Daniel Family Collection
Records of the Daniel and Pollard families of Butler and Crenshaw Counties, Alabama, 1830-1927 including bills of sale for goods purchased in Montgomery and Greenville, Alabama; receipts for sale of cotton and payment of taxes, court summonses, and related materials.
181 items (.23 c.f.). Gift of Phillip W. Woolley.
Accession M1984-10.
Daughters of the
American Colonists
National Society
Daughters of the American Colonists, Don Tristan de Luna Chapter, Pensacola,
Florida.
Records, (1983- ) including minutes, bylaws, scrapbooks,
photographs, and other materials concerning the history of this organization.
142 items (1.0 c.f.). Gift of the Chapter.
Accession M1991-11.
Daughters of the
American Revolution
Yearbooks, scrapbooks,
and other materials concerning the Pensacola Chapter from its formation in 1922
to present.
17 items. Gift of the Pensacola DAR.
Accession M1982-15.
Davis School
Records
School records,
1935-1975, of Davis School, Atmore, Alabama including registers of attendance,
1935-1960 which show students attending, addresses, parents' names and
occupations; the principal's record and report forms, 1940-1975 giving annual
reports of the school; and school bus driver's reports, 1937-1942. Includes some records for Ernest Ward
School, Walnut Hill, Florida, and Nakomis School, Nakomis, Alabama.
178 items (3.83
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Ruth Godwin.
Accession M1981-24.
Davison, William
Henry (1824‑1916)
Diary, June 1, 1876 to
November 21, 1876, describing his work at the Pensacola Quarantine Station at
the Live Oaks Plantation, with notes on ships and cargo checked through the
station.
75 leaves, typescript
photocopy. Gift of U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency.
Accession M1968-11/47.
Day, John
Pensacola realtor.
Papers, 1944-1960,
including resumes, bylaws of the Florida Motor-Hotel Association of Pensacola,
Florida, and a master plan blueprint of a development on Perdido Bay in
Escambia County, 1960.
4 items. Gift of Mrs. Robert Manuel.
Accession M1968-11/5.
.
Diamond, John T.
(1878-1963)
Photocopies of
typescript stories written by J. T. Diamond concerning the history of Pine
Level and Jay, Florida, including schools, roads, churches, cemeteries, social
life, the Civil War, and the logging industry.
Subjects include cattle, Christmas, the Cobb family, Cora School, the
Diamond family, ghost stories, Jay Cemetery, Jay Consolidated School, Mount
Carmel Cemetery, postal history, and folklore.
34 items (.35
c.f.). Originals in possession of Mrs.
Alma McClurkin.
Accession M1993-08.
Dillon, Mrs. M.
Land
Personal papers,
1958-1965, consisting of publications, newsletters, correspondence and other
materials relating to the Warrington Presbyterian Church, the Pensacola Council
of Ministers, the Episcopal Church and the National Council of the Churches of
Christ. Includes other materials
concerning race relations, Communism, John F. Kennedy, Dan Smoot, and
desegregation.
212 items (.68
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. M. Land Dillon.
Accession M1968-22.
Diocese of
Louisiana and the Floridas
Microfilm of the
records, 1576-1803, of the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas, Catholic
Church. The early period, 1576-1785, is
represented by only forty documents, thus the bulk of materials cover 1786
through 1803 on the churches in New Orleans, Louisiana, Natchez, and West
Florida region.
A separate booklet index is available, but it also located on reel one.
12 microfilm
reels. Originals in University of
Notre Dame Archives.
Microfilm No. 947.
Dodd, Horace S.
Personal papers,
1858-1860, consisting of 27 letters written from Apalachicola, Florida to his
girl friend, Emma Guild in Auburndale and Bangor, Maine, with 18 letters from
Emma to Horace. Dodd describes life in
Apalachicola, the economy, fires, city life, while Emma discusses the social
life of Auburndale and Bangor.
45 items (.18
c.f.). Purchase.
Accession M1993-29.
Dodds, Thomas
Corporal, Captain
Russell's Company, Illinois Militia, Black Hawk War.
Land grant, October
10, 1860, to Thomas Dodds for 139 acres of land at Opelousas, Louisiana;
assigned by Dodds to Thomas Coopwood.
Signed for President James Buchanan by a secretary.
1 item. Gift of Mr. Walt Aymond.
Accession M1968-11/77.
Pat Dodson Oral
History Collection
Oral history project
conducted by Mark David Clark concerning the history of advertising and
advertising agencies in Pensacola, with specific emphasis on recollections of
Pat Dodson (Mayhew Wilson Dodson, 1929-1975) and the contributions of Dodson
and his firm, Dodson, Craddock and Born, to Pensacola. Includes interviews with business partners,
family, advertising executives, and Dodson's interest in historic preservation
in Pensacola.
Narrators are indexed in this Guide.
17 interviews (.35
c.f.). Gift of Mark D. Clark.
Accession M1989-13
Dodson, Craddock,
and Born Collection
Brochures,
publications, annual reports, stationary, and other advertising and printed materials
developed by Dodson, Craddock, and Born, a public relations firm in Pensacola,
Florida, 1957-present. Includes
materials produced for banks, real estate developments, tourism, and
corporations in Pensacola, Fort Walton Beach, Panama City, and Destin, Florida
as well as other areas in the Florida panhandle and southern Alabama.
1,238 items (2.85
c.f.). Gifts of Mr. W. M. (Pat) Dodson
and firm; and Frank Craddock.
Accession M1969-03.
Dominiquez Grant
Abstract (typescript)
of Township 2 South, Range 30 West, tracing ownership from the original Spanish
grant, 1790 to 1941.
1 item
(photocopy). Gift.
Accession M1968-13/34
Duncan, William
S. (1888-1970)
Personal papers,
1897-1967, concerning his work as port manager for the Louisville and Nashville
Railroad, and as member of the Board of Directors of the Pensacola Port
Authority (1954-1967). Includes
biographical materials, comprehensive minutes, correspondence, and reports of
the Port of Pensacola and its directors, financial reports of the Port, records
relating to Port fires in 1955, 1958, and incorporation of the Port Authority
in 1947 and 1959. Other records include
daybooks of ship arrivals and departures, exports, and imports, 1930-1960.
812 items (.88
c.f.). Gift of Mr. and Mrs. W. J.
Noonan, Jr.
Accession M1975-13.