Ladies Library
Association, DeFuniak Springs, FL
Public Library
Association
Records, 1887-1962,
including list of members, constitution, minutes, membership fee books, guest
book listing of books borrowed and other records on the creation, history, and building
of the DeFuniak Springs Public Library.
Microfilm, 2
reels. Originals in the DeFuniak
Springs Public Library.
Accession M1980-04.
Land Records
Users tracing lands
and owners in West Florida are urged to consult the the Territorial Papers of the
United States, Florida volumes (edited by Clarence E. Carter); Spanish Land
Grants (compiled by the Works Progress Administration); the Public Lands series
of the American State Papers; land surveys, plat maps, and the Sanborn Fire
Insurance Map collections. All of these
materials are available in Special Collections and some are listed in this
guide. Check the index to this guide
under 'land' and related terms.
Landreth, John
Surveyor.
Journal of John
Landreth, surveyor, to the agency of James L. Cathcart and James Hutton, Esq.,
agents for selecting any unappropriated lands of the United States as may be
found to produce live oak and red cedar timbers suitable for naval purposes,
commenced in 1818 and ended in 1819.
A diary of a surveying
expedition to the Gulf Coast, 1818-1819, a preliminary to creation of the Live
Oak Reservation in Florida. An edited
published version by Milton B. Newton, Jr. was published in 1985.
Microfilm, 1
reel. From U.S. National Archives,
Record Group 45, Naval Records, Washington, D.C..
Microfilm No. 167.
Landrum Family
Papers
Correspondence,
diaries and papers of Frank Coleman Horton (b. 1872), of Mobile and Pensacola,
and his wife Esther Landrum Horton.
Includes papers of Judge James Landrum, family photographs and account
books, and documents reflecting the social life of the Gulf Coast in the period
1888‑1910.
With genealogical
notes on the Dickson, Coleman and Landrum families, 1819‑1940; a framed
sampler, 1807; letters of John Coleman Horton, a student at the University of
Alabama, ca. 1890; letter from family members in Mobile and Brewton, Alabama;
medical records of Dr. Stephen M. Gonzalez, 1896; cash books and records of the
Pensacola Evening Journal, 1887‑1889; criminal docket of the
Escambia County Justice of the Peace, 1899-1901; correspondence of Miss Kate
Landrum, 1905; and of a small group of Florida Newspapers.
2,007 items (1.92
c.f.). Gift of Mr. W. D. Horton.
Accession M1971-03.
Langdon, Capt. L.
L.
Captain, 1st U. S.
Artillery.
Report of action of
the Artillery at Battle of Olustee (Baker County), Florida. Manuscript report from Headquarters,
Artillery Brigade, Jacksonville, Florida to Lt. R. M. Hill, March 25, 1864.
14 items. Photostats.
West Florida
Collection No. 10.
Larned, Frank
Captain, 2nd U. S.
Artillery.
Letterbook and
miscellaneous papers, 1862‑1864, of Capt. Larned of the 2nd Artillery,
U.S. Army, Fort Barrancas, Florida.
Bound photocopy volume.
1 item. Original owned by the Virginia Historical
Society.
Accession M1968-11/89.
Lawbaugh, Vera
Aldridge Keller
Author; Editor;
Pensacola writer and teacher.
Literary writings and
editorial works, 1915-1917, 1925, including issues of The Concept,
1915-1917, a literary magazine of Converse College, Spartansburg, South Carolina,
with articles by Vera A. Keller as author and as assistant editor; includes The
Finale, yearbook of Covington High School, Covington, Georgia, 1925 which
is dedicated to Vera A. Keller, teacher of French and History.
11 items (0.35
c.f.). Gift of Museum of West Florida
History.
Accession M1981-36.
League of Women
Voters. Pensacola Chapter
Correspondence,
financial papers, scrapbooks and photographs, research files, 1950‑1977. Subjects include charter government for
Escambia County; elections and voter laws; League history, and text of the
League's survey, 1974, of the Pensacola Public Library.
817 items. (.34 c.f.).
Accession M1975-10.
Lebaron Family
Papers
Correspondence of Rev.
Earle Robert LeBaron (1900‑1972) and his father Leonard LeBaron (d.
1943), former city electrician of Pensacola, 1907-1914.
Leonard LeBaron's papers include his reports as city electrician,
1907-1914, 1931-1933; papers relating to the city's purchase of a radio station
in 1925; poetry and materials on his various inventions and patents.
Rev. Earle LeBaron
joined the Roman Catholic priesthood but resigned from the Church in 1932; he
later married and divorced, served in other denominations and as an acting
chaplain, U.S. Navy, taught at East Carolina College and conducted a radio
program in Greenville, North Carolina.
His papers cover his strained relations with the Roman Catholic Church
and later the Episcopal Church, especially over leaving the church, marrying,
and divorce. Other materials cover his
activities against integration, involvement with the National States' Rights
movement, the Socialist Party, the Association of Citizens' Councils, and the
Pensacola White Citizens Council. With
additional publications, 1952-1972, about the National Association for the
Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and the Communist threat to America. With correspondence of Rev. LeBaron with
Bishop Toolen and others, 1925, and an undated genealogical sketch of the
LeBaron family of Mobile, Alabama, and Pensacola.
1,109 items (1.2
c.f.). Purchase.
Accession M1975-12.
Leigh Papers
Letters and
correspondence, 1868-1916, of the Leigh family of Bagdad and Milton,
Florida. Consists primarily of letters
to Sue A. Leigh (later Mrs. S.A. Creary) of Bagdad from friends and relatives. Includes letters of C.H. (Hanks) Dorr
describing life as a student at the University of the South, Sewanee,
Tennessee, 1869-1871.
Subjects and
correspondents include Bellville, Columbiana, Evergreen, Haynes and Hazelwood,
Alabama; Bagdad, Bay Point, and Milton, Florida; Hopkinsville, Kentucky;
Sewanee and University Place, Tennessee; Huston, Jonesville, Powellton and San
Antonio, Texas; C.H. (Hanks) Dorr, Mrs C.B. (Beatrice) Gaylord, J.H. Hughes,
Mary Judge, Sue Leigh, Capt. J.D. Leigh, Rebecca McLean, N.A. Milton, Virginia
Martin and Hattie C. Sawyer; General Gorgas, Bishop Greene and the University
of the South.
120 items (0.35
c.f.). Gift of R. E. Neville, Jr.
Accession M1980-08.
Literary Works
Manuscripts and proofs
of various literary, historical and scholarly works produced by West Florida
people. Includes works by John Diamond,
Frederick Greenhut, Bertha Henry, Connie Marse, Carl Oldenburg, John Sherrill,
Adelia Rosasco-Soule, William James Wells, and others. Subjects include logging in Santa Rosa
County, and reminiscences of John H. Sherrill, Jr., as a prisoner of war in
Germany and Poland, November 1944 - April 1945 as a member of the 83rd Armored
Reconnaissance Battalion. Unpublished
materials may carry restrictions.
23 items (1.4
c.f.). Gift of the authors.
Accession M1975-02.
Live Oak
Reservation Papers
Draft of a brief by J.
McHenry Jones relating to the Live Oak Reservation, Gulf Breeze Peninsula; with
text of documents, abstracts and other legal papers describing ownership of the
land.
With miscellaneous
printed materials on the history of the Naval Live Oak Reservation established
in 1826; an archaeological study of the Florida Gulf Coast Indians by Randy
Head, undated; and other papers relating to the property which became part of
the Gulf Islands National Seashore in 1969.
10 items (.9
c.f.). Gift of Dr. C. J. Heinberg.
Accession M1977-11.
Lloyd, Pat
Journalist, Pensacola
News Journal.
Biographical
materials, 1969-1987, including certificates and awards.
24 items (.80
c.f.). Gift of Anne Jacobi and Lucy H.
Van Swearingen.
Accession M1987-15.
Lonely Hearts
Murders
Collection of research
materials on Martha Jule Seabrook Beck (1920-1951) and Raymond Fernandez of
Pensacola, Florida whose series of murders of 'lonely hearts clubs' attendees
in the 1940s brought national notoriety and ultimately the electric chair. Their exploits were the basis of a number of
books and movies.
15 items.
West Florida
Collection No. 609.
Look &
Morrison Collection
Collection of
photographs, newspaper clippings, and other papers of the architectural firm of
Look & Morrison, including materials of the firm of Yonge & Hart,
1926-1967. Photographs and drawings of
projects designed or built include schools, government buildings, private
residences, and related structures in Pensacola, Milton, Bonifay, DeFuniak
Springs, Fort Walton Beach, Gulf Breeze, Panama City, Marianna, Tallahassee,
and Warrington, Florida. See collection
inventory for complete list of structures.
244 items (.45
c.f.). Gift.
Accession M1983-05.
Louisville &
Nashville Railroad
Correspondence Ledger
Index volume, 1916, to
the letter-books and correspondence of the Louisville and Nashville Railroad,
Pensacola; entries arranged alphabetically by sender, with date of letter,
subject, and file number. Extensive
listing for E. O. Saltmarsh, Superintendent.
1 volume. Gift of Alan Gantzhorn.
Accession M1982-28.
Lounsberry,
Vernon L.
Captain, U. S. Army.
Photograph album, 1916
covering service along the Mexican-American border. Comprising 141 photographs showing camp scenes, border patrols,
Mexican guards at the International Bridge, Brownsville, Texas; Fort Bliss, and
Metamoros, Texas. Lounsberry notes the
cause of [his] service was the Pancho Villa raid on Columbus in March, 1916;
with additional panoramic photographs of American ships and troops of the
American Expeditionary Forces, World War I.
1 album (.18 c.f.) and
5 photographs. Gift of Dr. Earl
Watson.
Accession M1991-03.
Luna Papers
Microfilm of the
spanish documents pertaining to Don Tristan De Luna, 1559-1560, that were
partly transcribed in Herbert Ingram Priestley's The Luna Papers (1928).
1 microfilm roll. Gift of Randy Head.
Accession M1983-28.