Federal Writers'
Project, Florida
Typescripts of
articles prepared by the FWP on Watson's Outlaws on Chokoloskee Island; Greek
Colony, Tarpon Springs; the Minorcans in Florida; and the Creoles in Pensacola.
63 items.
West Florida
Collection No. 52 (Oversize).
Federal Writer's
Project. Pensacola Newspaper Research
Photocopy typescript
of "Pensacola Newspaper Research" abstracted and prepared by
Pensacolian, Modeste Hargis for the Federal Writer's Project in Florida in
1934. This 320-page document is a
compilation of items from Pensacola newspapers, 1838-1934, which the compiler
felt of historic or intrinsic interest. A name and subject index is available.
18 items
(photocopies). Gift of Dr. Gary
Mormino.
Accession M1988-03.
Ferry Pass,
Florida
Papers, 1936-1940,
relating to the Ferry Pass community and to the Bickford‑Jones Memorial
Library. With a contemporary copy of
map of "Cedar Grove," Santa Rosa County, 1848, and other documents
relating to the estate of William Lewis Criglar.
10 items. Gift of Mrs. Helen Wells.
Accession M1968-11/8.
Ficke, Peter N.,
III
Log book and guest
register for the yacht "Chinook" of the Houston Yacht Club, 1949-1950
with reports of trips, engine problems, photograph of yacht, registration
papers from Lloyd's Register of American Yachts, and copies of the survey of
the yacht (1949).
15 items.
West Florida
Collection No. 539.
Fillingim Papers.
Papers, 1921-1955, of Teno Dale Fillingim (T. D. Fillingim), Pensacola, Florida, primarily consisting of his research notes, drafts, correspondence, writings, and publications produced for the Jacksonville Office of the Federal Writers Project in Florida. Subjects include histories and genealogies of Pensacola families, businesses, and city officials, from 1820s through 1930s.
441 pieces (.79 c.f.). Gift of Suzanne Weathers, October 2005.
Accession M2005-04.
First Presbyterian
Church, Pensacola
Records, 1880-1987,
including registers, minute books, histories, worship service bulletins,
newsletters, publications, sermons, and other papers. Early records on microfilm cover 1880-1975 and include a roster
of pastors, elders, communicants and baptisms, 1896‑1969; session
minutes, 1880-1975; board of deacons minute books, 1885‑1933; and other
papers.
(.9 c.f. and 3
microfilm reels).
Accession M1993-25.
First United
Methodist Church, Pensacola
Records, 1870-1974,
including financial reports and budgets, minutes, newspaper clippings, and
other materials. Subjects include
building fund drives, history, membership, Sunday School reports, the papers of
Sunday School Superintendent James W. Andrews (1916-1933), and the unification
of the Methodist Episcopal and Methodist Episcopal South churches in 1924. With microfilm of registers, correspondence
and papers of the Church, 1870-1974, with lists of pastors, members, deaths,
baptisms, and marriages, 1870‑1898; sunday school records, 1884‑1905;
trustee minutes, 1910‑1915, 1927‑1935, and 1949‑1974;
treasurer's accounts, 1927-1950; and reports to the District Conference of the
M. E. Church, South, 1883-1974. With
record book of the Dixie Congregation, Brewton, Ala., and affiliated churches,
ca. 1894‑1946.
Ca. 200 items and 6
microfilm reels (.53 c.f.).
Accession M1977-07.
Fish Cheer
Also known as the Gulf
Coast Fish Cheer, this underground newspaper was published in Pensacola, 1971.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Underground Newspaper
Collection (reel 79).
Accession
M1968-11/112.
Fisher Family
Papers
Correspondence,
business papers, photographs, notebooks, and scrapbooks, 1833‑1971. Includes one volume of manuscript poems
attributed to Stephen Russell Mallory (1812-1873). Most of the papers relate to William Fisher (1884‑1964), a
lawyer, businessman and civic leader in Pensacola, who married Ruby Angela
Mallory, 1907. With an account of the
wedding and other papers, photographs and genealogical notes relating to the
Abercrombie, Quina, Alston, McDonnell, Mason, Pasco, Pierce, and Shaftall
families of Pensacola.
Also includes memorial
book of tributes to William Fisher, Sr. (1860‑1903); papers relating to
Stephen Russell Mallory (1848‑1907), later U.S. Senator; and notes relating
to Ruby Angela Mallory Fisher (b. 1883), H. Clay Armstrong (1870‑1950),
Ruby Angela Moreno Mallory (1815‑1901), Kate Simpson Mallory, W. A.
Blount, William H. Chase, George Reese, John B. Jones, and Walter Wicke.
122 items (1.02
c.f.). Gift of the Estate of William
Fisher.
Accession M1972-12.
Florida. Board of Regents.
Records of the Board
of Regents, 1964- , including
minutes, agendas, reports, publications, budgets, mission statements, program
reviews, and other working papers of the Board and its state universities. Subjects concern educational budgets,
policies, governance, academic policies, planning, and related educational concerns.
1,264 items (10.0
c.f.)
[cr 11 Oct 1988; lstrv
09 Nov 1999].
Accession M1988-13.
Florida. Department of Education.
Narrative reports of
County Superintendents of schools, 1900-1906, 1912-1924, for Bay, Calhoun,
Escambia, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton, and Washington
Counties. Includes reports on schools,
buildings, lists of superintendents, and other education information.
Photocopies.
West Florida
Collection No. 40.
Florida. First Judicial District
Papers, 1889-1901, of
the Board of Medical Examiners including minutes, and approvals of medical
licenses, with rosters of physicians.
1 microfiche. Gift of Elizabeth D. Vickers.
West Florida
Collection No. 306.
Florida Baptist
Association
Minutes of the Florida
Baptist Association, West Florida, 1849-1957, including printed annual reports,
minutes, information on churches, ministers, and activities in the West Florida
region. Also includes minutes of the
Florida Baptist Association, Pensacola Bay, 1887-1957.
Microfilm, 2
reels. Publication of the Southern
Baptist Convention.
Microfilm No. 567 and
Microfilm No. 593.
Florida
Chautauqua
Printed ephemera and
correspondence relating to the Florida Chautauqua, DeFuniak Springs. With papers relating to the purchase of land
in the town, 1883, and letter of Mr. N. Colver, Secretary of the Florida Chautauqua,
1904.
8 items (part
photocopy). Gift of Mrs. A. E. Mock.
Accession M1973-11/9.
Florida Education
Association
Papers, 1966-1968,
including minutes, newspaper clippings, publications, and other materials,
especially of their support of the Pensacola teacher's strike, 1967-1968.
500 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Jean Hern.
Accession M1968-12.
Florida Nurses
Association, District One, Pensacola
Records, 1943-1976,
including minutes, correspondence, membership lists, treasurer's reports,
history, charter, bylaws and publications.
839 items (1.15 c.f.).
Accession M1977-15.
Florida Panhandle
Health Systems Agency, Inc.
Records,
correspondence and reports, 1972‑1976, of the Agency (previously known as
Northwest Florida Comprehensive Health Planning Council, Inc.). Includes text of planning documents and
studies relating to various hospitals and other health care facilities in
Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, and Jackson counties.
5,135 (4.03
c.f.). Gift of Richard Ihns.
Accession M1977-05.
Florida Pulp and
Paper Company
Scrapbook containing
newspaper clippings, photographs and printed materials, ca. 1940‑1948. The company was founded by James H. Allen
(1880‑1950) in 1941 and consolidated with St. Regis Co. in 1946.
1 volume. Gift of Ashley D. Pace.
Accession M1974-06.
Florida Railroads
Research materials,
1909-1926, pertaining to panhandle railroads including the Alabama and Western
Florida Railroad Company, the Atlanta and St. Andrews Bay Railway Company (the
"Bay Line), the Birmingham, Columbus and St. Andrews Railroad Company, and
the Apalachicola Northern Railroad.
4 folders. Gift of Jerry Yares.
West Florida
Collection No. 610.
Florida Secession
Convention, 1861
Microfilmed
Proceedings of the Florida Secession Convention, called on January 3, 1861 to
consider seceding from the United States and joining the new Confederate States
of America. With debates and
proceedings, Florida Constitution of 1861, continued proceedings of late 1861
and 1862, and journals of the Florida House and Senates.
Part of a microfilm
set of State Secession Debates, 1859-1862 (19 reels) which cover all Southern
States; see especially Alabama (reel 1) and Florida (reel 3).
Microfilm, 19 reels.
Microfilm No. 632.
Floridatown
Collection
Papers and photographs
concerning the history of Floridatown, Florida (1910-1937) including the
Floridatown Hotel, ferry service from Ferry Pass, Florida, the Escambia Bay
bridge, and the Pace family.
48 items. Gift of James Gallops.
Accession M1982-22 SC.
Floridiana
A collection of single
items pertaining to Florida including imprints, publications, photocopies,
publications, and other materials, 1818-1981.
Includes speeches of Florida Congressman David Levy and James Belser of Alabama
urging admittance of Florida into the Union in 1845. A detailed inventory is available.
150 items (.68
c.f.). Gifts of various donors.
Accession M1968-14.
Folch y Juan,
Vicente (1754-1829)
Spanish Governor of
West Florida.
A.L.S., Pensacola,
November 1810, to David Holmes, Governor of Mississippi Territory, Nov, 1810,
concerning the unsettled conditions in West Florida and the relocation of
Indians. With translation.
2 items. Gift.
Accession M1968-11/65.
Forbes Papers
Papers, 1779-1854,
concerning the Panton, Leslie, and Company including account books, ledgers,
and other materials, and the Forbes and Innerarity families. Includes letters of Colonel Henry Wilson
during the Mexican-American War.
Microfilm, 3
reels. Originals owned by the Mobile
Public Library.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm Nos. 38-40,
and UWF Library Microfilm No. 104.
Forsyth, Joseph
(1805-1855)
Merchant in lumber,
real estate, and merchandise.
Ledger, daybook and
will (1864-1870) of this Bagdad, Florida merchant.
With "condensed statement of the executors of the estate,"
1855‑1862, compiled by E. E. Simpson and B. D. Wright.
3 folders
(photocopies). Originals owned by R.
Bruce Morrison.
Accession M1968-11/64.
Fort Barrancas,
Florida
Papers, 1818-1899,
including manuscripts, letters, reports, and photocopies of materials relating
to the history of Fort Barrancas, including capitulation of Spanish forces to
Andrew Jackson, 1818; inventory of supplies and equipment; reports of troops,
1861-1862; and related materials.
17 items (.34
c.f.). Purchase, and gifts of various
donors.
Accession M1974-03.
Foster, H. F.
School journal or
diary kept by H. F. Foster while attending Normal School at Oswego in 1876;
includes comments on lessons and family information; with related photographs.
8 items.
Accession M1981-22 SC.
Fowler Butane
Company
Records, 1938-1956 of
the Fowler Appliance Company and its successor, the Fowler Butane Gas Company,
Pensacola, 1938-1956 including customer records, social security reports for
employees, tax and financial statements.
400 items (.35
c.f.). Gift of Robert L. Bryans.
Accession M1982-07.
Franklin, Samuel
R. (Admiral)
Manuscript journal
covering the commissioning and voyage of the U.S.S. Pensacola, April
1885 to August 1887. Covers European
and Mediterranean trips with newspaper clippings from the Baltimore Sun
about trip.
1 microfilm reel. Original owned by the New York Historical
Society.
Accession M1983-25.
French Archives
Microfilm of the fonds
des colonies serie C13A, Volumes 1-53, covering French occupation of North
America, 1694-1819. Filmed as part of
the Louisiana Colonial Records Project in 1980, the C13A series covers reports,
letters, maps, and other materials on the French settlement and colonization of
Louisiana, West Florida, Pensacola, the upper Mississippi River Valley, the
Illinois Territory, Canada and other areas of North America. The size of this research archives is
beyond the scope of this Guide to describe, but there is considerable data on
settlements, Indians, transportation, forts, shipwrecks, battles and war,
Jesuit activity, troop movements, and more.
Most materials are in French language.
Microfilm also
includes select folios of records from the archives of
Santa Domingo (ADC 1 and 2).
With maps of Fort
Conde and Fort Charlotte (Mobile), excerpts from Mobile newspapers, 1821-1824,
photographs of manuscripts which include letters on William Augustus Bowles and
Alexander McGillivray, Creek Indian activities at Pensacola, and John Forbes.
Includes the diary,
1815-1835, of Major George Birch (d. 1837) concerning army life in the south
including a description of the Battle of New Orleans and Indian troubles. Photocopied from the George Birch Papers, Historical
Society of Pennsylvania.
Includes photocopies
of the papers, 1820-1823, of Abraham L. Sands (1781-1840) including
correspondence, orders, requisitions, legal papers, invoices, and inventories
relating to Army life in Florida; of special note are materials related to
Mobile, New Orleans, Fort Charlotte, Lexington and Louisville, Kentucky, Fort
St. Marks, the Apalachicola River, Pensacola, Fort San Carlos de Barrancas, the
1821 hurricane, and Fort Petite Coqueille.
From originals in the Yale University Library.
458 items and 65 reels
of microfilm. Gift of William S.
Coker; loaned for copying by the Comprehensive Employment and Training Act
Office, Mobile.
Accession M1981-15.
Friends of
Perdido Bay
Research files and
library of the Friends of Perdido Bay consisting of environmental publications,
reports, studies, correspondence, consultant reports, water pollution data,
fish reports, and other materials pertaining to the environment of Perdido Bay
and Perdido River.
11.0 c.f. Gift of the Friends of Perdido Bay.
Uncataloged.
Accession M1993-06.
Frye, J. William,
III
Pensacola attorney;
Judge, First Judicial Circuit.
Personal papers,
1948-1976, comprising records relating to law school at the University of
Florida, Gainesville (1953-1957), law practice in Pensacola, the States'
Attorney campaign (1960), as a delegate to the Democratic National Convention
(1964), and related papers of work in organizations such as the American Bar
Association, the Gulf Breeze Youth Sports Association, the Pensacola Junior
Chamber of Commerce, the Warrington Elks Club, and the Young Democratic Clubs
of America and the Young Democratic Club of Escambia County, Florida.
1,363 items (.7
c.f.). Gift of Judge William J. Frye,
III.
Accession M1978-11.