Baars Family
Papers
Personal papers and
business records, 1857-1960, of Henry G. S. Baars, his wife, Mary Elison
(Minnie) Dunwoody, and their four children: John Ernest, Theodore Dunwoody,
Henry G. S., and Annie E. Baars, of Pensacola, Florida. Records include correspondence, ledgers,
photographs, maps, genealogy, and related records documenting family life and
the professional life of Henry Baars, an exporter of lumber and timber, a real
estate developer, and as vice-consul for the Austro-Hungarian Empire at
Pensacola.
Papers include
abstracts, contracts, deeds, land patents, land maps, maps of the Pensacola
wharf area and various Spanish land grants, stock certificates, tax records,
and other business records for the Baars & Caldwell Realty Company, Baars
& Hudson Export Company, Baars Air Field, Baars Export Company,
Baars-Caldwell-Freeman Company, Bagdad Shipbuilding Company, Baylen Street
Wharf, Bermancald Land Company, Christ Episcopal Church, Cordova Bridge,
Cordova Park, Dunwoody-Aiken Towboat Company, Garcon Point, Gulf Export
Company, Gulf View Heights Company, H. Baars & Company, Lakeview Haven
Company, Lakeview Property, Lakeview Streetcar Company, Magnolia Bluff
Addition, Maura Place, McDavid-Hyer Company, Metro Hat Works, Palafox Shipbuilding
Company, Pensacola Apartment House Company, Pensacola Shipbuilding Company,
Richland Farms, and the Silver Shores Hotel Company.
Key correspondents
include Reverend Henry C. Blandford, Annie E. Baars Blandford, John A. Merritt,
and Alexander and Mary D. Stoddard.
Other materials include reminiscences and memoirs of Bryan Dunwoody, and
of "Will" Jones Dunwoody (1895) on the Civil War, and minutes of the
Pensacola City Council, 1948-1949.
A detailed collection
inventory and comprehensive index is available in the Department.
4,291 items (8.0
c.f.). Gift of the Estate of Henry G.
Baars.
Accession M1985-20.
Bailey, Thomas
David (1897-1974)
Florida Superintendent
of Public Instruction, 1949-1965.
Papers, 1939-1974,
including correspondence, speeches, photographs, publications, and biographical
materials, relating to his activities as Florida Superintendent of Public
Instruction, and work on behalf of education, and educational subjects such as
desegregation. Includes his acceptance
speech upon the dedication of the University of West Florida's first
administration/classroom complex (Buildings 10, 11, and 12) as the Bailey
Center, October 9, 1966.
About 150 items (.35
c.f.). Gift of Thomas D. Bailey.
Accession M1968-16.
Baker-Holt School
Collection
Materials concerning
the history and development of Baker-Holt School in Okaloosa County, including
publications, grant applications, evaluations, and related materials.
6 items (.35
c.f.).
Accession M1983-08.
Baker-Watson
Papers
Family papers, 1863-1925,
relating to the Baker family of Jackson County, Florida and the William H.
Watson family of Pensacola, Florida. Includes land deeds, conveyances, tax
receipts, family letters, lineage chart and photographs. Principal correspondents include James L.G.
Baker, James L. Baker, Mary Jane Daffin, James S. Baker, William H. Watson,
Jr., James B. Watson and Mrs. Elizabeth Dickinson.
41 items. Gift of Mrs. James B. Watson.
Accession M1980-05 SC.
Baptist Hospital,
Pensacola, Florida
Minutes, reports and working
papers of the Institutional Review Board of Baptist Hospital, 1982- .
The committee reviews proposed research that involves human subjects
including the use of new technology, lasers, and methodology.
78 items (.35
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Richard C. Smith.
Accession M1987-08.
Baroco, James
Herbert (1917-1978)
Papers, maps and
photographs relating to the Spanish Village on Santa Rosa Island as
reconstructed during the Florida Quadricentennial Celebration, 1959.
30 items. Gift of James H. Baroco.
Accession M1968-13/85.
Barrineau,
Barbara
Personal papers
1946-1951, including a scrapbook, publications, commencement and football
programs, and other papers reflecting activities as a student at Pensacola High
School (1946-1948), as a student nurse at Sacred Heart Hospital School of
Nursing (1948-1951) and at Pensacola Hospital School of Nursing Education
(1948), and other activities in Pensacola during this time period.
69 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Barbara Barrineau (Mrs.
R. W. Schreiner).
Accession M1981-13.
Battle, Josephine
Postmaster,
Warrington, Florida.
Personal papers
including photocopies and photographs of biographical information and materials
concerning the history of Pensacola Navy Yard and Warrington, Florida.
16 items. Gift of Mrs. John R. Battle.
Accession M1981-30 SC.
Bay County
Papers.
Collection of
materials including manuscripts, photocopies, photographs, maps, and
publications pertaining to Bay County, Florida, and to Panama City and St.
Andrews Bay. Subjects include St.
Andrews Bay Railroad Company (1889-1895), Bay County Chamber of Commerce,
Panama City Port Authority, the United States Navy Mine Defense Laboratory,
International Paper Company, the Confederate Salt Works, and the United States
Naval Coastal Systems, along with other reports and planning documents dealing
with the environment, archaeology, history, and local writers.
Selected
correspondents and biographical material include Dora Maud Aldridge, Ethel
Glass, John W. Askew, George Percy, Angus Laird, Bill Pevey, Jesse B. Hathaway,
A. D. Bache, W. A. Brown, and D. K. Middleton.
Users should consult
the collection inventory for detailed list of contents, as well as considerable
additional material on the County indexed in the Bibliography of West
Florida.
60 items (.34
c.f.). Gifts of various donors.
Accession M1973-14.
Bay Point Mill
Company
Records and papers of
the Bay Point Mill Company, 1868-1955, including correspondence, contracts,
land abstracts, timber deeds, mortgages, vouchers, tax records, account
ledgers, letterbooks, code books, legal papers, and minutes of the Board of
Directors. Includes some photographs
and materials for the Rosasco Brothers company. Subjects covered include lumbering, shipping, the Pine Institute
of America, the Florida Land Owner's Association, the Rosasco Brothers Shipping
Company, and related operations of the mill in Santa Rosa County, Florida. Some records are in Italian reflecting the
work of the Genoa branch of the Rosasco Brothers company.
24 ledgers and 5.53
c.f. Gifts of William S. Rosasco III,
and Adelia
Rosasco-Soule.
Accessions M1979-04,
M1979-09, and M1981-44.
Beggs and Lane
Collection
Records, 1906-1930, of
the law firm of Blount and Blount and Carter, Pensacola, Florida, predecessor
of the firm of Beggs and Lane, comprising case files, correspondence, legal
briefs, photographs, abstracts, and other materials concerning the activities
of the law partners and clients of the firm.
The company was headed by William A. Blount (1851-1820), and partners
Alexander Clement Blount, and Francis B. Carter, former justice of the Supreme
Court of Florida.
Included among William
A. Blount's papers are personal correspondence from family members;
genealogical notes; his files on the construction of the Blount Building
(1907), and his estate, Sea Marge (1908); his campaign for the U. S. Senate in
1910; some of his work as trustee for the estate of H. M. Flagler and Mary Lily
Flagler Bingham, and as attorney for the Florida East Coast Railroad; his work
as president of the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws,
and his presidency of the American Bar Association, 1920-1921.
The records of the
firm are extensive as this firm was the corporate attorney for numerous West
Florida businesses including railroad and lumber companies. Select subjects include the American Lumber
Company, Bagdad Land and Lumber Company, Birmingham, Columbus & St. Andrews
Railroad Company, the Children's Home Society of Florida, Escambia County, the
Escambia County School Board, the Escambia Gulf Beach Hotel, the First National
Bank of Pensacola, First Methodist Episcopal Church, Duncan U. Fletcher,
Florida Chautauqua, Florida Colonization and Industrial Company of Chicago,
Forbes Company, German-American Lumber Company, Gulf Power Company, Kupfrian
Park Company, Okaloosa County, City of Pensacola, Pensacola Electric Company,
Pensacola Electric Terminal Company (Streetcars), Pensacola and Hervey Hotel
Company (San Carlos Hotel), Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph Company,
South Florida Stores Corporation (Piggly-Wiggly Stores), Tampa Electric
Company, and the Valparaiso Development Company.
Other files includes
such topics as bank closures, suits to recover Union Army damages during the
Civil War, workmen's compensation cases, land boundary disputes, the streetcar
strike in 1908, the organization and operation of businesses, and records
accumulated by the business and partners reflecting civic and social life in
the West Florida region, 1906-1930.
Users are strongly urged
to consult the separate index and inventory (150 pp.) to this collection, for
there exists material on nearly every issue affecting the West Florida region
of the early twentieth century. See
also the Alexander Clement Blount papers, and the Blount Family papers, noted
elsewhere in this guide.
57,799 items (77.4
c.f.). Gift of the Beggs and Lane law
firm.
Accession M1984-20.
Belandville
Papers
Belandville, Florida
was situated in northeastern Santa Rosa County, founded by Albert J. Beland,
and promoted as a settlement for French-Canadians. Papers include publications, maps, promotional literature,
business and personal papers of Beland, and related items.
5 microfilm
reels. Originals in possession of
Beland Family.
Accession M1980-06.
Bellin, Jacques
Nicholas (1703-1772)
"Observations sur
la carte du Golphe du Mexique" [Paris: 1767?], with unsigned manuscript,
"Memoire sur la Caroline et le commerce de la France ..."
[Charleston: 1786].
2 photocopies. Gift of Mrs. William J. Hudson.
Accession M1968-11/57.
Bennett, Dr. Hite
(1927-1988)
UWF Associate
Professor of Finance and Accounting, 1969-1988.
Personal papers,
1969-1988, including correspondence, committee files, and papers related to his
teaching and to the activities of his department and college. Subject files include the Business College
Council, the Department of Finance and Accounting, and the Northwest Florida
Blood Bank.
738 items (1.40
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Gregory Yost.
Accession M1988-08.
Beta Sigma Phi
Records of the Florida
Kappa Theta Chapter of Pensacola, FL, 1969-1974, including minutes, attendance
registers, financial reports, and other materials about this women's
organization.
5 volumes.
Accession M1980-13 SC.
Biasco, Frank
UWF Associate
Professor of Psychology.
Records as a member of
the Escambia County School Board, 1976-1980 including minutes, reports,
publications, and related subject files.
Provisional
description pending cataloging. Gift of
Dr. Frank Biasco.
Accession M1984-17.
Bibliography of
West Florida
The Bibliography of
West Florida is an ongoing project of the Special Collections Department to
discover, acquire, and annotate all published materials relating to the West
Florida region. Listings include books,
journal articles, government publications, technical reports, dissertations,
and other kinds of publications covering history, biography, science, the
environment, genealogy, literature, and other subjects so long as they reflect
some aspect of the West Florida region and its people.
UWF Library Director
James A. Servies edited and published Volumes 1-4
in 1981; Volumes 5-8 are edited by Dean DeBolt and additional entries
continue to be added. Entries are
arranged chronologically by year of publication.
The eight volumes are:
Volume 1
-- Materials published between 1535 and 1915.
Volume 2
-- Materials published between 1915 and 1971.
Volume 3
-- Index to Volumes 1 and 2.
Volume 4
-- Also called supplement; additional entries for the
period
1535-1971, and also covers 1972 through 1981.
Volume 5
-- Newly-found items published between 1535 and 1945.
Volume 6
-- Newly-found items published between 1946 and 1981.
Volume 7
-- Materials published between 1982 and 1991.
Volume 8
-- Additional citations to 1535-1991, and 1992-present.
Nearly all materials cited are owned by the John C. Pace Library, many
of them being in the BWF files of the Special Collections Department. Users should consult the indexes for further
research information.
Bickford-Jones
Memorial Library, Ferry Pass, Florida
Manuscript and
typescript catalog of the library, 1932-1937.
Created by the Ferry Pass Woman's Club (organized in 1909), the original
collection was donated by Mrs. Myron L. Bickford and the site by Mrs. Austin
Jones. With typescript history of Ferry
Pass by Mrs. Georgia Parazine and 1953 newspaper clipping on the Club and
Library Association.
2 items (100
leaves). Gift of the Library Trustees.
Accession M1968-11/6.
Biography
Collections
Special Collections
maintains a Biography Collection consisting of newspaper clippings, articles,
pamphlets, brochures, and other materials about West Florida individuals and
families, arranged alphabetically by surname.
Includes living and deceased West Florida residents and families. A full index is available in the Department.
675 folders. Various donors.
Accession M1982-11.
Blount, Alexander
Clement, III (1889-1978)
Pensacola Lawyer;
Savings and Loan Administrator
Personal and business
papers, 1900-1975, including legal case and collection files, 1900-1918,
including those as a law agent for the Louisville and Nashville Railroad,
1914-1917; real estate transaction papers both as an administrator of real
estate and trusts records of organizations and companies where Mr. Blount was
an officer or director. These include records of the Bayou Chico Land Company,
1941-1963; the Children's Home Society of Florida, Pensacola branch, 1940-1955;
the Crippled Children's Commission, 1930; the Federal Home Loan Bank of
Greensboro, North Carolina, 1952-1956; Gulf Power Company, 1950-1968; the
Institute of Government, 1946-1948; Mutual Federal Savings and Loan
Association, 1920-1975; the Pensacola Rotary Club, 1940-1947; the Savage
Turpentine Company, 1900-1968; the United States Savings and Loan League,
1944-1950; and the Visiting Nurse Association of Pensacola, 1944-1954.
Mr. Blount's papers
include genealogical and biographical material
about the Blount family in Florida and North Carolina, newspaper
clippings about A. C. Blount, and correspondence of Mary Ida Saunders,
1914-1918, while a student at Shorter College in Rome, Georgia prior to their
marriage in 1917.
12,067 items (10.34
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. A. D. (Edna Ard)
Blount.
Accession M1982-18.
Blount Family
Papers
Correspondence, business
papers, maps and family papers, 1726‑1965, relating to the Blount family
of North Carolina and Florida, particularly William Alexander Blount (1851‑1921)
and his son, Fernando Moreno Blount (1882‑1966), of Pensacola. Includes genealogical papers relating to the
Blount family of North Carolina and the Moreno family of Key West and
Pensacola.
The papers of W. A.
Blount include his letterbooks, 1909‑1911, documenting his unsuccessful
campaign for election as U.S. Senator; papers relating to the estate of George
G. McWhorter, 1890‑1896; correspondence with James P. Taliaferro, Booker
T. Washington, Theodore Roosevelt, Albert W. Gilchrist, Duncan U. Fletcher, and
others, touching political and social activities in Pensacola and at the Navy
Yard; and documents relating to the settlement of his estate, 1906‑1933.
The papers of his son,
F. M. Blount, include correspondence with
F. F. Bingham, Millard Caldwell, Scott Loftin, C. P. Mason, John C.
Pace, George Smathers, David S. Sholtz, Julien C. Yonge, and others,
1920-1950. A large group of legal
papers touches upon the Barella Grant and the Live Oak Reservation, 1828‑1936,
and includes notes of Joseph M. White, Henry M. Brackenridge, and other owners
or claimants. With papers relating to
Mr. Blount's architectural and legal practice in Escambia County, especially
touching affairs at the Naval Air Station; the Pensacola Chamber of Commerce,
1906‑1930; the estate of William Fisher, 1919‑1938; the Civil Works
Administration, 1932‑1934; the Pensacola Port Authority and the Santa
Rosa Island Authority; 1945-1947; City of Pensacola bonds and finances, 1949‑1955;
with other family papers, photographs and local maps.
See also Beggs and
Lane Collection, and Alexander Clement Blount Papers listed elsewhere in this
guide.
6,780 items (7.48
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Fred A. Blount.
Accession M1967-01.
Blueprint
Collection
Individual blueprints
and architectural drawings acquired by Special Collections are placed in this
collection, numerically as received. A
full description of each item is listed on the collection inventory, and
individual name and subject tracings are made as needed for each accession.
Blueprints and
drawings may also be found within manuscript collections, such as family and
business papers. Drawings acquired with
related documentary materials are normally retained with those
collections. Examples of blueprints in
the collection include drawings for Sacred Heart Hospital (1962) and the W. C.
Payne Medical Arts Building (1974), Pensacola.
Ca. 150 items; partly
uncataloged. Gift of various donors.
Accession M1992-11.
Boland, John M.
(d. 1969)
Realtor.
Personal papers,
1919-1969, including correspondence,
business records, imprints, legal papers, land maps, plans and photographs
relating to his activities as a realtor, including land speculation at Garcon
Point, the San Carlos Hotel, Perdido Manor, Gulf Breeze, and Santa Rosa County;
with papers relating to his wife, the former Mrs. Anna Shafer (d. 1975), and
her satsuma plantation, "Renz Anna," west of Pensacola 1878-1970.
719 items (1.7
c.f.). Gift of the Estate of John
Boland.
Accession M1976-08.
Bonifay, Inez (d.
1977)
Family papers, 1873‑1976,
including correspondence, photographs, funeral notices, history of Fisher-Pou
funeral home, and memorabilia, with additional papers of her brother, Harry
Haley, a ship's engineer, including the logbook of the S. S. Hulver, 1927-1928.
316 items. Gift of Mr. Barry Bonifay.
Accession M1977-16.
Bonifay Family
Papers
Family papers, West
Florida imprints and printed ephemera, 1853‑1930, including greeting
cards, Pensacola postcards, communion record of Walter B. Maher, and
photographs of the Apalachicola Northern Railroad, assembled by Mrs. W. W.
Kyle.
260 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Inez Bonifay.
Accession M1968-17.
Bouquet, Henry
(1719-1795)
Inventory of personal
effects and household goods at Pensacola, Florida, September 4, 1765, prepared
by Governor Johnstone and other estate executors; with additional estate
administration records.
1 microfilm reel. Original file in British Museum, Add.
21,658.
Panton, Leslie &
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 25.
Bowens Family
Papers
Correspondence,
1910-1967, of Domingas Marcella Avery Bowens, Pensacola, her husband, George
Bowens, a ship's mate (1920-1940s), and her son, Bertram Bowens, U.S. Army
(1945-1950s), with additional letters between the Bowens family members in
Maryland and Rhode Island, and the Duarte family of Providence, Rhode Island. Letters concern life in Pensacola, sea
trips of George to Europe, Cuba, and other ports, and Army life for Bertram.
276 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of Churchill Roberts and
Bill Henderson.
Accession M1979-12.
Bowles, William
Augustus (1764-1805)
Letter, October 31,
1799 from Wekiva complaining of the bestowal of Cherokee and Muskogee Indian
lands on disbanded Revolutionary War soldiers, violations of Indian treaties in
the Gulf states, actions of the Panton, Leslie and Company, and other
injustices.
9 leaves, photocopy. Newberry Library copy from AGI series,
Seville.
Accession M1968-11/24.
Bowman, Dicy
Villar
Personal papers,
1966-1969, of Dicy Villar Bowman, Pensacola, Florida, as a member of the State
Courses of Study Committee, Florida Department of Education. Papers include minutes, reports, and
materials concerning textbook selection for state schools.
45 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Dicy Villar Bowman.
Accession M1984-19.
Boyer, Lucille
(1894-1968)
Papers, 1903-1966,
including correspondence, poetry, a diary, and other materials covering family
life, her father Herbert H. Boyer, her brother-in-law Harry Lurton, and her
school years at Pensacola High School (class of 1917). With minutes and attendance records,
1960-1969, of The Caxtons, a woman's literary club.
666 items (.68
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Harriet Major.
Accession M1978-01.
Brackenridge,
Henry Marie (1786-1871)
Photocopies of
manuscript letters, including a letter to Caesar A. Rodney in 1821 on Jackson's
treatment of Governor Callava, as well as letters to his wife Caroline
Brackenridge, 1827-1832, written from Pensacola, Tallahassee, Alaqua, the Live
Oak Reservation, and other places in West Florida regarding business and legal
affairs in the Territory. With draft
and final typescript transcripts.
Researchers should
also consult books authored by Brackenridge as well as citations in the Bibliography
of West Florida.
89 items (.35
c.f.). Originals owned by the
University of Pittsburgh Library and the Missouri Historical Society.
Accession M1983-01.
Bragg, Braxton
Commander, Confederate
Troops at Pensacola, 1861-1862
Microfilm of the
Pensacola portion of the Braxton Bragg Papers, 1861, dealing with activities at
Pensacola, attack on Fort Pickens, correspondence from Montgomery and Richmond,
and other materials relating to the defense of Pensacola.
1 microfilm reel. Purchase, Case Western Reserve Historical
Society.
Accession M1983-26.
Briggs, Warren
Personal papers,
1976-1979, including his records as chairman of the task force for Action 76
goal setting (1976-1977) and as coordinator of Citizens Goals for
Pensacola-Escambia (1977-1979). The
Action 76 papers include materials concerning the celebration of the American
Bicentennial in Florida and Pensacola, the development of citizens' surveys,
and publications about the Pensacola Navy Yard, British West Florida, and a
history of industrialization in Pensacola.
Also included are histories of Tate High School, the dedication of Fort
George Park, and dedication of the William Bartram marker.
Citizens Goals for
Pensacola-Escambia grew out of the Action 76 citizen goal-setting program and
attempted to develop long-term goal setting for the area for the next five
years. These materials include reports
of task Forces in each subject area, newspaper clippings, and final reports,
1977-1979.
125 items (.35
c.f.) Gift of Warren Briggs.
Accession M1981-45.
British Museum.
Manuscript, journal of
an officer who travelled over a part of the West Indies and through North
America during 1764 and 1765. Includes
extensive descriptions of Pensacola, the forts, Santa Rosa Island, the food,
climate, Indians, and trips to Mobile, Alabama (1764).
Microfilm. Original in the British Museum titled
"King's Mss. 213."
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm No. 29.
Brosnaham,
Maybelle
Manuscript cookbook,
ca. 1920, with 56 photographs, ca. 1920‑1940, many unidentified, but one
shows Sacred Heart Hospital under construction.
1 volume and 56
photographs. Gift of Mrs. Edna Cobb
Accession M1968-11/83.
Browder, Lloyd
Earl (1903-1980)
Inventor; Pensacola
Real Estate Developer.
Personal papers,
1919-1972 including letters, newspaper clippings, financial and income tax
records, and other papers concerning his interests in the Bayside Tourist Park,
Bay View Trailer Park, Dead Lakes Fishing Camp, the Santa Villa subdivision,
and the Browder Fixture Company in St. Louis.
236 items (.35
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Richard Merritt,
Jr.
Accession M1981-03.
Brown, Wallace
Neal (1914-1976)
Papers relating to Mr.
Brown's service in the U.S. Navy, the Civil Air Patrol, and the Pratt &
Whitney Company. Includes his flight
log book, 1939‑1942; log of Torpedo Squadron 85, 1944‑1945; and
other papers relating to his work at Pratt & Whitney.
92 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of the Estate of Wallace N. Brown.
Accession M1977-04.
Brownsville
School Records
Parent-Teachers
Association records, 1938-1975, including scrapbooks, photographs, minutes of
meetings, publications, yearbooks, correspondence and financial records.
18 scrapbooks and 2
boxes (.8 c.f.). Gift of Betty Clark.
Accession M1982-14.
Bruce, William
George
Photocopies of a diary
of a trip south, 1921, and a scrapbook, 1881-1978, of William George Bruce, a
Milwaukee, Wisconsin businessman and
Pensacola, Florida shipyard owner.
The diary documents Mr. Bruce's trip to New Orleans and Pensacola,
including the Pensacola Navy Yard, and the Bruce, Ollinger, and Watson
families, with photographs. The
scrapbook covers newspaper clippings, especially family marriages and deaths,
for Milwaukee, Wisconsin and Pensacola, Milton, Bagdad and Blackwater,
Florida. Subjects include poetry,
yellow fever, race problems, and the Blackwater Academy. A separate index is available.
5 items (.45 c.f.).
Accession M1985-10.
Bruington, Lola
Lee Daniels
Oral history interview
of Lola Lee Daniels Bruington, of Pensacola, by Sandra F. Whitehead with tapes
and typed transcripts. Mrs. Bruington
discusses area cemeteries, (especially St. Michaels), the red light district, bootlegging,
her work as educator and nurse at Camp Dix, Bellevue Hospital, and at Vassar,
and her childhood and life in Pensacola.
4 items (.18
c.f.). Gift of Dr. Dallas Blanchard.
Accession M1987-10.
Bryans, Dr.
Herbert L. (1899-1961)
Personal and business
records including correspondence, reports, minutes, programs, and patient case
files. Includes the business records of
Bryan's Pharmacy including receipts, narcotic and drug records, and accounting
files. The files of organizations
include comprehensive records pertaining to Dr. Bryan's service as a member and
officer of many key Florida medical associations; these include the American
Medical Association, 1928-1956; the Escambia Blood Bank, 1960; the Escambia
County School Board, 1914-1951; the Florida Crippled Children's Commission,
1940-1954; the Florida Medical Association, 1926-1961; the Florida Nurses
Association, 1950-1957; and the Florida State Board of Health, 1933-1959.
Other organizations
and correspondents include the American College of Physicians, 1928-1938,
Baptist Hospital, Chemstrand Corporation, Edward J. Kelly (Mayor of Chicago),
Oscar G. Mayer, Pensacola Hospital, C. W. Mayo, Sacred Heart Hospital, John C.
McSween, the Escambia County Medical Society, Escambia General Hospital,
Florida Governors Fuller Warren and LeRoy Collins, the U.S. Public Health
Service, and Zelica Grotto, order of Veiled Prophets.
Includes biographical
materials of his father, Dr. Robert L. Bryans, and records of the Escambia
County Board of Health, 1885-1889, 1931.
4,716 items (7.58
c.f.). Gift of Robert L. Bryans.
Accession M1982-08.
Bryans, Dr.
Herbert L. (1899-1961)
Patient medical
records of Dr. Herbert Lee Bryans of Pensacola, Florida. 4,300
items. Restricted access.
Accession M1980-07.
Bryars, J. L.
Farmer and itinerant
preacher; Pine Barren, Florida.
Journals, 1884‑1892,
with notes of converts at such churches as Beulah Church, Perdido Church, and
others in Escambia Counties, Florida and Alabama, and reports to the State
Mission Board. With 1865 letter of M.
H. Daily, CSA, relating his experiences as a prisoner of war in Maryland.
10 items
(photocopies). Originals in possession
of Mrs. Lee Gilmore.
Accession M1973-08,
folders 19-22.
Buchli, James F.
Astronaut; UWF Alumnus
Photographs and
artifacts pertaining to his mission aboard the Space Shuttle Discovery, January 24-27, 1985. Materials include photographs of launch and
landing, patches flown aboard the spacecraft, and information on the flight
crew. Designated mission #51C, this was
the 15th flight of the Space Shuttle, and the first Department of Defense
mission; the flight was for 48 orbits with takeoff and landing at the Kennedy
Space Center, Florida.
7 items. Gift of James F. Buchli.
Accession M1985-01.
Bullard, James G.
Letter, April 10,
1861, written to his wife from Fort McRae.
1 piece
(photocopy). Gift of Pensacola
Historical Society.
Accession M1968-13/54.
Burgoyne, Bruce
Photocopies of
research files including his translations of the Carl Philipp Steuernagel
diary, 1773-1783, and the diary of Philipp Waldeck, both of whom were German
mercenaries who saw service in the British Army in West Florida during the
American Revolution. Also includes
Burgoyne's typescript transcripts in German of the original manuscripts.
10 items (.53
c.f.). Gift of Bruce Burgoyne.
Accession M1983-09.
Burke, Yolanda
Pinney
Personal papers
consisting of photocopies of genealogical information and photographs of family
members. Included are the Burke,
Clifford, Fell, Mooney, and Pinney families, with additional materials on
Thomas J. White, Joseph L. White, Carl Timothy Hoffman, and Robert Fell, a
carpenter in the U.S. Navy from 1803 to 1820.
56 items. Gift of Mrs. Yolanda Burke.
Accession M1981-18 SC.
Burrow, Dorothy
(1902-1980)
Personal papers,
1840-1979, including records as a student, 1916-1919; as a teacher at Pensacola
High School, 1928-1967; memorabilia and letters about life at Florida State
College for Women, 1919-1923; summer studies at Columbia, 1927; the University
of Virginia, 1938; and the University of Wisconsin, 1930. Includes considerable family records of her
parents, John McMillan Burrow and Nelle Agnes Barrington Burrow and other
relatives including the Anderson, Burrow, Cresap, Pyle, and Vaughn families of
Pensacola; the Barrington, Burrow, Conner families of Wabash, Indiana; and the
Medbury and Phillips families of St. Mary's, Ohio.
Subject files include
the First Presbyterian Church, Pensacola, 1917- 1959, and the hurricanes of
1906 and 1926. Of special note are the
letters of two brothers and a nephew of their studies at Annapolis Naval
Academy (1920s, 1930s, and 1950s) and subsequent correspondence about life in
the Navy, especially the Naval destroyer accident in 1938.
Additional items include
a collection of paper dolls, 1910-1918, mostly from the Ladies Home Journal,
and small collections of Christmas, Valentine, and Easter greeting cards, 1890s
to 1950.
1,489 items (1.5
c.f.). Gift of the estate of Dorothy
Burrow.
Accession M1983-04.
Busey, Samuel T.
Colonel, 76th Illinois
Infantry.
Selected diary entries
for February 16, 1865 to April 23, 1865 covering his arrival at Fort Barrancas,
Pensacola, and the battle at Spanish Fort.
6 leaves
(photocopies).
West Florida
Collection No. 95.
Butt, Arthur
Jordan (b. 1914)
Reprints of medical
writings, reviews of his published works, and family papers, 1942-1972. Includes printed text of Albert Einstein, Zur
Einheitlichen Feldtheorie (1929); medical fee books, 1961‑1966; and
family papers, 1942‑1970.
417 items. Gift of Dr. A. J. Butt.
Accession M1968-01.
Butt Family
Papers
Family papers,
photographs, and genealogical notes of the Butt, Banks, Shephard, and Alston
families of Georgia, Alabama, and Florida, 1837‑1970. With correspondence, railroad ephemera,
photographs and other papers collected by A. J. Butt, Sr., former president of
Pensacola Hardware Company.
78 items, 12
scrapbooks. Gift of Dr. A. J. Butt,
Jr., and Mrs. Katie Butt Houston.
Accession M1976-05.