Haggott, Dr. John
P.
Agent, American Tract
Society.
Manuscript journal,
1846, of his visit to Pensacola to sell religious publications with
descriptions of Pensacola, Milton, Bagdad, Ferry Pass, and Mobile,
Alabama. Subjects include the Simpson
Family, the Presbyterian and Catholic churches of Pensacola, the Navy Yard and
ships stationed there, and the mills at Bagdad and Milton. With accounts of books sold, sermons given,
and names of churches.
3 items. (.18
c.f.). Purchase.
Accession M1993-33.
Haldimand, Frederick,
Sir (1718-1791)
Commander, Posts of
Three Rivers, Pensacola, and St. Augustine, 1758-1777; Acting Commander in
Chief in North America, 1773-1774; Governor of Quebec, 1778-1784.
Personal papers,
1758-1784, including correspondence, reports, letter-
books, accounts, and other materials.
Of key importance are those materials pertaining to British control of
the Floridas, 1763-1784; these include letter-books and correspondence
pertaining to Pensacola under the command of William Taylor, Indian affairs in
the Floridas and the southeast United States.
A contents list and index to microfilm reels is available.
See also the calendar
of the Haldimand papers covering 1765-1773 made by Robert R. Rea (West Florida
Collection No. 256).
Microfilm, 115 reels. Originals held by the British Museum.
Special Collections
Microfilm No. 1070.
Hanshaw, Celia
Teacher, Santa Rosa
County.
Personal papers,
1900-1954, including letters of John Diamond, County Superintendent of
Education; correspondence during Miss Hanshaw's years at Florida State College
for Women (now Florida State University); school certificates, programs and
invitations, 1908‑1931, with related papers.
27 items. Gift of Mrs. A. B. Chavers.
Accession M1973-09.
Hargis, Modeste
(1875‑1948)
Historical notes on
Pensacola and Escambia County, prepared for the Federal Writers Project,
1936-1937, with materials on the origin of the city name, geography, Escambia
communities, agriculture, education, naval stores, religion, and similar
topics. With typewritten draft report
to the Federal Writers Project, 1936, on Pensacola during the Spanish American
War, compiled by Miss Hargis and Isabel R. Grant.
2 items (199
leaves). Gift of the Pensacola Public
Library.
Accession M1968-11/17;
M1968-11/19.
Harris, Naomi
Personal papers,
consisting of manuscript letters of the Clifford family in Pensacola
(1846-1863), photographs, and photocopies of genealogical research (1946-1978)
on the Clifford and Fell families of Pensacola as well as related area families
and the Cliffords of Edgecomb, Maine.
Includes research on the Pensacola Light House (1824-1978) and
lighthouse keeper George T. Clifford.
77 Items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Naomi Harris.
Accession M1981-27.
Harrison,
Benjamin
D.S., land grant to
Missouri Leonard for 159 acres of land in Florida, November 25, 1899.
1 item. Gift of Mrs. Paul Gray.
Accession M1968-11/48.
Hartley Sports
Car Club, Pensacola, FL
Records, 1964-1965,
including programs, schedules of events and other publications of the local
chapter of the Sports Car Club of America, Gulf Region.
35 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mr. and Mrs. J. B.
Hartley.
Accession M1975-03.
Hawkins, Benjamin
(1754‑1818)
Will and testament,
January 9, 1812, and letter to Capt. Smith, Fort Hawkins, September 23, 1809.
4 items
(photocopies). Originals in State
Historical Society of Missouri.
Accession M1968-11/49;
M1968-11/55.
Hawkins, John T.
Memorandum book, 1861‑1863,
pages 224-250; testimony before a Congressional committee investigating the
construction of the U.S.S. Pensacola.
1 microfilm reel. Original owned by the New York Public
Library.
Accession M1968-11/51.
Heinberg, Charles
Jerome, M.D.
Physician; Gulf Breeze
Mayor
Correspondence,
newspaper clippings, programs, and other materials concerning his activities as
mayor of Gulf Breeze (1961-1971), and professional activities in medical
associations, medical research, and membership in the Triological Society. Includes a preliminary water study for Gulf
Breeze (1961), Heinberg's history of Pensacola Hospital (Sacred Heart
Hospital), and publications, reprints of published articles and typescripts of
medical research papers written by Dr. Heinberg. See also a second collection containing historical notes on Gulf
Breeze; scrapbook, 1961‑1971 relating to Dr. Heinberg's service as the
first mayor of the community; general papers relating to the Live Oak
Reservation lands.
42 items (.68
c.f.). Gift of Dr. C. J. Heinberg.
Accession M1981-06 and
Accession M1973-03.
Hentz, Caroline
Lee (Whiting) (1800‑1856)
Diary kept at
Florence, Ala., Feb‑Aug, 1836.
Includes notes by her daughter, Caroline Lee Branch, 1860, and other
notes, 1892, by an unidentified member of the family.
1 microfilm reel. From Southern Historical Collection,
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
Accession
M1968-11/108.
Hicks, Carney
Personal papers
concerning the Molino Telephone Company, 1924, 1926.
7 items. Gift of Arnie Rosenbleeth.
Accession M1981-29 SC.
Hilton-Green,
Henry (1893‑1975)
Family papers,
photographs and miscellaneous printed materials, 1854‑1970, relating to
Mr. Hilton Green, a Princeton alumnus and steamship agent in Pensacola. Includes correspondence relating to Gen.
Samuel G. French, CSA, and family, 1854-1907.
With Mr. Hilton Green's diary kept during his service with the U.S. Navy
during World War I; papers reflecting the social and civic interests of the
Hilton Green family; and letters of Richard M. Nixon, Herbert Hoover, and Edgar
N. Eisenhower.
890 items (1.02 c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Henry Hilton‑Green.
Accession M1976-13.
Hollowell, Maude
Haynes (1936-1982)
Personal papers
comprising of scrapbooks and records of organizations in which she was a member
or officer. Scrapbooks cover the U.S.
Space program, the election and assassination of President John F. Kennedy, the
end of the vietnam war and return of the Prisoners of War, Pensacola Catholics,
and Pensacola business. Organization
records include Altrusa of Pensacola, the League of Women voters, the Northwest
Florida Crippled Children's Association, the Pensacola Symphony Orchestra, the
Warrington American Legion Auxiliary, and the Warrington Business and
Professional Women's Club.
Other materials cover
the Pensacola Hemerocallis Society, Sacred Heart Church, Catholic High School,
University Hospital Auxiliary, the Pensacola Art Center, and a variety of civic
and women's organizations in Bellview and Pensacola, Florida.
3,595 items (4.20
c.f.). Gift of Dorothy Fillio and
Norman Simons.
Accession M1982-01.
Holly Garden
Club, Pensacola, Florida
Scrapbooks of the
Holly Garden Club, 1953-1956 including photographs, newspaper and magazine
clippings, club activities, gardening notes, and related material about the
Holly Garden Club and the Pensacola Federation of Garden Clubs.
3 scrapbooks (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Byron Roberts.
Accession M1982-09.
Holmes, Jack D.
L.
Spanish Borderlands
Historian; University Professor; Author.
Microfilm of documents
collected from Spanish Archives by Sir Jack D. L. Holmes, covering the period
1719-1813, mostly consisting of materials from legajos in the Papeles de Cuba,
Archivos General de Indies in Seville, Spain.
The Papeles de Cuba selections are in sections two and three of the film.
Also known as the Holmes Collection.
Section one of the
microfilm contains a description of Spanish Louisiana by the Baron de Pontalba
from the Archives Nationales of Paris, documents concerning the capture of
Mobile and Pensacola in 1780-1781 by Galvez taken from the Seccion de Guerra,
Archivo General de Simancas, and an account of the 1719 capture of Pensacola by
French forces from Mobile copied from the Archivo del Ministerio de Asunot
Exteriores in Madrid.
Geographic emphasis is
on Pascagoula, Biloxi, Bay St. Louis, Pass Christian, Dauphin Island, Mobile,
Tensaw, Fort San Esteban de Tombeche and Fort Confederation posts and documents
relating to the Natchez district and other Gulf coast and West Florida
areas. The court-martial of Captain
Cayetano Perez for his role in surrendering the fort at Mobile to the American
forces led by General James Wilkinson in 1813 is covered with hundreds of
documents numbering over 3,000 pages.
Other documents include letterbooks and dispatches between the various commandants
of the Mobile District and their superiors in New Orleans and Pensacola. The wide range of subject materials include
Indian affairs, religious reports, laws and regulations, contracts, criminal
and civil suits. Negro slavery and
runaways, fortifications and other buildings, petitions, census reports,
militia lists, quartermaster reports, inventories of official documents of the
various posts, and a variety of minor matters.
Microfilm, 29 reels
(positive microfilm).
Special Collections,
Microfilm No. 222.
Holmes, Sir Jack
D. L.
Photocopy of his
unpublished "Pensacola Settlers, 1781-1821" which is a compilation of
names and biographies of inhabitants, military officers, and other Pensacola
settlers during the Second Spanish Period.
1 item (104 p.).
West Florida
Collection No. 224.
Holmes, Thomas G.
"Notes taken from
the lips of Dr. Thomas G. Holmes in relation to various expeditions made by
Captain Blue, Colonel Benton and others in 1814." On the history of Fort Mims and the War of
1812 in the Pensacola region. Photocopy
of typescript original in the Pickett Papers, Alabama Department of Archives
and History.
16 leaves.
Accession M1968-11/33.
Holmes County,
Florida Papers
A collection of single
items pertaining to Holmes County, Florida such as imprints, publications, correspondence,
and other papers. Subjects include
Bonifay, Florida; George W. Bonner; the Philomathean Literary Society; W. D.
Williams and the Williams Family; the Tri-County Airport, the First Bank of
Holmes County, and the Community Recreation Center. See collection inventory for details.
20 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of various donors.
Accession M1973-12.
Holsberry, J.
Edwin (b. 1905)
Member, Florida State
Legislature.
Scrapbook,
miscellaneous imprints and papers relating to his service in the Florida
Legislature, 1939.
222 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mr. Holsberry.
Accession M1978-13.
Home
Demonstration Club, Ferry Pass, Florida
Scrapbooks containing
correspondence, programs and printed materials, 1920‑1977, relating to
the activities of one of the earliest women's clubs in the Pensacola area.
2 items
(photocopies). Originals in possession
of the Club.
Accession M1973-08.
Hookham, Eleanor
King (1909- )
Artist; Painter.
Personal papers,
1925-1929, consisting of photographs and scrapbook of life in Pensacola, during
the high school years; with more recent biographical sketches, correspondence,
exhibit booklets of her career as an international painter under her known
name, Eleanor King. A painting by her
of Frederick Axelson is in the Axelson Collection.
.35 c.f. Gift of Billie Snider and Eleanor King
Hookham.
Accession M1991-02.
Hoskins, Frank
William (1886-1947)
Historian, teacher,
Postmaster, and Justice of the Peace, Pensacola and Panama City, Florida.
Personal papers, 1880-1940,
including correspondence and memorabilia and Justice of the Peace appointment
certificates signed by Florida Governors and the Postmaster General. With scrapbook relating to the founding of
the Pensacola Historical Society; and typescript of Hoskins' The Story of
the St. Joseph Convention, 1838.
65 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Ellen Parker Crea.
Accession M1972-07.
Howard, James
William (1839-1930)
Typescript transcript
diary, 1861-1913, detailing his life as a member of the 9th Arkansas Volunteers,
Confederate States of America and life after the war in the South and his
religious life as a Baptist minister for churches in Arkansas and Georgia. The diary details much of the discipline and
punishment in the army camps, and from 1865 to 1913, his courtship and
marriage, life in Georgia and Arkansas after the Civil War, and his later years
as a businessman, minister, and citizen in Columbus, Georgia. A section on "religious life"
describes his church activities in Arkansas; Auburn, Alabama; Brownsville,
Georgia; and as a traveling minister.
With additional notes
and genealogy by Ethel Knight Baker, (1863)
and photocopies of photographs.
1 item. Original owned by Elizabeth Baggett.
Accession M1982-10 SC.
Howe, Fred Osmond
(b. 1860)
Letterbooks, business
records, correspondence and other papers relating to Fred 0. Howe Company, the
Pensacola ship brokers and commission agents and its predecessors, Ross, Kean
& Co., and Ross, Howe & Merrow, 1890-1906. With papers relating to the Louisville and Nashville Railroad Co.
Pensacola division, 1929‑1948.
Papers include
statistics on shipping and port activities in Pensacola, 1890‑1900,
1925-1940; correspondence relating to the Merchants & Stevedores
Association, 1933‑1937, and the Pensacola chapter of the Propeller Club
of America, 1952‑1963.
With general papers,
diaries and manuscript poems of Col. Louis H. Sellars (1832-1904), 1893‑1904;
autograph album of Sallie E. (Hood) Jones, of Mobile, Ala., 1859; and printed
ephemera of Bryan's Pharmacy, Pensacola, 1920.
11,534 items
(4.0). Gift of the Pensacola
Historical Society.
Accession M1970-05.
Howell, Benjamin
Betterton
Correspondence,
accounts, maps, receipts, and legal papers, 1819-1835 relating to land
acquisition in Pensacola by Col. Arthur P. Hayne, in turn sold to B. B.
Howell. Includes correspondence
relating to land speculation by Col. William King (letter of June 17, 1819);
including plat of outskirts of Pensacola, "copied at Havanna, 29 Dec.
1818" showing the "Old fort of St. Bernard," Fort St. Michael,
the "Great Royal Road" and other features; manuscript map
"Florida Occidental Partido de Panzacola" Ano de 1818... Escopia,
Havanna 29 Dec. 1818 by Vicente Pintado; plat of lands adjoining Perdido Bay (ca.
1830), and other maps of property purchased by B. B. Howell.
1 Microfilm reel. Purchase, part of the Howell-Babcock Papers
in the
New York Historical Society.
Accession M1968-11/23.
Hulse, Isaac
(1797-1856)
Last will and
testament, probated Pensacola, Sep 17, 1857; six letters of Dr. Hulse to
William E. Woodruff, Little Rock, Arkansas Territory, 1849‑1856.
7 items
(photocopies). Originals at State
Library of Arkansas.
Accession
M1968-11/104.
Hutchins, Thomas
(1730-1789)
"An Estimate of
the Expence ... to finish the Works at Pensacola," with map giving the
location of buildings and Gen. Bouquet's monument at the British Fort in
Pensacola. London, 1777.
3 items
(photocopies). Originals owned by the
Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
Accession
M1968-11/102.
Hutchison, Ira
Augustus (1879-1965)
Letters addressed to
Judge Hutchison, Circuit Court, Panama City, 1927‑1935, from John W.
Martin, Doyle Carlton, David Sholtz, and others. Also correspondence, 1935‑1948, with E. C. Boswell, D. Fred
McMullen, Elwyn Thomas, and Dan McCarty on political campaigns, U. S. Good
Roads Association, and judicial matters.
26 items. Gift of the Hutchison Family.
Accession M1973-14/01.
Hutto, Earl
Representative, United
States Congress, 1979-1994; Member, Florida
State Legislature, 1972-1978.
Papers, 1972-1978,
primarily correspondence from constituents while a member of the Florida
legislature and during his first year as Congressman.
3.0 c.f. Gift of Congressman Earl Hutto.
Accession M1979-08.