Jackson, Andrew
(1767-1845)
Papers, 1775-1860,
includes papers relating to Jackson's invasion
and occupation of Pensacola, 1814-1815, 1818, and his activities as
Governor of Florida, as well as later years as United States President
(1829-1837).
Microfilm, 75
reels. Originals in the Library of
Congress.
Microfilm No. 199.
Jackson, Andrew
(1767-1845)
A.L.S., November 16,
1814 to Thomas Pinckney on the capture of Pensacola by Jackson's troops, the
escape of the spanish and British forces, the destruction of Fort Barrancas and
the fort on "Rose's Island."
1 item,
photograph. Original in Lilly Library,
Indiana University.
Accession M1968-11/71.
Jackson County,
Florida Papers
A collection of single
items such as publications, photocopies, imprints, and related papers
pertaining to Jackson County, Florida and the county seat of Marianna. Includes letters of Caroline Lee Hentz; a
list of writers from the Jackson County area; materials on the Williams and
Erwin families, and microfilm of cemetery inscriptions, 1777-1960. Other topics include Campbellton and
Greenwood, Florida; the Marianna Rotary Club; and St. Luke's Episcopal Church.
44 items (.34 c.f.). Gifts of various donors
Accession M1973-15.
Jackson County,
Florida. Clerk of the Circuit Court.
Correspondence files,
1895-1950, including letters pertaining to recording of mortgages, receipts of
businesses, occasional court business, newspaper clippings, and related
items. Much of correspondence is on
decorative business letterheads from various towns and cities in Jackson
County.
1,132 items (.8
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Sarah Harris.
Accession M1982-24.
Jacobi Family
Photocopies of family
letters, 1893-1930, of the Jacobi Family of Milwaukee, Wisconsin and Chicago,
Illinois, with some materials in German.
13 items. Gift of Thomas E. Jacobi.
West Florida
Collection No. 605.
Jerauld-Reeves
Papers
Correspondence,
scrapbooks and photographs, 1906‑1933, and family papers of James Jerauld
(d. 1970), captain of the "Grand Rapids," active in Gulf Coast
passenger and freight traffic. With
scrapbooks on activities in the Boy Scouts of America.
280 items. Gift of Mrs. Goldie Reeves.
Accession M1974-16.
Johnson, Essie
Diary, August
1916-June 1917, Bonifay, Florida, including newspaper clippings, letters from
her father A. D. Johnson, business and calling cards, recipes, obituaries,
programs, and other materials concerning family life, activities in Bonifay,
the Grace family, Bonifay High School, the School of Music, the Isis Theater
(Pensacola), and the Army, Navy, and Community Sing for Liberty Loan Day, 1917.
1 item (.18
c.f.). Gift of C. M. Fortune.
Accession M1981-12.
Johnson, Nellie Dole
(1902- )
Personal papers
including photocopies of the Pensacola High School Tattler (1918-1919),
photocopies of early Pensacola postcards and photographs, oral history tapes
with Mrs. Johnson, and other related materials.
17 items. Gift of Mrs. Nellie Dole Johnson.
Accession M1981-23 SC.
Johnson, Thomas
A. (1888-1961)
Personal papers,
1826-1975, including correspondence, business records, family papers,
photographs and other papers relating primarily to the public offices held by
Mr. Johnson, former Clerk of the Court of Records, Escambia County, 1914‑1920,
and Chairman of the Florida State Road Department, 1941-1944. With papers relating to political activities
in Florida, ca. 1937‑ 1960; the Bruce Dry Dock Company, 1909‑1949;
the Gulf, Alabama & Florida Railroad also called Florida, Alabama &
Gulf), 1910‑1916; and the Gulf Ports Terminal Company, 1927.
Includes letters,
photographs and scrapbooks relating to his wife,
Mrs. Genevieve Watson Johnson (1893‑1977); the United Daughters
of the
Confederacy; the Pensacola Women's Club; the Petree School for
exceptional children; and papers relating to the Watson, Bruce, Ollinger and
Quina families of Bagdad and Pensacola.
Mr. Johnson's personal
papers include schoolwork and student essays, 1899‑1910; notes relating
to the baseball world series of 1911‑1915; political matters in Escambia
County, 1914‑1937; notes on the establishment of Okaloosa County, 1915;
and papers relating to the Pensacola Housing Authority, 1937‑ 1941, and
the Pensacola Port Authority, 1952‑1958.
With correspondence, general papers, scrapbooks and miscellaneous
imprints relating to his incumbency as State Road Commissioner, 1941‑1948,
and documents relating to the Gandy ridge, Tampa, the Overseas Highway, Key
West, and other road projects, with notes on the founding of Whiting Field,
1943, and Pensacola Bay Bridge, and minutes of meetings and other papers
relating to the U.S. Study Commission, Southeast River Basins, 1959‑1961. Correspondents include John W. Martin,
Claude Pepper, Spessard L. Holland, R. L. F. Sikes, Millard Caldwell, LeRoy
Collins, R. A. Gray, Dan McCarty, Fuller Warren, George Smathers, Woodrow
Wilson, H. Clay Armstrong, J. Hardin Peterson, Pat Cannon, Joe Hendricks,
Charles 0. Andrews, John C. Pace, Webb C. Jernigan, and David Johnson.
Also includes papers
relating to the case of Henry Michelette [Michelet] vs. Sebastian Pintado,
1826, and legal documents relating to the claimants of waterfront lands in
Pensacola, 1857‑1908; business papers of the Bruce Dry Dock Company, the
Bagdad Land & Lumber Company, the Dunwoody‑Aiken Towboat Company, and
other interests of the Johnson family.
5,000 items (3.4
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Thomas A. Johnson,
Dr. R. Bruce
Johnson, and the Johnson family.
Accession M1967-06,
M1969-08, M1977-01.
Johnston, Mary
Beggs
Personal papers,
1899-1979, and collection of materials on Pensacola and West Florida history,
including correspondence, publications, and other materials. Subjects include Pensacola in the Civil War,
St. Michael's Cemetery, the T. T. Wentworth Museum, a history of public health
in Escambia County, and Julien Yonge.
462 items (.68
c.f.). Gift of Mary Beggs Johnston.
Accession M1980-16.
Johnstone, George
(1730-1787)
Printed letter in The
Caledonian Mercury, April 22, 1765 to the merchants of Pensacola, with
"extract of a letter from a gentleman at Pensacola to his friend in
London," May 4, 1765.
Source: Caledonian Mercury, no. 6816 (Aug. 3,
1765), p. 366..
1 item. Purchase, 1978.
Accession M1968-11/109.
Jones Family
Papers
Legal, political and
family papers relating to U.S. Senator Charles W. Jones (1834‑1897), his
son, John Byrne Jones (1866‑1954), his son's wife, Lily Haydel Jones (d.
1953), and niece, Virginia Lebeau (1894‑1975). Includes letters, notebooks, drafts of speeches and other papers
of Senator Jones; legal and administrative papers reflecting John B. Jones's
experience as City Attorney of Pensacola, 1899‑1932; and papers relating
to social activities in Pensacola, the Democratic party of Escambia County, the
Catholic Church, and other organizations.
With autograph album
of Willie Jones, Pensacola, 1878‑1880; unidentified satiric poem, 1871,
on Pensacola society; notes on Pensacola waterfront lands, 1899‑1901, and
correspondence of John B. Jones, City Attorney, 1898‑1932, including case
papers of the Circuit Court of Escambia County, speeches, printed materials and
papers relating to city administration and finances; letters of Stephen R.
Mallory, Jr., 1893; papers relating to the Pensacola Board of Bond Trustees,
1906, the revised city charter, 1913, and incumbent opposition to the City
Manager form of government, 1931; constitution and minutes of Sodality of the
Blessed Virgin Mary of St. Michael's Parish, ca.
1920; legal papers relating to the estate of Benjamin Overman, 1813‑1890,
including correspondence of S. A. Simpson and A. E. Maxwell.
1,075 items (3.4
c.f.). Gift of Jones Estate and the
Lebeau family.
Accession M1975-14.
Jordan, Euline
"What The WPA Did
For Me." Typescript autobiography
about her work as weaving instructor for Pensacola, Florida Works Progress
Administration project in 1939.
5 items. Gift of Pensacola Historical Museum.
Accession M1968-11/18.