Gage, Thomas
General, British
Forces in North America.
Selected letters,
March 1770, concerning assignments, orders, and reports from Pensacola,
Florida. Correspondents include
Lieutenant Jones of His Majesty's 15th Foot Regiment, Elias Durnford, Frederick
Haldimand, and a report on repairs to the barracks at Pensacola.
Microfilm, 1
reel. From Gage Papers, Clements
Library, University of Michigan.
Accession
M1968-13/156.
Gaines, Edmund
Pendleton (1777-1849)
A.L.S. (photocopy),
Pensacola, August 8, 1818 to Major General Andrew Jackson, describing the
fortifications at Pensacola.
1 item
(photocopy). Gift of James W. Moody.
Accession M1968-11/69.
Gaines, Marion T.
Newspaper editor and
writer, Pensacola News Journal
Personal papers,
1939-1975, including correspondence and records as a member of the City of
Pensacola Human Relations Committee, 1966-1971. Correspondents and subjects include Reubin O'Donovan Askew,
Aubrey W. Fitch, Charles O. Andrews, Bob Sikes, John Holliday Perry, J. Edgar
Hoover, and materials relating to minority employment and race relations in
Pensacola, a report on Pensacola city parks (1969), and related papers.
123 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Robert P.
Gaines.
Accession M1983-22.
Galvez, Bernardo
de
A.L.S., Pensacola,
Florida, April 22, 1781 to Chevalier de Monteil on artillery around Fort George
during Siege of Pensacola. With
additional biographical and genealogical materials (photocopies).
6 items. Gift of Galvez Commission (1981) and
purchase (1982).
Accession M1980-17.
Galvez, Bernardo
de
Correspondence,
1779-1781. Typescript transcripts in
Spanish.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Acquired from Mississippi
Department of Archives and History, Jackson.
Spanish Provincial Records, Record Group 26, v. 15.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 59.
Galvez Commission
Records, 1980-1981,
including minutes, correspondence, budget and planning documents, publications
and research files and other materials concerning the Galvez celebration, May
3-10, 1981 honoring the bicentennial of the capture of Pensacola by the Spanish
under Bernardo de Galvez in 1781.
Subjects include Fort Barrancas, the H.M.S. Mentor, Fort George,
Seville Square, Bernardo de Galvez, the H.M.S. Bounty, the historical
drama Yo Solo, Juan Sebastian Elcano (ship), the North Hill Preservation
Society, Palafox Place, and related activities of the commission and
celebration.
1,414 items (2.1 c.f.). Gift of the Galvez Commission.
Accession M1981-08.
Gamble, Thomas
A.L.S., Pensacola,
Florida, June 3, 1772, to Lord Barrington; states Gamble has heard from General
Gage concerning Gamble's appointment to rank of Captain, and thanks Barrington
for his support in securing the appointment.
1 item. Purchase.
Accession M1989-01.
Gardner, George
Frederick (1896-1980)
Diaries (1955-1980)
and notebooks (1937- ) including
journals of a trip to Canada and Detroit in 1937, to Florida in 1940, and
letters describing Saipan, Marianas Islands, in 1949. Subjects include life in Pensacola, Hurricane Frederic (1979),
weather, and orchid culture. Some entries in shorthand.
57 items (1.02
c.f.). Gift of Gardner family and
Marjorie Reynolds.
Accession M1980-20.
Gazeta de Madrid
Microfilm set of this
Spanish newspaper, 1779-1781, covering the movement of Galvez' forces against
Mobile and the siege and capture of Pensacola, May 1781.
Microfilm, 1 reel. Originals in the Newberry Library,
Chicago.
Accession
M1968-13/152.
Georgia. Executive Department.
Passports issued by
the governors of Georgia, 1785-1820.
These passports are permits to travellers and settlers heading westward
into areas of west Georgia, present-day Alabama, and West Florida. This series is a typescript copy prepared by
Mrs. J. E. Hays as part of the Works Progress Administration in Georgia, 1940. Includes a supplement of passports taken
from the letters of Benjamin Hawkins, U. S. Agent to the Creek Indians.
Microfilm, 1 reel. Originals in the Georgia Department
of Archives and History.
Microfilm No. 1175.
Gilman Family
Papers
Photocopies of
correspondence, newspaper clippings, veteran records, wills, Bible records,
deeds and land records, and other genealogical materials primarily pertaining
to the Gilman or Gillman family of Alabama and West Florida, compiled by Doris
G. Enfinger of Pensacola, Florida.
Includes related families of Tindle, McMillan, Ashcroft, and Thomas
families of Holmes, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Escambia Counties, Florida, and
Alabama, as well as Gilman families in other areas of the United States. Key correspondents include Annie L. Thomas,
Doris G. Enfinger, and Merton T. Goodrich.
510 leaves (.18
c.f.). Gift of Mr. Darrell Gillman.
Accession M1991-09.
Gilmer, F. W.
Photocopy of A.L.S.,
February 16, 1816, to Thomas Jefferson at Monticello, Virginia. Details the legal history of the Spanish
claim upon the lands of Florida.
3 leaves. Original in the Missouri Historical
Society.
West Florida
Collection No. 96.
Glass Plate
Negatives Collection
Also known as the Bell
Glass Plate Photograph Collection, this collection consists of glass plate
negatives, primarily portraits of Pensacola individuals, families, children and
a few event (e.g. weddings) pictures.
The date range is predominantly 1900-1930, however this is not exact. For example, one negative was a picture of
an artist's portrait of Dr. John Gorrie (1803-1855). Other photographs include Florida Governors, ministers, priests,
Pensacola mayors, and other prominent citizens and visitors to Pensacola. All photographs came in envelopes with
identifications, and is believed to be the archives of Pensacola photographer
H. Lee Bell who operated from 1910 to 1949.
A separate name index is available.
7,500 pieces (337
boxes or 46.25 c.f.). Gift of
Pensacola Historical Society.
Accession M1988-20.
Glynn, James
(1801‑1871)
A private journal kept
on board the U.S.S. Pensacola on a passage from Pensacola, Fla. to Norfolk,
Va., December 5, 1859 ‑ January 31, 1860.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Original owned by the Mariners
Museum, Newport News, Virginia.
Microfilm No. 138.
Godwin, Ruth
Correspondence,
scrapbooks, and records, 1963‑1971, relating to Mrs. Godwin's activities
as State Democratic Committeewoman, Florida First Congressional District. With papers relating to the Lady Bird
Johnson Special train tour, 1966; the National Democratic Convention in
Chicago, 1968; election campaign ephemera; and an unpublished history of Oak
Grove, compiled by C. R. Walker.
126 items (.34 c.f.)
Accession M1977-12.
Goldsby, John
Raymond (1931- )
Personal papers,
1909-1970, consisting of photocopies of bills of sale, tax receipts and
certificates, receipts from merchants, physicians, and hospitals in Pensacola,
land abstracts, chattel mortgages, promissory notes, and genealogy records
concerning the Goldsby family and Myrtle Grove, Florida.
114 items. Gift of John R. Goldsby.
Accession M1981-05 SC.
Gonzalez, M. F.
Business records of
the M. F. Gonzalez Company, Pensacola, Florida, grain dealers and grist mill
operators, 1889‑1904.
2 ledger books. Gift of Mr. Charles F. Gonzalez, Jr.
Accession M1976-07.
Goodnight, Lyman
(1896‑1976)
Stereoscopic
photographs of activities at the Pensacola Naval Air Station, 1926‑1940;
correspondence with his wife, 1940‑1947.
Includes photographs of Charles Lindbergh and Franklin Delano Roosevelt;
notes on Lt. Goodnight's service in the Naval School of Aerial Photography from
its establishment, 1918, until his retirement, 1949, as Chief Training Officer.
95 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Beverley Seiffert.
Accession M1978-12.
Gray, John (b.
1916)
Engravings of arms and
armament, pastoral scenes and flora and fauna, with other illustrations and
prints, French and German, mid‑18th to early 19th centuries. With general papers relating to Mr. Gray's
real estate activities in Pensacola and the Perdido Bay area, 1944‑1960.
94 items. Gift of Mr. John Gray.
Accession M1967-04.
Gray, John D.
Promissory notes
payable to William Gray, St. Joseph, Florida, Calhoun County, March 25, 1841;
with 1905 typescript of the 1849 tax assessment of John Gray lands in St.
Joseph town, with certification by Florida Comptroller, 1905.
3 items. Gift of J. McHenry Jones.
Accession M1973-16.
Great
Britain. Public Record Office.
Colonial Office
Papers, 1760-1794, (primarily the C.O. 5 series) concerning administration of
His Majesty's colonies in East and West Florida, including correspondence files
for the Board of Trade, Secretary of State (East Florida), commissioners, the
Council and Assembly, surveyors reports, land grants, mortgages, conveyances,
plantations records, minutes of the Treasury Board, and other records
concerning Newfoundland, South Caribbee Islands, Tobago, Pensacola, Quebec,
West Florida, and St. Vincent.
Includes C.O. Series
5, volumes 66-67, 70, 114, 162, 164-165, 540-564,
570-635; C.O. Series 23,
volumes 24-39, 49, 53, 61-62; C.O.
Series 37, volumes 22-23, and Treasury Office Series 1, volumes 449-450; War
Office Series 1, volume 6; Audit Office Series 1, volumes 1261-1262, and Series
3, volumes 126-127.
See also a 'Finder's
Guide' index of names and subjects prepared by UWF
students, Lee T. McKnight and Sandra A. Thomas which cover West Florida
portions of volumes 574 through 580 of the C.O. 5 series. (West Florida
Collection, No. 236).
Microfilm, 54
reels. Originals in the Public Record
Office, London.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm Nos. 143-197.
Great
Britain. Public Records Office
Colonial Office Record
Group 27/14, Bahamas. Includes lists of
all American, British, and foreign vessels arriving and departing Bahamian
ports, 1807, 1810-1813, with names of ships, masters, tonnage, men, where built
and where registered, owners, where bound for, and cargo; with lists of Her
Majesty's revenues from imports, 1768-1787; with marriage, birth, and death
register for Christ Church, New Providence, 1784-1785; and land surveys for
grants to Loyalists, 1786-1787.
Microfilm, 1 reel.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 47.
Great
Britain. War Office.
Expedition to the
southern coasts of North America, 1815 (volume 143) and 1816 (volume 144). (PRO 1/143; 1/144).
These are bound
volumes of letters received and information forwarded to the War Office
concerning British troops and actions along the Florida coast including
Pensacola, Apalachicola, and relation with Creek and Muscogee Indians during
the War of 1812. Volume 143 begins
with an account of the surrender of Pensacola by the Spanish to American troops
under Andrew Jackson. Other subjects
include Alexander Cochrane and the Negro Fort at Apalachicola; lists of Florida
refugees aboard Her Majesty's vessels; Edward Nicolls' reports on Indian
Affairs with lists of Indian towns and allies of Great Britain.
With selections from
Chatham Papers of various letters on the American Revolutionary campaigns;
includes extracts of letters of Thomas Forbes (PRO 30/8/344).
Microfilm, 1
reel. Originals in Public Records
Office, London.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection. Microfilm
No. 88.
Greenslade, John
G.
Transcripts by Admiral
Greenslade's mother, Mrs. Marie Taylor Greenslade, of correspondence and papers
relating to the Panton, Leslie Company.
The text of some of the documents were printed in the Florida
Historical Quarterly, ca. 1931-1939.
With correspondence, notes and other papers exchanged between Mrs.
Greenslade and Mr. Julien Yonge, Editor of the Quarterly, 1923-1934.
471 items (.68
c.f). Gift of Admiral Greenslade.
Accession M1977-14.
Gregory, Francis
H.
Report of Capt.
Gregory on the fitness of the U.S. Frigate "Raritan," at Pensacola,
Sep 4, 1846.
l item
(photocopy). Purchased from Temple
University Library.
Accession M1968-13/44.
Griffith, Leon
Odell (1921-1984)
Pensacola journalist,
writer, and newspaperman.
Personal papers, 1946-1981,
consisting of correspondence, manuscripts, galley proofs, newspaper clippings,
published articles, poetry, and materials pertaining to the editing and
publication of his books, Seed in the Wind (1960); The Longest Strike
(1975); his biography of Ed Ball; John
Holliday Perry: Florida Press Lord
(1974). With copies of unpublished
short stories and books, research files on Edward Ball, the Griffith and Miller
family genealogy, John Holliday Perry, the Escambia County Government Study
Commis-
sion (1966), the Santa Rosa Free Press, and President Jimmy
Carter's campaign for the U. S. Presidency (1974-1976). Correspondents include Alban W. Barkley,
Braden Ball, James Branch Cabell, Warren Fuller, Claude Pepper, Robert L. F.
Sikes, John Johnson, Millard Caldwell, with additional items pertaining to
Florida newspapers, Random House, Inc., Louis F. Wolfson, Florida National
Banks, and the Florida East Coast Railroad.
515 items (2.38
c.f.). Gift of Leon Odell Griffith,
Mark O'Brien,
Dr. Norman Vickers, and Mrs. Mary Griffith.
Accession M1974-11.
Grinnell, A.
Albert
Pensacola Bar Pilot.
Papers, 1864-1867,
concerning his service as a "Union" man, as a bar pilot, and related
services in placing harbor beacons. In
1865, he was possibly the oldest Bar pilot in Pensacola.
5 items
(photocopies). Gift of Arnold
Rosenbleeth.
West Florida
Collection No. 116-120.
Gulf Breeze,
Florida.
Televised docu-dramas
concerning sightings of unidentified flying objects in Gulf Breeze, by Ed
Walters, and others, 1988.
2 videocassettes.
West Florida
Collection No. 517-518.
Gulf Breeze
Rotary Club
Records, 1964,
1974-1983, including minute books and photocopies of newspaper clippings and
programs.
9 items. Gift of Randy Bell III.
West Florida
Collection No. 279.
Gulf Islands
National Seashore
Records, 1960- , including correspondence, reports,
newspaper clippings and other papers pertaining to the establishment of the
Gulf Islands National Seashore on Santa Rosa Island, 1960-. Materials cover the environment, beaches,
leases of land, the Santa Rosa Island Authority, Pensacola Beach, Villa Sabine, and the development of Fort
Pickens, the Live Oak Reservation, Perdido Key, and Fort Barrancas, as well as
papers of the National Seashore Committee.
1,004 items (1.93
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. William Woolley.
Accession M1972-05.
Gulf Yachting
Association
Records and papers,
including Lipton Cup races, and other materials.
Undetermined. Gift of the Association.
Uncataloged.
Accession M1993-07.