Cottages,
Hydro-Gas Company of West Florida, William Frye, the Pensacola Bay Bridge, the
Airport Committee of the Pensacola Lions Club, the Okaloosa County School
Board, the Pensacola Academy, the Pensacola Paper Company, Santa Rosa County,
Santa Rosa Island, the Florida Supreme Court and the Walton County Circuit
Court.
A detailed collection
inventory is available.
10,374 items (11.64
c.f.). Gift of the Escambia County Law
Library.
Accession M1986-06.
Mason, Theodorus
Bailey Myers
Lieutenant, U. S.
Navy.
Manuscript journal,
1848-1876, concerning life in New York, at the U. S. Naval Academy, and service
aboard the U. S. S. Pensacola in the 1870s.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Original owned by the University
of Hawaii Library.
West Florida
Collection No. 177.
Matthews, Thomas
Franklin
Bridge tender,
Louisville and Nashville Railroad, Milton, Florida.
Papers, 1909-1957,
including photocopies of correspondence concerning pension, railroad passes,
genealogy of Matthews family of Santa Rosa and Holmes County, and photographs
of railroad bridge and depot at Milton.
41 items. From Originals loaned by Santa Rosa
Historical Society.
West Florida
Collection No. 549.
Melvin, Jerry
Florida Legislator,
1968-1978.
Papers, 1968-1978,
primarily correspondence, publications, and files dealing with legislative
activities.
4.0 c.f. Gift of Jerry Melvin.
Accession M1979-10.
Men's Camellia
Club of Pensacola
Records, 1937-1989,
including correspondence and newspaper clippings, registrations for camellias
originated in Pensacola, publications including the Camellia Journal
(1962-1987) and Camellia Notes (1961-1989), and biographies of club
members and presidents.
1,325 items (1.63
c.f.). Gift of John Covington.
Accession M1988-22.
Mentor Log Book
Manuscript log book of
the British ship H.M.S. Mentor, March 9, 1780 to May 17, 1781, kept by
Captain Robert Deans. The 20‑gun
vessel was stationed in Pensacola waters for several months preceding the
Spanish invasion in 1781. Entries
include mention of the arrival of Galvez's forces, notes on the scuttling of the ship, participation of the
crew in the land siege (Siege of Pensacola) and an account of the capitulation
of British forces at Fort George, May 9, 1781.
Includes 'house book' of Eliza Deans with recipes at the end of the
book, 1787. With research files and
records of James A. Servies, author of The Log of H.M.S. Mentor, 1780-1781:
A New Account of the British Navy at Pensacola (1981). Files include transcripts of log book, lists
of technical terms, maps and cruise plans plotted from the ship log, and
related nautical research.
117 items (.9 c.f.). Gift.
Accession M1975-15.
Metzger, Lewis
William
Captain, U. S. Navy;
UWF Alumnus
Personal papers,
including publications, citations, and photographs, reflecting personal and
military career interests. Subjects
include Nantucket, Massachusetts, Lenin, World War II, and General
Westmoreland.
6 items. Gift of L. W. Metzger.
Accession M1989-07.
Middlemas, John
Robert (b. 1936)
Member, Florida House
of Representatives; Panama City insurance agent.
Legislative papers,
correspondence and printed materials pertaining to his service in the Florida
House of Representatives, 1965-1970, including the proposed Florida
Constitutional Revision of 1968, Governor Claude Kirk, the Florida Library and
Historical Commission, and legislation concerning environmental and
oceanographic issues.
15.3 c.f. Gift of John Middlemas.
Accession M1974-01.
Miller, George L.
Emeritus Professor,
University of West Florida.
Papers, 1967-1982,
consisting of correspondence, publications, and records on the University and
as a member of the Political Science department.
Uncataloged. (2.0 c.f.). Gift of the Department.
Accession M1993-14.
Milner, Florence
Thiot (1879-1969)
Poet, Pensacola,
Florida
Papers, 1927-1973,
including correspondence, typescripts and drafts of poetry, subject and idea
files, genealogical information, photographs, and books containing published
works. Other subjects and
correspondents include the Milner, Thiot, Winship, and Wylly families, Henry
Harrison (1903- ), Wightman Fletcher Melton (1867-1944), the
Poetry Society of America, and the National Writers Club.
249 items (1.35
c.f.). Gift of Marjorie C. Milner and
Rosemary Milner Kiefer.
Accession M1992-13.
Milton Lodge, No.
16-F. & A. M.
Manuscript history of
this Masonic Lodge, October 31, 1846-1875, compiled by John Carlowitz, covering
history, membership, activities, and deaths of members. No history is indicated from the
"beginning of the War" January 4, 1862 to December 27, 1865.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Gift of Ralph Hewett.
Accession M1978-17.
Milton
Press-Gazette
Cash books, 1915‑1924;
correspondence, printed works and files of the newspaper, 1880‑1969.
321 items. Gift of Mrs. Mary Leonard.
Accession M1970-01.
Milton Woman's
Club
Records, 1913- , including minutes, yearbooks, annual
reports, correspondence, history files, and other records. Begun as the Milton Civic League in 1913,
the organization advocated improvements to the City of Milton including
sanitation and cleanliness. The
organization became the Milton Woman's Club in 1916.
318 items (1.08
c.f.). Gift.
Accession M1989-03.
Mississippi. Department of Archives and History
French provincial
archives, 1612‑1763; 34 volumes of transcripts, with calendars, relating
to the lower Mississippi Valley, copied from originals in Paris, 1906. These French records cover actions in New
Orleans, Mobile, Pensacola, and the West Florida region. Some of these records have been published in
book form in recent years.
Microfilm, 13
reels. Originals owned by the
Mississippi Department of Archives and History.
Microfilm No. 244.
Mississippi. Department of Archives and History
Mississippi provincial
archives, English dominion, 1763-1781; ten volumes with editor's introduction,
and transcripts of records from the Public Records Office, London, relating to
the Gulf Coast area and British administration of West Florida, 1763 until its
capture by Spain in 1780 and 1781.
Includes British administrators George Johnstone and Robert Farmar.
Microfilm, 5
reels. Originals owned by the
Mississippi Department of Archives and History.
Microfilm No.
243.
Mississippi. Department of Archives and History
Mississippi provincial
archives, Spanish dominion. Spanish
provincial archives, 1759-1820; nine volumes of transcripts relating to the
Gulf Coast area, copied from the original documents in Madrid, Seville, and
Simancas, ca. 1906. With chronological
index. Some of these records have been
published in book form in recent years.
Microfilm, 7
reels. Originals owned by the
Mississippi Department of Archives and History.
Microfilm No. 246.
Mobile,
Alabama. City Directories.
City directories
covering Mobile, Alabama for the years of 1837, 1838, 1839, 1842, 1844,
1855-56, 1856, and 1859. These give
names of residents and businesses, addresses, and other information. Special Collections also has some published
editions for later years.
Microfiche, 25
fiche. Purchase.
West Florida
Collection No. 108.
Monroe, James
(1758-1831)
Correspondence and
papers, 1758‑1839; includes documents relating to the Louisiana Purchase,
the War of 1812 in the Southern States, the acquisition of Florida; U.S.
involvement in Spanish and Indian affairs on the frontier; and the Independent
State of West Florida, at Natchez.
Microfilm, 11
reels. Originals owned by the Library
of Congress and the James Monroe Memorial Library, Fredericksburg, Virginia.
Microfilm No. 173.
Monroe, Kathlyn
Medora (1896‑1979)
Correspondence,
photographs and miscellaneous imprints, 1939‑1946. Includes notes of Miss Monroe's friendship
with British naval cadets at Pensacola Naval Air Station during World War II;
account of her journey, 1971, to renew acquaintance with her friends in
England; records of the Sunday School, First Presbyterian Church, Pensacola,
1908‑1935; and genealogical notes on the Monroe family; photos of
Pensacola Streets, 1935.
31 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Miss Kate Monroe.
Accession M1977-02.
Moreno, Elizabeth
Papers, 1878-1960,
including correspondence, financial records, and poems of Elizabeth Moreno,
1898-1925, including letters while she was a student at Converse College,
Spartansburg, South Carolina; a book of her theatrical clippings, 1910; and
programs of her recitals and piano concerts, 1950-1960. With additional records of the Moreno family
including a commonplace book of poems kept by J. N. Moreno, 1878, including
works by Stephen Russell Mallory, Jr.; business records of the Boggy Mill
Lumber Company, Pensacola, 1908‑1910; scrapbooks of H. Russell Felkel
with records of election returns and vital statistics of Pensacola and Escambia
County, 1915‑1924; a scrapbook of Clara Moreno, 1921-1922, and a
household furnishings inventory of Scarritt Moreno (42 pp.), 1922.
360 items (1.09
c.f.). Gift of Miss Moreno.
Accession M1970-06.
Moreno, Francisco
Abstract of title to
lands near Bayou Texar, Pensacola, 1835; with map of tract and contemporary
translation of the "Moreno grant," 1810.
2 items
(photocopies). Originals owned by Leon
County Courthouse.
Accession M1968-13/99.
Morton, Jackson
(1794-1874)
United States Senator
from Florida.
Collection of papers,
1874‑1951, relating to Jackson Morton, of Santa Rosa County, with text of
obituary by R. M. T. Hunter.
5 items
(photocopies). Originals owned by the
College of William and Mary Library, Williamsburg, Virginia.
Accession M1973-09/1.
Murphy Family
Papers
Correspondence,
business records, scrapbooks, maps and miscellaneous printed works relating
primarily to Pensacola and environs, 1802-1960. With photographs of Pensacola scenes and a group of about 100
volumes forming part of the original library of Dr. Fernando Moreno of
Pensacola ca. 1835‑1855.
Includes business
records of William Nichols, Marianna, 1831‑1879; Henry Whitmire, Milton,
1850‑1861; and Gideon Murphy, Milton, 1856‑1899; letters addressed
to Augustus E. Maxwell of the Confederate States Senate, 1862; financial
accounts of Charles Hobbs, of Escambia County, 1862, relating to provisions
taken by the 5th Regiment of Georgia Vols.; daybook of a general store owned by
J. A. Chastain, Marianna, 1868‑1869; and undated roll of members of the
Pensacola chapter, United Daughters of the Confederacy.
Gideon Murphy papers
include correspondence and other papers of W. H. Murphy, Miss Bertha and Miss
Pearl Murphy, and others; notes of Gideon Murphy's service in Co. E., 1st
Alabama Battalion (C.S.A.); a land grant to George A. McCall, 1858; Mr.
Murphy's records of lumbering, 1860‑1889, and other businesses in Milton,
Bagdad, and Ferry Pass; a list of logging brands, 1871; and papers relating to
the construction and maintenance of roads, 1866‑1873.
The collection was
assembled by Miss Bertha A. Murphy (d. 1967), and includes school memorabilia,
ca. 1889; notes of timber cut near Thompson's Bayou, 1909, on the Murphy lands
now forming part of the University of West Florida campus; papers relating to
sale of land at McDavid, 1918; and correspondence and other papers relating to
Miss Murphy's activities in Pensacola, 1935‑1940, including the Federal
Housing Administration, Historical Records Survey, Pensacola Art
Institute. With correspondence of
Senator Claude Pepper and others, 1941-1942, on civil defense and scrap salvage
activities in Pensacola; Miss Murphy's scrapbooks of Florida and Pensacola
interest, ca. 1924‑1949, contain numerous imprints, photographs and other
papers including notes on the Gonzalez family of Cantonment by R. P. Wilder,
the text of radio addresses on Pensacola history by T. T. Wentworth, Jr., and
letters of F. H. LaGuardia. An earlier
series of scrapbooks, 1871-1894, contain memorabilia of social and theatrical
activities in New York City. Also includes account books of O'Neill & Nall,
a general store in Pensacola, 1840‑1842; E. W. Dorr, Pensacola, 1852,
with entries of Dr. Isaac Hulse; and an unidentified store in Pensacola,
1860-1861.
1,375 items (2.04 c.f.
and 28 portfolio folders). Gift of the
estate of Miss B. A. Murphy.
Accession M1968-02.
Murphy, Frank H.
Research records of
Frank H. Murphy concerning the Bonaparte family in America and the Murat family
of Florida, including biographical sketches, journal articles, bibliographies,
and other materials.
15 items. Gift of Frank H. Murphy.
Accession M1982-05 SC.
Murray, James F.
Pensacola
Environmentalist
Personal papers,
1968-1977, including correspondence, reports, newspaper clippings, published
hearings, testimony, and other materials concerning the St. Regis Paper
Company, Cantonment, Florida and the discharge of industrial waste into Perdido
Bay, 1971-1975. Correspondents include
U. S. Senator Edward Gurney, U. S.
Representative Robert Sikes, the Pollution Control Board of Florida, the U. S.
Environmental Protection Agency, and local, state, and federal agencies in
Florida and Alabama. Also includes the
personal papers of Jean Hern Murray, 1968-1973, concerning the American
Association of University Women and their concerns about the Gulf Islands
National Seashore, pollution and development on Santa Rosa Island, and the
Santa Rosa Island Authority.
645 items (2.03 c.
f.). Gift of Jean F. Murray.
Accession M1988-14.
Music Study Club,
Pensacola, FL
Records and papers
(1921-1972), including yearbooks, meeting programs, newspaper clippings,
printed programs, and other materials concerning the Club.
393 items (.53 c.f.). Gift.
Accession M1982-16.