East Florida
Papers
Records of the Spanish
administration of the occupation of East Florida, 1783-1821. These records were seized by the United
States government in St. Augustine in 1821, preserved in Tallahassee, and donated
to the Library of Congress in 1905.
The collection consists of 85,000 documents in 381 bundles or
legajos. Among these files of Spanish
Governors' correspondence are substantial materials documenting the Spanish
regime in West Florida.
Select examples of
records include matrimonial licenses, 1785-1803 (reel 132); accounts of Jesse
Fish, 1763-1770 (reel 146); municipal accounts, 1792-1820 (reel 148); records
of civil proceedings, 1786-1821 (reel 163); papers on captures, shipwrecks,
protests, etc., 1789-1813 (reel 164), and miscellaneous papers, 1784-1821 (reel
174). In addition, an Index of Royal
Decrees, 1595-1762 (bundle 489) and the Montiano letters (bundle 37) relate to
a much earlier period of Spanish control of the Floridas.
175 microfilm
reels. Originals in the Library of
Congress.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collections, Microfilm Nos. 261-435.
East Florida
Papers Calendar
A calendar is a
listing of a group of document with an entry for each document identifying the
date, writer, place of origin, receiver, place of destination, subject of
report, and other descriptive details.
The East Florida
Papers Calendar is a microfilm of 56,000 catalog cards prepared by the
University of Florida which index the East Florida Papers (see previous entry
in this Guide). Cards are in
chronological order.
11 microfilm
reels. Purchased from University of
Florida.
Microfilm No. 902.
Ebenezer Baptist
Church
Minute book of the
church, 1846-ca. 1958, formerly known as Holmes Valley Church (1846-1865) and
as Ebenezer Baptist Church of Christ, (1866-1958) of Holmes County, Florida.
1 volume
(photocopies). Original in possession
of Ebenezer Baptist Church.
Accession M1968-11/9
Edwards, Dorothy
Alice (Commons) (1913-1977)
Founder, UWF Woman's
Club; wife, UWF Professor Palmer Lowell Edwards.
Personal papers,
1970-1977, concerning her activities in the Southeastern Theatre Conference
(1973), the inauguration of University of West Florida President James Robinson
(1975), and the University of West Florida
Women's Club (1974).
23 items. Gift of Dr. Palmer L. Edwards.
Accession M1977-10 SC.
Eglin Air Force
Base, Florida
Users researching the
history of this facility should check the Bibliography of West Florida
and newspapers of the area. For
example, Russell D. Roth's "History of the Air Proving Ground
Command" 1935-1940, and a list of base commanders, 1935-1963, are examples
of some of the materials available. A
chronological history of the Armament Development and Test Center, 1913-1945,
with listing of acronyms and abbreviations in use at the base is also available
as West Florida Collection No. 257.
Ehm, Mildred Lee
"Aimley: the
Story of an American Family", an unpublished genealogy of the Ehm and Lee
families of Virginia, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, and Florida. Mimeographed.
1 volume. Gift of Mrs. Emma Lee Turnbull Kurkowski and
the author.
Accession
M1968-11/106.
Elbert, Donald L.
Gulf Breeze
Councilman, 1964-1966; Mayor, 1974-1976.
Personal papers,
1961-1976, including correspondence, reports, maps, minutes, and other
materials concerning Gulf Breeze, Florida during his administration as
Councilman and Mayor. Subjects include
transportation, collective bargaining, housing, water and sewers, zoning,
elections, Pensacola Beach, health, sanitation, animal control, budgets and
related topics.
589 items (.68
c.f.). Gift of Elbert Family.
Accession M1980-01.
Ellicott, Andrew
(1754-1820)
Surveyor and
mathematician.
Papers, 1777-1829,
comprising correspondence, maps, charts, and reports of astronomical
observations, chiefly of Ellicott's work in surveying the boundary between the
United States and Florida under Pinckney's Treaty (1795), and his surveys of
the city of Washington, the boundary between Georgia and South Carolina, the
town of Presque Isle (later Erie), Pennsylvania, and the boundary between the
United States and Canada. Selected
correspondents include Manuel Gayoso de Lemos, Benjamin Hawkins, Thomas Jefferson,
James Madison, Stephen Minor, Timothy Pickering, and James Wilkinson.
Microfilm, 2
reels. Original collection in the
Library of Congress.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 77-78.
Ellis, Thomas
Howard
Genealogical records
relating to the Ellis and Pearce families of Dothan, Alabama, and Milton,
Florida, including deeds for sales of lands, information on the Pearce Point
Lumber Company (1870s), and a lineage register for the Allen family of Virginia
which includes the Watts, Pearce and Ellis families.
5 items
(photocopies). Gift of T. H. Ellis.
Accession M1981-25 SC.
Ellsworth, Lucius
F.
UWF Professor of
History, 1969-1983.
Personal papers,
1971-1976, including correspondence as Assistant to the Provost, and research
files concerning lumbering in West Florida, the Bagdad Land and Lumber Company,
brickmaking in Pensacola and the firm of Raiford and Abercrombie, Jay Gould and
the leather industry, John Williamson Crary, and Fort Jefferson at Key
West. University subjects include
academic rank at UWF, the Presidential Selection Advisory Committee (1974), Dr.
James A. Robinson, and the State University System Faculty Senate Council
(1974-1975).
629 items (1.25
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Lucius F.
Ellsworth.
Accession M1988-19.
Ellsworth
Research Collection
Research records of
Lucius F. and Linda Ellsworth pertaining to the development and publication of Pensacola,
the Deep Water City (1986) including manuscript drafts, photograph and
illustration files, correspondence, publicity about the book, and subject files
pertaining to Pensacola, and many photographs and research items not used in
the final book. Files include a
newspaper index to Pensacola newspapers (1937) by Modeste Hargis.
2,426 items (2.7
c.f.). Gift of Lucius and Linda
Ellsworth.
Accession M1982-13
Escambia Amateur
Astronomer's Association
Papers (1977- ), including publications of local,
regional and
national astronomical organizations, such as The Meteor, New
Horizons, and The Reflector.
Topics covered include astronomy and sky-watching in the West Florida
region.
86 items (.35
c.f.). Gift of UWF Physics Department
and the Association.
Accession M1988-18.
Escambia County,
Florida
A collection of single
items pertaining to Escambia County and including imprints, publications, correspondence,
and other papers. Subjects include the
Escambia County Volunteer Fireman's Association, the Northwest Florida
Comprehensive Health Planning Council, the Escambia Republican Executive
Committee, an anonymous historical sketch of schools in Century; an index to
historical court cases by Leora Sutton; Escambia Oil Company; the Escarosa
Humanities Center; environmental materials relating to dredging of Pensacola
Harbor, water temperatures in the Pensacola Estuary, the vegetation of Santa
Rosa Island, Escambia Bay Oysters, and the lower Escambia River; the Southern
States Lumber Co., Muscogee; agriculture and history of Molino, Florida;
photocopies of letters of T. M. Myers, 1822, 1837 describing Cantonment Clinch,
and written to his wife at Fort Barrancas; typescripts of a group of letters of
Loomis Langdon, 1856, 1861 (written on board frigate Brooklyn off Fort
Pickens), 1864 (Battle of Olustee), and 1906 recollections of General Lewis G.
Arnold, telling of 1856 Seminole War and 1861 Fort Pickens activities;
materials on Beelersville; place names in Escambia County; creation of the town
of South Flomaton; and a large group of photocopies of letters sent to
Governors of Florida from individuals in Escambia County, 1839-1907. Detailed inventory available.
Ca. 200 items (1.3
c.f.). Gifts of various donors.
Accession M1973-08.
Escambia County,
Florida. Election Records.
Statistical summaries
of vote tabulations in Escambia County elections, 1970-1976, including U.S.
Presidential primaries, general elections, and special elections. Records provide numbers of registered voters
in each precinct broken down by Party affiliation, and final tabulations of
votes cast broken down by candidate or proposition.
331 items (.23
c.f.). Gift of Office of Supervisor of
Elections, Escambia County, Florida.
Accession M1989-14.
Escambia County,
Florida. Election Returns.
Election returns, 1826
to 1926. Under Florida law, each
County had to send a letter to the Secretary of State, Tallahassee, certifying
the election, with names of candidates and numbers of votes received. However, many of the early years also list
the names of those who voted.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Originals in RG 156, Series 21,
Florida State Archives.
West Florida
Collection No. 496.
Escambia County,
Florida. Marriage Records.
Marriage certificates
issued by Escambia County, Florida, 1850-1890, (Books C-L); each certificate
shows full name of applicants (male and female) and certification of ceremony
with date solemnized and person performing ceremony (includes church
affiliation). Some, not all, indexes
available.
1,412 items (1.35
c.f.). Gift of office of Circuit Court
Clerk, Escambia County, Florida.
Accession M1982-23.
Escambia County,
Florida. School Records.
Financial and
statistical records for Escambia County schools, 1877-1967, including
attendance registers (1947-1951), bond and check registers ledger books
(1877-1952), payroll registers, and warrant registers. Includes teacher lists for schools,
furniture distributions, early development of Pensacola Junior College, and
other information.
69 ledgers. Gift of Dr. Louis Dumas.
Accession M1981-28.
Escambia County,
Florida. Sheriff's Department.
Records, 1988-1991, of
the Citizen's Advisory Committee, Inc. including correspondence, articles of
incorporation, minutes, subcommittee records, and working papers. Key correspondents include Escambia County
Sheriff Charlie Johnson, Committee President Earl Archer, and Michael L.
Ferguson. Subjects
cover operations of the Sheriff's Department of Escambia County,
Florida, 1989-1991, including budgets, organization, and law enforcement
activities.
124 items (.23
c.f.). Gift of Linda Boldyreff.
Accession M1992-18.
Escambia County,
Florida. Tax Assessor.
Records, 1913-1939,
containing correspondence concerning the assessments of property, tax
assessment regulations, tax appeals, and related subjects.
1,642 items (.9
c.f.). Gift of Escambia County Tax
Assessor.
Accession M1982-20.
Escambia County
Pharmaceutical Society
Minutes, notes,
drafts, and bylaws, 1887-1888.
1 microfiche. Gift of Elizabeth D. Vickers.
West Florida
Collection No. 306.
Escambia County
Retired Teacher's Association
An oral history
collection consisting of audiotape reminiscences and related collateral
materials of members of the Association.
35 items. Gift of Miss Agnes Irene Reedy.
Accession M1980-03.
Escambia
Education Association
Records, 1967-1968,
and newspaper clippings primarily concerning the teachers' strike in Pensacola,
Florida, August 1967 - March 1968.
250 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Ray Oldenburg.
Accession M1969-07.