Callaghan, J. E.
Correspondence
relating to the appointment of Capt. J. E. Callaghan, formerly of the 15th
Maine Regiment., as Collector of Customs of the Port of Pensacola, 1889‑1902.
5 items
(photocopies). Gift of Dr. Ernest F.
Dibble.
Accession M1968-11/53.
Campbell, John
General, His Majesty's
Forces in West Florida.
Correspondence,
1779-1781. Typescript transcripts from
the Spanish Provincial Records of letters of the British commander of the
troops stationed in West Florida.
Microfilm, 1 reel. Acquired from Mississippi Department of
Archives and
History, Jackson. Spanish
Provincial Records, Record Group 26, Volume 16.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 58.
Campbell,
McDonald
Correspondence and
photographs of Miss Campbell's family, Laurel Hill, Florida, 1894‑1929. Includes letter, 1908, of her father, A. D.
Campbell, to her mother's parents asking her hand in marriage; and photograph
of young Effie McKinnon McDonald (1888‑1936), later a teacher in DeFuniak
Springs, Fla.
9 items. Gift of Miss McDonald Campbell.
Accession M1973-10.
Campbell Family
Photocopies of
genealogical charts of the descendants of Daniel Campbell and Jeanette Gillis,
Walton County, Florida, prepared by Mark Curenton.
5 items. Gift of Mark Curenton.
West Florida
Collection No. 602.
Campbell Family
Papers
Educational diplomas,
1899-1933, of Christian C. McDonald and Christian McDonald Campbell for
attendance at Palmer College, at Florida State Normal School, and the Okaloosa
County public schools in DeFuniak Springs, Florida.
5 items. Gift of Miss McDonald Campbell.
Accession M1988-11.
Cantonment Rotary
Club Records
Records and papers,
1948-1991, including correspondence, bylaws, financial statements, minutes, and
chapter newsletters. Topics include
Cantonment Little Major League and Ephemeral Hospital.
3,526 items (3.15
c.f.).
Accession M1984-18.
Carlson, Gladys
Photocopies of
published genealogical research on family lines written and compiled by Gladys
Carlson, Pensacola Florida, including lineage charts, facsimiles of manuscript
letters, and related documentation.
Family names include Alexander, Barber, Bilyeu, Bird, Brumley,
Duckworth, McKnight, Montgomery, Peel, Robinson, Sample, Wallace, and
Williams. Places include Lancaster
County, Virginia; Mecklenburg County, North Carolina; and Cannon County,
Tennessee.
7 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Gladys Carlson.
Accession M1991-08.
Carpenter,
Cornelia Brown
Personal papers,
1840s-1920, including correspondence, newspaper clip-
pings, photographs, and other materials relating to the Brown, Wright,
and Carpenter families; with business records of H. T. Wright, Blackwater and
Bagdad, Florida, in the operation of Simpson & Company Lumber Mill at
Bagdad; additional letters of Gertrude Wright, H. T. Wright, and of R. M.
Bushnell, Saybrook, Connecticut.
Subjects include life in Pensacola, 1887-1920, and Knox Hill, Florida,
1840s.
168 items (.68
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Cornelia Brown
Carpenter.
Accession M1979-03.
Carswell, Elba
Wilson
Journalist; author;
folklorist.
Personal papers
including research files, writings, genealogical material on the Carswell
family, newspaper columns, and other materials. Subjects include folklore, Falling Waters State Park; Washington
County, Florida; and Chipley, Florida.
Uncataloged. (5.0 c.f., est.). Gift of Judge E. W. Carswell.
Accession M1982-33.
Carter, Dickson
H.
Pensacola Attorney
Personal papers,
1896-1973, consisting of photographs, correspondence, speeches, and other writings. Includes materials pertaining to Judge
Francis B. Carter, including Masonic awards and writings.
Dickson Carter's
speeches include talks before the Pensacola Rotary Club, the Men's Bible
Classes of the First Methodist Episcopal Church and the Florida State Bar
Association. Other topics include Blue
Springs (Marianna, FL), the Milton Land and Investment Company, the Pensacola
Commercial and Shorthand School, the astronomy libraries of F. B. and D. H.
Carter, and the snowfall in Pensacola, December 1943.
30 items (.23
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Francis B. Carter.
Accession M1980-09.
Cary Family
Papers
Family correspondence
and business papers of R. M. Cary & Co., later Cary & Co., Inc., coal
and building supply merchants, 1898‑1955. Includes financial records and papers of the Southport Lumber
Company, 1909‑1920, and correspondence of George Archibald Cary (1908‑1959),
Henry H. Cary (b. 1917), and other members of the family, 1920‑1961.
Includes genealogical
notes on the Cary and Whiting families of Virginia and Florida; papers relating
to the estate of R. M. Cary; and letters relating to such local organizations
as the Kiwanis Club, Rotary Club, Navy League, and Pensacola Yacht Club. Also includes papers relating to the
election campaign of U. S. Senator George Smathers, 1950.
835 items (1.36 c.f.)
and 82 bound volumes. Gift of Mr. Henry
H. Cary.
Accession M1970-02.
Catholic Reading
Rack Apostolate of Pensacola
Records, 1962-1984,
including correspondence, minutes, newsletters, financial records, and
bylaws. The Apostolate raised funds to
purchase and maintain religious and inspirational literature in free reading
racks throughout Pensacola.
Correspondents and key members include Dorothy Clemente, Jim Dowd, and
Archbishop T. J. Toolen, Bishop of Mobile.
365 items (.53
c.f.). Gift of Eve Windsor.
Accession M1985-13.
Catts, Sidney J.
(1863-1936)
Politician; Governor
of Florida, 1917-1921.
Personal papers,
1894-1967, of Sidney J. Catts, DeFuniak Springs, Florida, and other family
members, including correspondence, publications, scrapbooks, photographs,
newspaper clippings, and related materials.
Much of the papers concern his term as Governor and activities in the
Prohibition and Democratic Parties of Florida.
Although he ran on an
anti-Catholicism platform, his tenure as Governor was marked by progressive
legislation including prison and mental health reform; Prohibition; inclusion
of women in Government and support for Women's Suffrage. He unsuccessfully ran for U. S. Senator in
1920, and again for Governor in 1924 and 1928.
Special Collections
also houses a portion of the Governor's Library, 126 books kept intact as part
of the Association Books collection.
4,900 items (4.08
c.f.). Gift of the Catts Family.
Accession M1979-11.
Cazenave, John B.
Abstract, undated, of
the Cazenave grant, Pensacola, transcribed and translated from "Spanish
Plat Book," by Fernando Moreno.
With copies of two maps of the property.
3 piece
(photocopy). Gift of Mr. James Polk.
Accession M1968-11/43.
Census Records
The Special
Collections Department has Population Schedules on microfilm of United States
Censuses for Florida, 1830-1920, as well as a number of other Southern states
and adjacent parts of Alabama. These
schedules are arranged by year of the census, state, and county, and give
details of people residing in these areas.
A complete list of holdings is available in the Department, as well as a
number of published indexes to various states and years. In addition, for West Florida, a number of
early censuses of population prior to 1830 also exist. See especially William S. Coker and C.
Douglas Inglis' Spanish Censuses of Pensacola, 1784-1820 (1980) and
Coker's "Religious Censuses of Pensacola, 1796-1801" in Florida
Historical Quarterly (July 1982).
Chamarro, Edgar
(1931- )
Nicaraguan Ambassador
to the United Nations; Director, Nicaraguan Democratic Force (FDN); UWF
Visiting Professor.
Photocopies of
research files and records, 1981-1987, concerning Nicaragua, the Sandinista
National Liberation Front (Frente Sandinista de Liberacion Nacional), the
Nicaraguan Democratic Force (Contras), La Prensa (newspaper), the Chamarro
family, and the covert and disinformation activities of the U. S. Central
Intelligence Agency in Nicaragua on behalf of the Reagan Administration.
155 items (.9
c.f.).
Accession M1987-01.
Chamberlain,
William
Musician; singer.
Papers, 1927,
1942-1959, including letters from John Frenkel, Sr., of WCOA radio, and
programs of musical events in churches in which Mr. Chamberlain sang.
25 items. Gift of Mrs. William Chamberlain.
Accession M1968-13/78.
Chapman, Alvan
Wentworth (1809-1899)
Botanist.
Personal papers,
1859-1868, including his photocopy manuscript "Catalogue of Southern
Plants" which was published in 1860, and correspondence concerning his
appointment and work as Collector of Customs for the District of Apalachicola,
1866-1868.
25 items
(photocopies). Originals owned by the
New York Botanical Garden Library and
U. S. Treasury Records, National Archives.
Accession M1974-18 SC.
Chase, William H.
Engineer, Pensacola
Forts.
Letters, 1829-1836,
sent to the Engineering Department by Captain William H. Chase, from Pensacola,
Florida and New Orleans, concerning the construction of Fort Pickens, and
similar Gulf Coast forts.
Microfilm, 1 reel. Originals in National Archives.
Accession
M1968-13/154.
Cherokee Nation
Proclamation, "By
the United States in Congress," forbidding all unwarranted intrusions onto
Cherokee lands, September 1, 1788.
1 piece
(photocopy). Original in possession of
the Henry E. Huntington Library, San Marino, California.
Accession M1968-11/105.
Chester, Peter
Letter, May 28, 1778,
to Bernardo de Galvez, Governor of Louisiana, seeking support and restitution
for attacks by rebels made upon British ships and inhabitants of West Florida.
Microfilm. Original in British Museum, Add. 24,322.
Panton, Leslie &
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 25.
Chester, Peter
D. S., November 5,
1776, Pensacola, Florida. Partly
printed order to survey a plantation of 600 acres "back and east of
Thompson's Creek" for Robert Farmar, Pensacola, Florida, November 5,
1776. Order given to Elias Durnford,
Surveyor. Signed by Peter Chester,
Thomas Livingston.
1 item. Purchase.
West Florida
Collection No. 463.
Christ Church,
Pensacola, FL
Episcopal Church,
Diocese of Florida.
Records of the Church
and Parish, 1832-1833, 1842-1964.
Includes Parish registers, 1842‑1964, with name index, 1824-1927,
1949-1957; baptisms, 1842-1849, 1851-1864, 1870-1889; registers of communicants
and confirmations, 1842-1855, 1883-1889, 1957-1961; marriages, 1843-1890;
1928-1956; and funerals or burials, 1842-1889.
Also includes Vestry minutes, 1854-1926; and financial
accounts, alms received, offerings for the poor, and expenditures for
church furnishings, 1842-1856. Includes
records of Rectors Reverend David D. Flowers, J. J. Scott, Charles Forte Peake,
and of Reverend Francis Huges Rutledge, Bishop of Florida, and additional
church publications and records,
1967- .
With minute books of
Mollie Dorr Roberts Chapter, Daughters of the King, 1893-1921; Christ Church
Service League, 1924-1934; the 4th District Episcopal Church Florida Women's
Auxiliary minutes, 1931-1941.
Also includes
registers of St. Katherine's Church, Pensacola, 1904-1934,
and records of Christ Church operating in exile during the Civil War as
Church
of the Holy Comforter, Montgomery, Alabama, 1862-1865.
.7 c.f. and 2
microfilm reels. Originals in possession of Christ Church.
Accession M1993-22.
Church Histories
Special Collections
maintains a comprehensive general collection for the filing of materials
relating to West Florida churches and religious bodies. These include bulletins, newsletters,
programs, publications, church histories, microfilm of records which can
include baptism, confirmation, marriage, and death records, minutes of
associations and assemblies, annual reports, and similar records. Files are maintained by denomination, city,
and name of church.
Occasionally if the
files of a particular church become large enough, they are cataloged as an
individual collection; examples of these are listed throughout this Guide. Some church publications and serials such
as published histories and annual reports of denominations such as the
Pensacola Bay Baptist Association, may be located in the Rare Book
Collection.
Users should check the
collection inventory for this collection, as well as the index to this Guide,
the Special Collections Card Catalog, and the Bibliography of West Florida
under the names of denominations and the names of individual churches.
6.0 c.f.
Accession M1975-07.
City Directories
A key source of
information on people, businesses, street names, and addresses are city
directories. Published annually and
biannually, these are invaluable sources of genealogical, historical, and
social information as well as providing information on the growth of cities,
economics, and business history.
Special Collections maintains a collection of city directories for all
cities of West Florida for which directories have been published. For example, city directories for Pensacola
are available for 1886, 1892, and 1900 to the present. A supplemental source are telephone books
which are collected by the Department and kept by city and date.
Claiborne, John
Francis Hamtrack (1809-1884)
Historian, newspaper
editor, U.S. Representative from Mississippi.
Letterbook, Book E
consisting of historical letters collected by Colonel Claiborne of the early
Spanish and Mississippi territorial period, 1790s-1820.
Contents are described in an inventory at the front of the microfilm;
subjects include the laws of the Mississippi Territory and Alexander
McGillivray.
Microfilm, 2
reels. Originals in the Mississippi
Department of Archives and History, Jackson.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm Nos. 79-80.
Clemente, Dorothy
Personal papers
consisting of her records as costume designer for the 1939 Pageant of
Pensacola, and for the 1950 to 1972 Fiesta of Five Flags festivals, 1950-1972,
in Pensacola, including sketches, designs, costume drawings with samples of
material, photographs, newspaper clippings and related memorabilia. Includes a scrapbook of WCOA radio program
covers.
624 items (.23 c.f.)
and 23 portfolios/scrapbooks. Gift of
Mrs. Dorothy Clemente.
Accession M1981-04.
Cleveland, Larkin
(1873-1953)
Journalist and
Newspaper Editor
Scrapbooks and papers,
1922-1953, including newspaper articles by and about him, collections of his
"Uncle Cleve" columns, biographical material and other clippings from
the DeFuniak Herald and Pensacola Journal, 1922-1953.
Writing from his
newspaper office (The Temple of Truth) in DeFuniak Springs, Florida,
"Uncle Cleve" was known throughout the South for his wit and humor
and long-running feuds with other newspapermen carried out through the
editorial pages of numerous West Florida and Southern newspapers.
14 items (8 scrapbooks
& .68 c.f.). Gift of Mr. and Mrs.
E. R. Moffett.
Accession M1969-06.
Clubbs, Occie
(1888-1971)
Correspondence and
research files relating to her unpublished biography of Stephen R. Mallory
(1813‑1873), Secretary of the Navy, Confederate States of America; papers
relating to the Florida Historical Society, 1939‑1940; printed works and
papers relating to Miss Clubbs's work as a schoolteacher in Pensacola, ca. 1932‑1942;
and papers relating to her father, A. V. Clubbs, 1893‑1930. Includes letter of Franklin D. Roosevelt to
H. Clay Armstrong (1870‑1950), 1932, and correspondence with Julien
Yonge, Frank Cone, Millard Caldwell, Julian Boyd and Florence Palmer, relating
primarily to Miss Clubbs's research on S. R. Mallory.
Includes a table of
commandants of the Pensacola Navy Yard, 1826-1911, and a chronology of events
surrounding the Fort Pickens "truce," 1860-1861.
1,600 items (3.4
c.f.). Gift of the estate of Miss
Occie Clubbs.
Accession M1972-04.
Cobb, Edna
Cobb family papers
including newspaper clippings on Crestview and Pensacola High School Bands,
1962; grammar school, 1906, and Santa Rosa High School, 1927, diplomas for
William Henry Cobb.
8 items. Gift of Mrs. Edna Cobb.
Accession M1973-20 SC.
Cobb, Eli Sanford
(1889-1977)
Papers relating to Dr.
Cobb, a Pensacola ophthalmologist and graduate of Meharry Medical College, with
notes of his service in World War I and certificates of his medical studies at
the University of Lyon, France.
6 items
(photocopies). Originals in possession
of the Cobb family.
Accession M1968-13/97.
Cochrane,
Alexander Forester Inglis, Sir (1758-1832)
Admiral, His Majesty's
Royal Navy.
Correspondence,
1814-1815, primarily of letters between Sir Alexander and Spanish Governor
Gonzalez Manrique of Pensacola, with English translations of Manrique's
letters; with correspondence relating to British naval actions on the Potomac
(1814); letters of other British officers; letters exchanged between Governor
Manrique and Admiral Pulteney Malcolm, 1815; and a list of negro slaves of the
John Forbes and Company.
Microfilm, 1
reel. Originals are part of the
Cochrane Papers, National Library of Scotland, Edinburgh.
Accession M1968-11/75.
Coker, William S.
UWF Professor
Emeritus, History
Personal papers
including book manuscripts of Indian Traders of the Spanish Border-lands
(Panton, Leslie & Co.) and Our Family, Fact and Fancies (Moreno
Family) and his M. A. thesis on Mississippi Senator Pat Harrison.
5 items (.53
c.f.). Gift of Dr. William S. Coker.
Accession M1992-09.
Cole, John
William Buchanan (1906-1968)
Member, Florida House
of Representatives; World War II Veteran.
Papers, 1935-1945,
including newspaper clippings, photographs, and other memorabilia concerning
activities as a member of the Florida House of Representatives (1935), and as a
sailor in the U. S. Navy during World War II. Many of the photographs were
taken on Pulo Anna, a coral island in the Western Caroline Islands, roughly
midway between Palau, site of a major Japanese naval base, and Halmahera,
Western Pacific headquarters of the Japanese Air Army, and depict the American
invasion of the islands in 1944 and 1945.
With letter from
Joseph A. Pelter, 1935, written from Antarctica during the second Byrd
Antarctic Expedition.
117 items (.40
c.f.). Gift of the estate of John W.
B. Cole.
Accession M1968-03.
Coleman, Rev.
James
Catholic priest,
Pensacola, Florida
Photocopy of the
Probate docket, 1865-1869, with will, pleas, affidavits, bills, and related
records concerning the settlement of his estate by Executor Rev. John Quinlan.
29 items.
West Florida Collection
No. 8.
Collier Family
Papers
Correspondence,
photographs and printed works reflecting the interests of Mrs. Daisy Adams
(Mrs. C. H.) Collier (1876‑1968) in the Daughters of the American
Revolution, the United Daughters of the Confederacy, the Pensacola Women's
Club, and Christ Church, 1916‑1950.
With papers relating
to the Adams and Collier families of Tennessee and
Florida, and correspondence with Dr. Jack Fleming, Miss Lelia
Abercrombie, and others, of Pensacola.
443 items (1.3
c.f.). Gift of Barry Bonifay.
Accession M1969-02.
Collins, Lem.
Letter, January 1, 1863, from Pensacola Navy Yard, Pensacola, Florida, to wife discussing outfitting of Union ships with ballast, use of U.S.S. Potomac for mail service, and news of Burnside’s defeat. For background, Union General Ambrose Burnside was defeated at Fredericksburg in December 1862 and submitted his request to President Lincoln for relief of command. President Lincoln also issued the Emancipation Proclamation on this date which affected Pensacola.
1 item (photocopy).
West Florida Collection No. 640.
Colonial Dames
XVIIth Century Fort San Carlos Chapter, Pensacola, Florida
Records including
scrapbooks of newspaper articles, programs, and photographs, 1964-.
61 items. Gift of Mrs. Blasingame.
Accession M1986-03 SC.
Confederate
States of America
Records of and
relating to the C.S.S. Florida, 1862-1864.
Reel 1: Smooth logs, September 17--December 31, 1863; May 1--October 3,
1864; Reel 2: Rough logs, August 18, 1862--January 22, 1863; Sept. 17,
1863--April 30, 1864.
Microfilm, 4
reels. From Record Group 76, Boundary
and Claims Commissions and Arbitrations, U. S. National Archives. Microcopy T-716.
Microfilm No. 150.
Confederate
States of America
"Sick and wounded
of the Army serving in W. Florida near Pensacola ... October, 1861." With
entries relating to medical discharges and deaths following the Battle of Santa
Rosa Island, photocopy.
1 piece. Original in possession of the Library of
Congress.
Accession M1968-13/21.
Cooper Family
Papers
Business records of
Ewing Brothers Naval Stores, Holt, Florida, 1904-1918 including account books
and ledgers; business papers of Cooper & Adams, Holt, Florida, 1923-1930;
an account book for Holt Drug Store, Holt, Florida, 1933, 1949; records of a
prison work farm at Holt, Florida, 1930-1933; and other Cooper family records
and materials concerning Holt, Florida.
71 items including 7
ledgers. Gift of Max Cooper.
Accession M1969-09.
Coronation
Collection
Booklets and
newspapers concerning the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II of England,
1952-1953 with materials on Blenheim Palace and the Tower of London. With newspaper clipping announcing end of
Korean War.
23 items (.34
c.f.)
Accession M1987-09.
Cowley-McEvers
Papers
Business records,
correspondence and photographs of the Rox Stationery Co., operated by Rox
Cowley (1878‑1952), his wife, Eva May (McEvers) Cowley, and her sister,
Miss Maude McEvers, 1915‑1952.
With papers relating to the Bronnum estate, the First Presbyterian
Church, a travel diary (1931) to Montreat, North Carolina, Pensacola Yacht
Club, and Pensacola organizations.
428 items (1.02
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. S. G. Kennedy.
Accession M1975-19.
Crabtree, Ruth
Scrapbook, 1944,
compiled for a history class taught by Occie Clubbs, includes photographs,
maps, and publications on Pensacola history from 1559 to 1944, with emphasis on
1940-1944 and Pensacola during World War II.
Includes articles on the snowfall of December 1943.
1 item (40 pp.). Gift of Ruth Crabtree.
Accession M1968-11/68.
Crary, John
Williamson (1814-1897)
Inventor; Brickmaker;
Newspaper Editor.
Papers, 1834-1897,
including correspondence, copies of patents, drafts of editorials, newspaper
clippings, and family papers while in Pensacola and Bluff Springs,
Florida. With printing plate of cover
of Scientific American, January 1861, featuring Crary's Brickmaking
Machine.
Uncataloged. (.7 c.f., etc.).
Accession M1982-29.
Crawford, Webster
T.
"Once on the Rio
Sabinas," typescript history of the Redbones Indians of Western Louisiana
and the Sabine River Country (Texas/Louisiana border).
1 item (80 leaves,
photocopy). Gift of E. W. Carswell.
Accession M1968-11/27.
Creek Indian
Project
Records and Papers
pertaining to the Creek Indians of Northwest Florida, collected by the
University of West Florida faculty members, Jane Dysart and Lucius Ellsworth,
as part of a grant project. Records
include research bibliographies and research publications dealing with the
history of the Creek Indians from earliest settlement to 1980, census records,
claims made to the federal government in 1906 and 1957, a newspaper index of
materials about the Creeks in Northwest Florida (1950-1980), records about the
efforts toward formal recognition, and oral histories of Creek Indians of
Florida.
A detailed inventory
of the oral histories, narrators, and subjects is
available; narrators are listed in the index to this Guide.
1,096 items (2.7
c.f.). Gift of Drs. Jane Dysart and
Lucius Ellsworth.
Accession M1981-07.
Creek Nation
"Treaty with the
Creeks" August 7, 1790. Treaty
signed by Alexander McGillivray of Pensacola, and 26 Creek Indian chiefs with
President George Washington pledging mutual peace and friendship.
17 negative photostats
from the National Archives, Washington, D.C.
Accession M1968-11/35.
Crist, Anna
Louise
Reminiscences of a
schoolteacher of Milton and Mulat, Santa Rosa County, ca. 1903, as published in
various issues of the Milton Gazette, 1951-1952.
14 items. Gift of Mrs. Jassamine Shubert.
Accession M1973-09.
Crosby, Harold
Bryan
Lawyer; President,
University of West Florida; President, Florida International University;
Regents Professor, UWF.
Personal and
professional papers, 1939-1993, reflecting his activities in the Army Air Corps
(1942-1955), education at Converse College and the University of Florida Law
School, as a member of the Pensacola law firm, Yonge, Beggs, and Lane
(1950-1951), as a faculty member and dean at University of Florida (1953-1962),
as President of the University of West Florida (1964- 1974), as President of
Florida International University (1975-1977), law practice in Tallahassee and
Pensacola (1977-1993), as Special Master in equal employment opportunity cases
of Stallworth vs. Monsanto (1973-1980) and in a similar suit against Eglin Air
Force Base (1981-1991), and as Regents Professor, University of West Florida,
1980- .
Correspondents include
George Smathers, Adlai Stevenson, Leroy Collins, and Edmund Skellings. Other major subjects include the Crosby
Family, the R. B. Camp Estate, Lt. Col. William B. Maxwell, the Leroy Collins
for Governor campaign (1954-1955), the Florida Endowment for the Humanities
(1973-1976), Junior Achievement of Pensacola, United Way of Escambia County
(1968-1970), the Pensacola Rotary Club, and the Escambia County Juvenile Court
Board of Advisors (1952) which includes history of juvenile law in Florida,
1825-1952.
Partly cataloged. (25.0 c.f., est.). Gift of Harold B. Crosby.
Accessions M1980-02
and M1981-35.
Cumberland,
Richard
Journal, 1779-1781,
with correspondence and related materials concerning his secret negotiations on
behalf of Great Britain to Spain.
Microfilm. Original in British Museum, Add. 28,851.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 26.
Curenton, Mark C.
Personal papers,
1989-1990, including correspondence, draft plans, and maps of the downtown area
of Port St. Joe, Florida in preparation of a Downtown Redevelopment Plan, as
part of the Community Redevelopment Center, University of Florida.
See also his history
of the Sixth Florida Volunteer Infantry (West Florida Collection No. 615), a
Confederate Civil War Regiment from Walton County.
21 items. Gift of Mark C. Curenton.
Accession M1990-04 SC.
Currin, Reverend Beverly Madison.
Papers, 1958-2002, of Reverend Currin, Rector of Christ Episcopal Church, Pensacola, Florida, consisting primarily of sermons, meditations, and related writings. Of special note are the “annual state of the parish” sermon given in January that highlights changes in the church (e.g. membership, building programs, finances, activities).
1,220 items. 2.0 c.f. Gift of Rev. B. M. Currin, 2003.
Accession M2002-07.