Abercrombie,
Lelia (b.1892)
Letter on the illness
of her father, Capt. J. Ed. Abercrombie, April 1, 1924, withdrawal from race
for Pensacola Harbor Master and endorsing Capt. H. T. Hansen for the position.
10 items
(photocopies). Originals owned by Miss
Edna Hansen.
Accession M1968-13/83.
Action '76
Records, 1971-1976, of
the Pensacola-Escambia County Bicentennial Committee, including publications,
newspaper clippings, audiovisual materials, correspondence, research files, and
other materials concerning community activities to celebrate the American
Revolution Bicentennial, 1976.
7.45 c.f. Gift of James Jesse.
Accession M1976-11.
Adams, John
Quincy
A.L.S., July 3, 1823 to John B. C. Lucas of St. Louis, Missouri,
appointing him a commissioner to ascertain claims and titles to lands in West
Florida and requesting that he travel to Pensacola.
2 leaves,
photocopy. Original owned by the
Missouri Historical Society.
West Florida
Collection No. 97.
Aerial Map
Collection
Photographs, blueprints,
and related pictorial works consisting of aerial maps of areas of West
Florida. Holdings are listed on the
collection inventory and subject access is available.
Partly
uncataloged. Gift of various donors and
agencies, including the West Florida Regional Planning Council.
Accession M1992-17.
Alabama
Department of Archives and History
Photocopy typescripts
of materials concerning Pensacola, Florida, including a diary of Edward
Randolph, 1818, concerning the Indian War in West Florida; a travel account of
Thomas Stocks, 1819, (Georgia to Pensacola and return); a letter of Henry Hunt,
Fort Pickens, to Braxton Bragg, April 23, 1861; and letters of Mark Lyons,
1861-1865, a resident of Pensacola who saw service in Mississippi, Tennessee,
and Mobile, Alabama.
200 leaves (1 folder).
Accession
M1968-13/137.
Alabama Papers
Collection of
Alabama-related materials; includes A.L.S., Israel Pickens, Governor of
Alabama, February 4, 1823, recommending Col. Benjamin S. Smoot as Naval Agent
in Pensacola; a history of Flomaton, Alabama by Korrie Brown; and published
materials concerning Daphne, Fairhope, Bay Minette and Mobile, and other south
Alabama towns, formerly part of Spanish West Florida.
23 items (.34
c.f.). Gift of various donors.
Accession M1976-04.
Alba, Peter
Early settler of
Spanish Pensacola, and Pensacola Mayor (1823-24; 1830-1833).
Deeds and legal
papers, 1817‑1821, with other
family papers and a deed to lands in Millview.
16 items (part
photocopies). Gift of Mrs. Richard
Egan.
Accession M1975-04.
Alger-Sullivan
Historical Society
Research files,
1986-1989, to support nomination of the Alger-Sullivan Company in Century,
Florida, as a historic site; includes newspaper clippings, a history of Century
by Rebecca Degan, nomination forms, and bylaws of the Alger Sullivan Historical
Society.
1 folder (70 leaves).
West Florida
Collection No. 557.
Alger-Sullivan
Lumber Company
Ledgers, letterbooks,
and other business papers, 1900‑1957.
The company, one of
the largest industries in West Florida, was founded by Russell A. Alger (1836‑1907),
Secretary of War in the McKinley cabinet, and Martin H. Sullivan (d. 1911) of
Pensacola. The name of the town of
Century, Fla., derives from the date of the company's founding. Includes letters of Alger, 1900‑1901;
papers on Company lands in Florida and Alabama; and maps and blueprints of
property, 1911-1965. Also miscellaneous
papers relating to the
Republican party and the Presidential election of 1964, with lists of
voters in northern Escambia County; and papers and printed materials relating
to the Southern Pine Association, 1915‑1936.
345 volumes, 381 items
(5.02 c.f.). Gift of Mr. H. M. Dozier.
Accession M1974-12.
Allen, Stephen
Decatur
Surveying notes, Sept.‑Oct.,
1907, of lands in northern Escambia and Santa Rosa counties, and in southern
Alabama. With road surveys taken near
Bluff Springs and at various points near Jay.
1 volume
(photocopy). Original in possession of
Mr. M. L. Hall.
Accession M1973-07/2.
Alpha Delta Kappa, Alpha Chapter, Pensacola, Florida.
Records, 1953- , of the Alpha Chapter, Pensacola, Florida, of Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary sorority for women educations. Records consist of chapter scrapbooks which contain minutes, newspaper clippings, officer installations and banquets, reports of meetings, photographs, state and national convention materials, and other reocrds documenting the history of the organization and its activities with schools and school programs in Escambia County, Florida..
22 pieces. 4.0 c.f. Gift of organization, 2003.
Accession M2002-09.
American Almanacs
Collection of
almanacs, 1856-1865 including runs of Ayer's American Almanac, B.A. Fahenstock
& Co.'s, John P. Morton & Co.'s Western Farmer's Almanac, Merchant's
Gargling Oil Co.'s, Moffat's Almanac, Morton & Griswold's Western Farmer's
Almanac, and some issues of Harper's New Monthly Magazine, 1872-1888.
73 items. Gift of Dr. Ralph Birdwhistell.
Accession M1987-18.
American
Association of University Women.
Pensacola Branch
Correspondence,
scrapbooks, minutes and other papers relating to the history and civic
activities of the organization, 1926‑1972.
2.34 c.f. and 18
scrapbooks.
Accession M1974-15.
American Business
Women's Association. Pensacola Chapter
Records, 1962-1982,
including correspondence, minutes, newsletters, scrapbooks, and materials from
the National American Business Women's Association.
1,198 items (1.23
c.f.). Gift of Eve Windsor.
Accession M1985-14.
American Red
Cross. Pensacola Chapter
Organization papers
and minutes, 1917, with notes of activities in the chapter's first year of
operation.
1 item
(photocopy). Original in possession of
the Chapter.
Accession M1968-13/33.
American Sunday
School Union Papers
Photocopies of reports
of West Florida missionaries of the American Sunday School Union, 1882-1905,
including Rufus D. Burrows, W. F. Watts, A. T. Sims, C. J. Hammitt, and G. E.
Mize. The reports concern travels
through West Florida, Sunday Schools visited or established, statistics such as
enrollment, names of churches and ministers, and related data.
82 items. From the American Sunday School Union Papers
(MF).
Accession M1982-03 SC.
Anderson, Edward
Clifford
Portions of a diary,
1844, relating to his experiences with the U. S. Navy along the Florida coast,
including references to Jonathan Walker's imprisonment at Pensacola.
1 microfilm reel. From the Anderson papers, University of
North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill.
Accession M1968-11/44.
Anderson Family
Papers
Photographs and
personal papers, 1828-1931, of the Anderson, Craig, Hargis, Holden, Kryger, McConaughy,
and Pape families of Mobile, Alabama; Pensacola, Tallahassee and Deland,
Florida. Includes records concerning
Dr. Warren E. Anderson and early hospitals in Pensacola including St. Anthony's
Sanitarium and the Pensacola Infirmary among others, and early nurses training
under F. Elizabeth Crowell. Detailed
inventory and alphabetical name index available.
179 items (.9
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. William K. Beard.
Accession M1981-20.
Apalachicola,
Florida
General papers,
including extracts pertaining to the community from Florida newspapers, 1821‑1860;
materials on the Bay City Packing Company; a census taken in 1884-1885 by City
Marshal Patrick Lovett, with typescript by Mrs. Rose Gibbons Lovett. Also microfilm copy of City minutes and
other papers, 1871‑1891; including record of cattle brands, 1874‑1880,
and cemetery burial permits, 1856‑1885.
12 items
(photocopies), and 1 microfilm reel.
Gift, microfilm by Samford University from originals in possession of
Mrs. R. G. Lovett.
West Florida Collection Nos. 125-128, and Microfilm No.
175.
Archives of the
Spanish Government of West Florida
Prepared by the Works
Progress Administration of Louisiana in 1940, and edited by Mary Claire
Berthelot, these are typescript translations, in 8 volumes of a group of
Spanish West Florida archives, comprising 18 bundles or volumes deposited in
the 19th Judicial District Court, East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. The original Spanish manuscripts in the 18
volumes are reproduced on microfilm reels 198-205 (8 reels) of the Panton,
Leslie and Company Research Collection.
This set may be
similar to Microfilm No. 285 (see entry no. 629, this guide) which is similarly
described as "Archives of the Spanish Government of West
Florida." However that set
consists of twelve reels and claims to be typescript translations of 19 bound
volumes of Spanish documents.
Microfilm, 6
reels.
Panton, Leslie and
Company Research Collection, Microfilm Nos. 216-221.
Archivo General
de Indias (AGI).
This collection is the
most important archives in Spain for research on the Floridas and Louisiana
under Spanish dominion. Individual
manuscripts are grouped in bundles known as legajos, and hundreds of legajos
and thousands of individual manuscripts from the Archivo are available in
typescript, photocopy, and microfilm throughout the United States. Special Collections has scattered legajos
and documents on microfilm and in photocopy form in the Panton, Leslie and
Company papers and in the Panton, Leslie, and Company microfilm research collections.
Other collections available include:
AGI. Calendar of
the Papeles de Cuba, 1781-1821.
A card catalog of
60,000 cards calendaring photocopies drawn from the Papeles de Cuba section of
the Archivo General de Indies; the photocopies are owned by the University of
Florida, Gainesville. Covers the
Spanish colonies in the Caribbean and North America, 1760-1821. Arrangement of the calendar is
chronological.
12 microfilm reels.
Microfilm No. 901.
AGI. Papeles de
Cuba.
Transcripts of Legajos
1568A-B and 1570A relating to affairs in West Florida, 1810-1811.
28 items
(photocopies). Originals in possession
of the Library of
Congress; gift of Dr. A. B. Thomas.
Accession M1973-05.
AGI. Stetson
Collection, 1512-1783.
A card catalog of 14,000
cards calendaring a collection of photocopies drawn from the Archivo General de
Indies, documenting Spanish activity in the in the Southeastern
borderlands. The Stetson Collection of
photocopies is owned by the University of Florida, Gainesville.
3 microfilm reels.
Microfilm No. 903.
Askew, Reubin
O'Donovan (b. 1928)
Program of a dinner
honoring Governor Askew, Scenic Hills Country Club, April 2, 1975, sponsored by
Pensacola Chamber of Commerce.
1 piece. Gift of Mrs. William Woolsey.
Accession M1968-13/56.
Association Books
Books owned and used
by notable West Florida individuals or families, or which in themselves offer
evidence or act as an artifact documenting an event or milestone in West
Florida history. Many items bear
inscriptions, autographs, and bookplates.
Includes 180 volumes, circa 1750-1850 from the library of Francisco and
Fernando Moreno; volumes from the Knox
Hill school (1840s) of Walton County; the personal library of Florida
Governor Sidney J. Catts; and other items.
Owners include Gustave and J. Newton Axelson, William H. Chase, Occie
Clubbs, Samuel French, Gilberto Guillemard, C. J. Heinberg, James N. Hyer,
Valentine King, C. E. McDougall, Martin McVoy, Stephen R. Mallory, Jr., Esther,
Mary, and John Newton, Desiderio Quina, Oliver J. Semmes, Silas Stearns,
Francis Taylor, Harry Toulmin, W. H. Watson, Joseph M. White, Julia J. Yonge,
and others. A detailed inventory is
available in the Special Collections Department.
Ca. 300 items. Gift of various donors.
Accession M1991-07.
Association of
Upper-Level Colleges and Universities
Records, 1970-1972,
consisting of the files of Peter Perceval, Director, UWF University Relations,
and Executive Secretary of the Association.
Includes correspondence, planning files for the International Conference
held at UWF in 1970, and related materials concerning the Association.
455 items (.7 c.f.).
Accession M1984-05.
Axelson Family
Papers
The Axelson Family
Papers, 1849-1944, comprise personal and business records for Presbyterian
minister John Newton (1814-1893); his daughters Mary and Esther; his
son-in-law, a ship's captain, Gustave Axelson (1858-1910); his grandson, John
Newton Axelson (1896-1964) of Pensacola, Florida; John D. C. Newton, and
related members of the Axelson and Rogers families of West Florida. The papers include letters, account books,
photographs, scrapbooks, school papers and copybooks, real estate and post
office records, and related materials about life in Eucheeanna, Mary Esther,
DeFuniak Springs, Knox Hill, Milton, and Pensacola, Florida.
Reverend John Newton's
papers cover his life as a teacher at Knox Hill Academy (1849-ca. 1863); the
Civil War in Florida; his travels as a Presbyterian minister in California,
Pennsylvania, Missouri, and Florida (1863-ca. 1870); his private school at Mary
Esther, Florida (1870-1888) with ministerial records of baptisms, marriages,
and his activities with the Florida Chautauqua, in real estate, and as
postmaster at Mary Esther (1871-1890).
The papers of Gustave
Axelson, 1888-1911, a ship's captain, include account books and shipping
records for trips along the Gulf Coast and Caribbean with letters to his wife,
Esther Newton, and children describing sea life and the ports at Pensacola,
Mary Esther, Key West, Key Largo, and Jacksonville, Florida as well as
Baltimore, New Orleans, Cuba, Belize, and cities in the Yucatan Peninsula; his
son's letters, 1913-1918, tell of John Newton Axelson's life as a student at
Washington and Lee University and at the University of Florida, Gainesville,
and military camp in Kentucky in 1918.
749 items (1.4
c.f.). Gift of Mrs. Louise Axelson.
Accession M1971-04.
Azalea Garden
Club Papers
Records, 1951-1969
including minutes, financial reports, membership lists, newspaper clippings,
photographs and scrapbooks. Includes
information on history of organization since its formation in 1932.
111 items (.34 c.f.)
and 2 scrapbooks. Gifts of Mrs. George
Yarbrough, Mrs. Mary Johnston, Mrs. Guy E. Yaste, and Mrs. Hacker.
Accession M1973-02.